We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian food at its finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca Sileno - CLOSED

Enoteca Sileno
920 Lygon Street | Carlton North, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 9389 7070
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Head Chef Antony Campbell and his team create a menu of contemporary Italian cooking where the focus is on quality ingredients and pure flavours. This is Italian cooking which is as influenced by tradition, as it is by what's happening in Italy today. When you dine at Vino e Cucina Restaurant you also have access to over 450 Italian wines including the largest collection of aged Italian wines in Australia. This is a unique experience to explore some of the best examples of indigenous Italian grape varieties and regional style. Our knowledgeable staff is always available to help you with your selection. We are opened for lunch and dinner from Thursday to Saturday. Sunday is lunch only.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Italian food at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I had to move the timing for my booking twice but they were accommodating and polite. This place is slightly further off all the restaurants on lygon street and not only is the location unique but so is the food. My wife and I really enjoyed the food and the tiramisu was heavenly. It was a great night and I would look to go back soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Seriously good Italian food and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our best friends invited us to join them at Enoteca Sileno, having been there for lunch a few weeks earlier. As usual, their recommendation was justified. When you walk in, you are immediately hit by the vast range of Italian wines sparkling on racks in every corner of the restaurant. The menu is full of things you want to try - our table shared three antipasti plates - the Salumi, the warm olives and the battered and fried artichokes - in hindsight, we should have also had the meatballs . . . next time. For mains we had the Barramundi and the slow cooked pork. Both were exceptional - only problem is that I would have like more Barramundi. With the meals we enjoyed wine by the glass - a Santa Caterina white and a Le Pupille red - great recommendations. This is a restaurant we will keep coming back to.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarra Junction, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two good reasons for a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We rarely eat out because of cost and our enjoyment of cooking at home. A meal out has to be "special" and good value for money: Enoteca easily met those criteria with excellent, friendly, service and very well cooked and presented food from a simple but interesting menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamEnoteca, Public Relations Manager at Enoteca Sileno, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Ciao David, Thanks for your support and positive feedback. Your description of our cooking is spot on and it will please Head Chef, Antony Campbell, very much. Grazie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, great dinner - perfection on a plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had dinner at Enoteca last night. We were taken out to the new area out the back, sitting under umbrellas it did feel like we were in Italy, the only thing missing were the grapevines and a ladder to pick the grapes. On a warm night like last night it was superb.

The staff were magnificent, and the food - although simple was perfection on a plate. Incredibly beautiful evening. But we should have enquired how much the wine by the glass was - although a very pleasant wine, it was a very expensive wine by the glass! But it was a celebration dinner - so put it on the credit card and will worry about it at the end of the month!

The key to Enoteca's food is the elegant simplicity.

Without a doubt some of the best Italian food available - anywhere!

And our Italian waiter was just wonderful.
Without a doubt, a night to remember.
Thank you Enoteca

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamEnoteca, General Manager at Enoteca Sileno, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Grazie jenjenrossco, thanks for your great review - your second one too! And we're happy you got a chance to enjoy our beautiful courtyard. It's actually been set up for several years, but we can only really use it for a couple of months of the year. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply the Best Italian in Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Not only has it got a great ambience --just like being in Italy --it has an above average wine list and really excellent cooking . I can't think of anywhere else to eat Italian in Melbourne or Sydney for that matter.The service was both knowledgeable and charming and we had an excellent dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamEnoteca, Manager at Enoteca Sileno, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Ciao Drac69, thanks for your generous review. It was very appreciated by the whole team. We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Sileno also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca Sileno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.