We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel ... nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra St Kilda Road

Save Saved
You added Mantra St Kilda Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra St Kilda Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   568 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“New hotel ... nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Brand new hotel (approx. 12 months old I would guess), with apartment style rooms. Good facilities. Tram outside to catch into CBD. CBD is 25-30 minutes walk, so tram is best option. Parking at hotel is extra, although you can find overnight street parking closeby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    196
    50
    16
    19
See reviews for
74
164
33
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The overall apartment (from lobby to the room) is very modernly decorated. Reception was very friendly. There is a parking lot, accessed from the back alley.

Location: its right on St. Kilda Road (surrounded by commercial buildings) - not the usual tourist location. Its easy to take tram to downtown (tram station is a few minutes walk) - takes around 10-15 minutes to get to downtown.

Room: Its comfy, but kitchen is not as well equipped as we expected and quite small, but good enough I guess for a tourist - wouldn't be good enough if we were to actually stay long.

Internet: Complimentary if you book directly through the hotel. Its not too stable though, quite slow at time, could take up to 5-10 minutes just to load a page.

Parking: We stayed 3 nights and 2 out of the 3 nights they ran out of spots (1 night we had to park at one of the private reserved spot as instructed by them - they actually had to send someone down and walked us (while we drive) through the gates and to the designated spot; the other night we parked at the restaurant reserved spot). Parking is not cheap, I would expect them to manage the spots better. Seems like they always overbook themselves and make it very inconvenient for their guests to have to get off the car, go to reception and talk to someone each time to figure something out

Room service: available, but its out-sourced, so it does take some time to arrive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Mint is located on St Kilda Rd Melbourne and is a fantastic self serviced apartment style hotel. Staff are friendly and helpful and service was great.
Tips:
* Book well ahead to take advantage of discounted rates.
* Save on transport costs by walking to St Kilda, Chapel St, and into the city or alternatively purchase a maki card for $6 and top up for tram fares which you can travel as much as you like and the maximum charge is $7.
* Exceptional location to see art gallery, go to luna park, watch the tennis, and go shopping in the city and surrounds.
* Downstairs bistro serves great coffee and snacks or just stock up your fridge with great supplies from supermarket on Fitzroy St only a walk or short tram trip away.

Room Tip: Book well ahead to obtain discounted rates. Each room has a safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here over christmas and thought the place was excellent, certainly way better than other hotels at similar prices that we stayed in in Australia.

The room was well appointed and very clean and although the 'studio' is only really the size of a hotel room it is useful to have a kitchen as well. The only thing that I would consider in deciding to stay here is location - it is halfway between the town centre and st. Kilda andisn't really within walking distance of anywhere but there was a tram stop outside and the network is so good that we didn't find it was much of an inconvenience

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

From the moment I stepped through the doors staff were nothing but attentive and friendly.
The public areas are all incredibly well presented and kept spotless. Stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was equipped with everything needed. My room was large and well furnished, and the bed is comfortable. Staff are quick to respond, special thanks to the front office manager who was very friendly and quick to respond to requests.
Great location, not fad from the city, but away from the rush, and excellent value for money. An absolute gem of a hotel and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel was absolutely fantastic! It is advertised as hotel but our room was a large hotel room with a kitchenette with stove top, microwave, full fridge and sink. It made it so easy for us to be able to eat some things at home. It is so stylishly decorated as you will see but it is perfect for sleep quality as well. Check in was smooth, customer service was great and there is a lovely bar/restaurant in the lobby.

In terms of location, there is not a lot right outside the door except a 7/11 convenience store a few minutes walk away BUT it is on the tram line literally outside the door which takes you either down to St Kilda Beach where there is Luna Park and a variety of great restaurants and the beach or into the middle of Melbourne CBD. Given hotels in the middle of town are super expensive this is the perfect alternative, with a 10 minute trip either way on trams that run every 1-2 minutes right outside the door. I will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights as he had a conference. The room itself was lovely, clean, and well sized. The bed was very comfortable, and we found it generally quiet. It is also in a great location, and we enjoyed being out of the CBD for a change.

What let the hotel down, and why we wouldn't return, were a couple of issues. Firstly the cleaners didn't come to our room until after 4pm each day. This is uncommon in our experience, and by 4pm we were both back in the room trying to get ready for the evening's activities, so it was very inconvenient. The other issue we had was with the internet. The wifi didn't work for a few hours one day, and I had some work I really needed to do. The front desk put me through to their internet guy, and he was quite rude, and unable to assist. The last issue is that they outsource their room service, so when I rang on arriving later at night without dinner, I was told it would take over 90 minutes to get to our hotel. If they could improve these issues, I would return as we were generally happy with the room and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra St Kilda Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra St Kilda Road

Address: 568 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra St Kilda Road 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to visit Melbourne for business or pleasure - you won't find anywhere more comfortable and welcoming than the stunning Mantra St Kilda Road. For business visitors our multi-purpose meeting room ticks all of the boxes, and the onsite restaurant and bar, Bistro Bakini, offers fine wining, dining and nightcaps until late. Sink into the Exclusive Pillowtop Signature Bedding or relax in the stylish living area with large screen LCD TV with Foxtel. Mantra St. Kilda Road features WiFi and broadband internet, security card key access, private balcony with all round views across Albert Park, business services and of course fully self-contained facilities including a kitchen with full size refrigerator. No matter what is on in Melbourne you are just a tram ride away from The Arts Centre, the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Luna Park and St Kilda Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra St Kilda Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mint Rhapsody Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra St Kilda Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.