We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktail degustation = fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1806

1806
169 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03 96637722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 4,009 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cocktail bar.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cocktail degustation = fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Group of girls booked a five course cocktail degustation on a recent Saturday night in Melbourne. Highly recommend!!
Our experience was fantastic and as we sipped more amazing Heston Blumenthal style concoctions and life became more "fuzzy" we mused how fantastic a hens night this experience would make ( topless waiters needed!) .
Our cocktail "artist" was informative and unobtrusive but full of info. We ended up trying a good three cocktails we would never ever ever have usually ordered and the food pairings were good. Some of the food was great but some was a little simple. Make sure like us you have dinner first. The jelly with the first course was " like sour worms on steroids" and amazing as were the pineapple chips- yum!!
A very good time had by all :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    38
    9
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beautiful bar, really nice cocktails and the service is incredible. They knew everything about the place & menu, back to front, and were extremely accommodating if we had questions. Admittedly, it was a Sunday night so it was a little more quiet for them, but still lovely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Cozy, homey, dim, romantic... Though we weren't on a date this would be a perfect place for an intimate rendezvous or just a catch up with friends. I wish I lived in Melbourne so I could come here more often!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This place = Amazballs.
A warm, cosy, and perfectly lit venue full of charm. There was ample space and the music wasn't too loud so you didn't have to yell in the ears of your friends.
The service was the best I've ever experienced. Our waiter had a vast knowledge of the extensive selection of cocktails, had the time to explain some of the ingredients used and the flavours, which in the end, we left the decisions up to him.
All of the staff were well dressed and happy to be there, and a round of applause for the coordination they have to carry trays full of tricky glassware up and down narrow stairs! I'd fall flat on my face within this first minute.
Will definitely go back to 1806 time and time again!
Keep up the good work.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Quirky Cocktail Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We litterally walked past the entrance, stopped, walked back and decided to have a look. What a surprise! We were greeted by a host who said they were busy and he could see if he could find us a table. We almost walked off thinking we couldn't be bothered to wait and then said we would be happy to sit at bar. So glad we stayed. What a quirky and exciting bar. Great cocktail list, real cocktail staff with great style and knowledge. Drinks did seem a bit on small side. We asked if they could make something "different" and they said we should go downstairs to the "Understudy". Again so glad we did as there was a fantastic lad from UK who made us some sensational cocktails. Loved the Scottish Manager too! Great if your looking for something different amd even a bit decadent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1806 also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to 1806? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1806, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.