We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location for Royal Womens and Melbourne Hospitals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arden Motel
15 Arden St | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (North Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for Royal Womens and Melbourne Hospitals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Short walk to both of these Hospitals and would definitely recommend, if that is your reason for visiting Melbourne. Older style establishment which could benefit from a good renovation, but very reasonably priced for inner city location. Provision of continental breakfast and paper each morning was an added bonus. Stayed on the second floor at the rear of the motel for 8 nights. No road noise, but first 3 nights very noisy with a lot of door banging and other heavy banging sounds throughout the night, along with "people noise". Unfortunately, no ramp to use to the second floor, only steps, which can be inconvenient for elderly with luggage, as no assistance was provided to porter luggage for guests. Overall a positive experience and good value. Easy walk to local Nth Melbourne shopping precinct and Queen Victoria Markets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I DON'T KNOW WHAT PEOPLE ARE SAYING THEY MUST BE USED TO FANCY 5 STAR PLACES LIKE THE NOVOTEL, I've stayed hear many of times before and every time I come I'm never disappointed, the rooms are so homey feeling, All ways clean love the quilts on the bed(s) the TV's are nice and big (for a motel room) u all ways had good TV's but the upgrade to the bigger digital TV's (in the room I was in at the time anyway) has just made them even better grate work I love this place just seems to be better every time I come, The price for the rooms are so cheap if this was any other motel the prices would be way more. Keep up the grate work guys I so recommend this motel to any one looking to stay in Melbourne

Room Tip: There are smoking and non smoking rooms I don't smoke my self and hate the smell of smoke but ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Needed somewhere to stay for a reasonable price, close to Royal Womens Hospital, on Grand Prix weekend... and needed to book for the same night. Many many places sold out or way to expensive, $110 for two people in specified single beds, just as cheap as a hostel! they include paper and breakfast in the price, 5 min walk from hospital, so no taxi or public transport needed. By time you add up all the extras this is cheaper than most and no need to share rooms with others.. No complaints here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Positives - Good location. Great eating places and pubs close by. 3 x tram routes at the door. For Melbourne very cheap.

Negatives - Very old and run down. Extremely noisy with very poor sleep quality.

Over all you get what you pay for. If you are on a budget then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at The Arden several times now. Unlike many people who have higher expectations of everything they see, do and visit these days, I'm happy with simple value for money. The Arden offers that.
For me, it's not about what era the decor appears to be from, it's about comfort, price and convenience of location.
The Arden is tidy and clean, the rooms are comfortable, the service is good and friendly and you're a hop skip and jump away from most things people come to Melbourne to see. Not to mention there's car parking, which many city motels don't offer, and the staff are more than happy for you to leave your car in the car park on the day of check out if you still have a last minute shopping trip to do.
Cheaper than so many city motels. If you're after pools, spas, buffet breakfasts and modern decor... five star accomodation? Then you won't be spending $90 a night. But if you want somewhere comfy and affordable to call base camp while you're staying in Melbourne then I highly recommend The Arden.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Unscheduled 2 day trip to Melb during OZ open on a tight budget. Basic clean accommodation short 15 min walk out of the city, everything there that should be, clean towels, tea, coffee, light breakfast as advertised. Room decor and furniture was a bit 80'ish but happy that the beds were reasonably comfy and the air-con worked. Family run business, nothing 5 star about the service and front office is a bit disorganised (but no hold-ups checking in or out). Free parking makes it better value, will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I really don't like saying bad things about businesses because I am not the kind of person that wants to damage anyones reputation.But..I also really like using this site as I value peoples honest opinion so I have to be honest myself..Here goes, I'll keep it short and to the point. This hotel was really the worst I've ever stayed in, the only reason I was here was to visit a family member at the Royal Melbourne Hospital which was literally a 4-5min walk.
The bed linen was dirty, dirty, dirty. The kitchenette had mould upon mould growing everywhere.The bed was crooked! Yes crooked, It leant to the left which you could literally fall off if you weren't careful. Also this was the smallest bed I've slept in since I was 5 years old. I am 5ft nothing,,so I'm not exactly tall, and my feet touched the end of the bed...Bizarre,... they looked like little mini beds. I did take photos because I think photos speak louder than words. Look I could go on and on at how terrible this place was but I think your best bet is to just look at the photos as they speak for themselves. I wouldn't stay here even if they paid me to. I would rather walk around the streets of Melbourne aimlessly. Check the photos out guys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Motel

Address: 15 Arden St | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on the leafy green fringe of the City of Melbourne. Arden Motel provides an unequalled combination of personal service, position, and price. There is real quality in every detail from the new luxury suite to the smiling staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arden Motel to your Saves list