We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arden Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arden Motel
Save
You added Arden Motel to your Saves list
15 Arden St | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (North Melbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at The Arden for 1 night. It was in a quiet location (we requested a back room) , the staff were very friendly. The building is dated, and so is the decore, however, it is a budget motel, and we didn't expect anything more. It would certainly be convenient for people with their own vehicle. There are some nice sunny tables and chairs for sitting outside, a bit public, but still pleasant. A bbq is available, but check that there is gas before going out to purchase your food.

Room Tip: Some of the side street rooms have a small 'atriam' which lets in some more light, and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
8
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We, as a family, lodged there for only a few days and found it to be a grotty, noisy, dirty, cold and unfriendly place to stay. Not to mention the price - too high for the service. Never again! I think hell would be more welcoming!
Jojo

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a Motel run by Chinese People. They are good and helpful. Although the place and equipment are bit old, but facilities are not bad. Most of the attractions such as Skydeck, Zoo, Aquarium, Museum, Victoria Market are close by and Royal Melbourne Women’s Hospital is just 5 minutes walk. You can travel using a Tram (the cheapest). Breakfast includes two types of bread, cereal, with jam, butter, marmalade, vegemite, honey sachets, milk and juice. There are tea, nescafe, sugar sachets as well. These are provided one day ahead (11 am today for breakfast tomorrow) for every day (same breakfast). Small Kitchen is also there with small fridge, Microwave, toaster, hot water jar and cutlery (no cooktop, knife, cutting board though), which was cleaned every morning (salt and pepper are given). Attached toilet and bathroom was small but nice (set of shampoo, soap, laundry powder, shoe shine are updated every morning, but no toothbrush, toothpaste and razors). Toilet was cleaned and new towels were provided every morning (they took your towels, wash and dry them and give them back. this took around 1 hour in which you were kept with no towels during that time). Room was cleaned every other day. There were 1 Double and 2 single beds in our family room with tea and study tables. Although the size of the room was bit small (for a family of 4), it was equipped with hot/cold a/c, Flat TV, Radio, alarm etc. and for the price of 125$ per night, it was ok. We (2 adults and 2 children 6yrs, 4yrs) spent 4 nights from 11/10/2012. Although, we also felt a bit of lack of cleanliness (may be due to old building), but for the facilities, location and price, this is good motel to consider. We probably come back again.

Room Tip: We were in room 38, no experience on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rach Gia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you are traveling around Melbourne and have a car, this is a great relatively cheep place to stay. You can walk to Victoria Markets or tram into the city and its easy to get out of town. Yes its a typical Australian Motel and a bit dated but its still in good condition, the bed is comfy and the breakfast and paper makes mornings easy. We didn't have much contact with the staff but they had no problem with a telephone booking and late check in.

Room Tip: There was some construction work next door (on the Western side) in April
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Just had a 4 night stay at this hotel, old, run down and very noisy. They are currently demolishing part of the building and the builders dropped off scaffolding at 7 a.m. Jack hammering commenced at 8.00 - not good. However the real disappoint was the state of the rooms, downright dirty. Filthy plugs, light and power switches, dirty appliances - needs a thorough clean. The unhealthy and germ ridden switches were for disturbing given I was visiting a relative who had undergone serious surgery. Even after I tried cleaning all the major contact points grime was still evident. Beware if you're visiting someone in hospital, no wonder infection is rife.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniva, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Everytime we visit Melbourne we stay here. I have stayed in most of the rooms and room number 20 is the only one that is not very good. We have been visiting this motel for the last 11 years and the same chinese people still run it today, they are lovely people and very helpful. In that time, I have seen it become busier and busier and it is nearly always fully booked now, so the best advice is book early!

Price is $88 per night for 2 people, this includes continental breakfast in your room and the Herald Sun.
Motel has undercover parking and is a tram ride away from the CBD. It's also very easy to find being not far from the Royal Melbourne Hospital.
Rooms are basic, but clean. Rooms have small kitchenette with microwave toaster and fridge. You do need to arrive before 10pm.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

A 2 star hotel close to the Royal Melbourne Hospital and Women's Hospital. $88 a night for a double room, with a breakfast tray. No frills and an old building. Not refurbished since WWII but good for a quick stay. Not a bad fallback option.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Motel

Address: 15 Arden St | North Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on the leafy green fringe of the City of Melbourne. Arden Motel provides an unequalled combination of personal service, position, and price. There is real quality in every detail from the new luxury suite to the smiling staff. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arden Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.