We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of After the Tears

After the Tears
9b Gordon Street | Elsternwick, Melbourne, Victoria 3185, Australia
(03) 9523 0969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #783 of 4,231 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Polish, Tapas, Continental, Eastern European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have been 3 or 4 times to this Restaurant and find it an atmospheric delight with great intriguing decor and great location next to the cinema. My last visit was a week ago on a Sunday and the place was packed and the service was still good. I have Eastern European background so I like the food. The Russian Borsh was great but the potato and mushroom pirogi didn't have much flavour and a bit expensive. But overall i keep returning because of it's uniqueness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Vodka tasting plate! Great idea (until the next morning)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a celebration dinner here, it was a lot of fun. The food was pretty good (to be frank, I can't remember and didn't eat that much) but the vodka was outstanding. It was also reasonably priced, and I particularly loved the 'tasting plate' of 3 different vodkas which was a great idea and very good value. Vivat Na zdrowie!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“No Tears From Us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very pleasant evening fun place. Decor eclectic but not overkitch . Menu of both food and vodkas quite vast . WE tried the organic quince vodka which came on a cute tiny tray in mini crystal glasses it was sweet but very nice. In a group of 6 we had a variety of items and everyone was impressed. Despite Kewbite telling tails of cute bunnies to try and deter some on our party from ordering the rabbit with gnochi they persisted and enjoyed it !! I had honey vodka prawns which came with tons of sauce and nice bread for dipping and some of the Polish dumplings ( there are 3 varieties all good and quite different to the Chinese ones everyone is obsessed with ) I'm sure it has not occurred to people to go out for Polish dumplings but you can !! . Two people had the salmon which was a very generous chunk and came with a very nice sauce . The fries, home made with rosemary salt were very good. One of the group had the ethnic snags ! 3 kinds served with mash and red cabbage a feast !! The chocolate hazelnut pancakes were totally yum ! and the wine list and particularly the Riesling we had were excellent. It can get noisy, but go with the flow ! worth a trip across town every now and then .

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good choice of drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very good choice of drinks, especially vodkas.
Food isn't too bad either, but it's not a place to have a quick bite or a quick cup of coffee. Last I timed, it took 12 minutes from the time we sat at a table, to the time our order of 2 coffees arrived.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After the Tears also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to After the Tears? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After the Tears, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.