We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Sports Museum

National Sports Museum
Brunton Ave, Jolimont | Melbourne Cricket Club, Melbourne, Victoria 8002, Australia
+61 3 9657 8879
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #12 of 211 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located at the MCG, the National Sports Museum presents world-class exhibitions of significant sporting artefacts. The museum houses the Australian Gallery of Sport and Olympic Museum, Sport Australia Hall of Fame, Australian Cricket Hall of Fame, Australian Football Hall of Fame, Champions - Thoroughbred Racing Gallery and temporary exhibition areas addressing the sporting issues and events of the day. Interactive and audiovisual displays enhance the visitor experience. The National Sports Museum also manages the MCG Tours. This is a vibrant, exciting and attractive mix of sporting information, cultural heritage, and interactive entertainment. The National Sports Museum serves the MCG's match-day patronage, as well as catering for families, schools, seniors and tourist groups, seven days weekly.
Devonport, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The National Sports Museum is an excellent experience for the whole family. The interactive section was great our 10yo loved having a go at all the activities from soccer afl archery cycling cricket. The displays were fantastic covering a large range of sports not just cricket and AFL would highly recommend!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    57
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“School Holiday Activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Took the school kids to see the museum.
They loved the interactive sports part the most.
I will return another time to fully enjoy all it has to offer as kids reduce your ability to fully read and take it all in.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“More sports than cricket and Aussie rules. Do not go late afternoon as it shuts early”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Well constructed and much larger than you would expect this is a living museum with opportunities to participate in various sports as well as hearing/ seeing Shane warne and other Aussie icons. I suggest that you include this as part of your tour of the MCG

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5-star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The National Sports Museum is amazing. There is a lot to see and take in, and all sports fans will enjoy it. There is also an interactive section of the AFL Wing where you can have shots for goal, handpass into a target and do mock drills. I heartily reccommend a visit to the sports museum any time you are in Melbourne.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Time well spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

First saw the NSM advertised in the Melbourne This Week publication with an offer of 'two for the price of one' so we decided to have a look to see what was on offer. Well, as we are Seniors we also received a concession price and it was the best $8 each we have spent in a long time! There is so much to see and do at the museum and we spent almost 5 hours there including a nice lunch at the Paddock Cafe. Virtually all sports are covered including AFL (goes without saying), the Olympics and Paralympics, cricket, all ball games, horse racing etc. You would not need to be a sports tragic to enjoy the museum. The guides are excellent and very knowledgeable and we were shown some exhibits which are normally not on display as we had shown interest in particular displays. The MCC museum is must as well particularly if you have an interest in the history of cricket at the MCG and in Australia. There is a wealth of historical items on display and we were very impressed. To finish up there is an area called 'Game On' for kids of all ages. Simulations of various sporting activities eg archery, cricket, football, netball. Try not to overdo it though! Do not miss attending the 'theatre' with Shane Warne - incredible 3D effects. All in all there is much to recommend a visit!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Sports Museum also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to National Sports Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Sports Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.