We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vodka, vodka but small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of After the Tears

After the Tears
9b Gordon Street | Elsternwick, Melbourne, Victoria 3185, Australia
(03) 9523 0969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 171 Coffee & Tea in Melbourne
Cuisines: Polish, Tapas, Continental, Eastern European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Vodka, vodka but small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

A bit disappointed, the main serve of pierogis for $25 had 6 pieces. Lucky they were delicious but I left with a lingering feeling of being ripped off. Service was good, a fun vibe and a pleasant waft of popcorn at times from the cinema next door were appetising.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    22
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meals, AMAZING DRINKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This place is one of the nicest places in Melbourne....
A huge drink menu features many interesting drinks, as for coffee- always tasty and always presented nicely. Very nice decor, service is good, although not exceptional, overall very nice.
Prices are a bit on the more expensive side.... maybe 3/5 in terms of $$$.

Nice outdoor seating too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Frequent visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We love going to After the tears for a casual dinner.

It may look like a novelty when you walk in but everything about the decor to the plates and the drinks make this place a lovely environment to have a relaxed dinner with friends or a loved one, or a quick dinner before a movie.

My fiance and i often order the Seafood Platter as it hits all our tastebuds!
On a few occasions we have ordered al a carte meals and one has come out cold and one is warm so that is a shame, but we will stick with the Seafood Platter because its comfort, its yum and its what makes us return time and time again!

The drinks are also great and have everything to cater for the most fussiest of drinkers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham, Australia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Drinks overload!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The menu is 2/3 drinks to decide it took me awhile!
Home made green faerie, very nice and I reccomend the champagne cocktail 'Your Turing violet violet' very very yummy.

Food was good, quite traditional European.

Only a few complaints
Staff were a bit under attentive for a place of this value. Had to eve them down for drinks!
And they book the table in two sittings, six or eight thirty, the only time we really saw the staff was when they were politely reminding us it was almost time to leave!

Ill be back again, but I think for drinks only, being rushed around for an expensive meal isn't what I like

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vodka overrrrrllloooaaaad!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow!
if you like choice when it comes to vodka, you most certainly have it here.
150 odd vodkas, plus imaginative cocktails, After the Tears has it!
I thoroughly enjoyed our night here, we got the Famer's zaqaski and the Baltic sea zaqaski.
And a few other dishes, the Zaqaskis (Tasting plate) were sensational, well priced and someting new for me.
Service could have been a bit better, but it was busy, and I had such great food and drink that it did not really concern me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After the Tears also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to After the Tears? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After the Tears, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.