We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra St Kilda Road

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra St Kilda Road to your Saves list
Mantra St Kilda Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   568 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel was absolutely fantastic! It is advertised as hotel but our room was a large hotel room with a kitchenette with stove top, microwave, full fridge and sink. It made it so easy for us to be able to eat some things at home. It is so stylishly decorated as you will see but it is perfect for sleep quality as well. Check in was smooth, customer service was great and there is a lovely bar/restaurant in the lobby.

In terms of location, there is not a lot right outside the door except a 7/11 convenience store a few minutes walk away BUT it is on the tram line literally outside the door which takes you either down to St Kilda Beach where there is Luna Park and a variety of great restaurants and the beach or into the middle of Melbourne CBD. Given hotels in the middle of town are super expensive this is the perfect alternative, with a 10 minute trip either way on trams that run every 1-2 minutes right outside the door. I will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    231
    66
    18
    21
See reviews for
83
190
37
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights as he had a conference. The room itself was lovely, clean, and well sized. The bed was very comfortable, and we found it generally quiet. It is also in a great location, and we enjoyed being out of the CBD for a change.

What let the hotel down, and why we wouldn't return, were a couple of issues. Firstly the cleaners didn't come to our room until after 4pm each day. This is uncommon in our experience, and by 4pm we were both back in the room trying to get ready for the evening's activities, so it was very inconvenient. The other issue we had was with the internet. The wifi didn't work for a few hours one day, and I had some work I really needed to do. The front desk put me through to their internet guy, and he was quite rude, and unable to assist. The last issue is that they outsource their room service, so when I rang on arriving later at night without dinner, I was told it would take over 90 minutes to get to our hotel. If they could improve these issues, I would return as we were generally happy with the room and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was recommended by a friend to stay at this hotel after she had stayed earlier in the year and found it the perfect stay. My trip was with 3 girl friends for a shopping weekend and to see the penguins!

The staff at the hotel was wonderful! More than happy to help! Robert and the English lady on reception was a great help to us! More than happy to offer advice and help with locations for shopping and eating.

The apartment was very clean and a great size for 4 of us. We had a great girls weekend!

Tram was right on the door step so it was very easy to get around!

Would defiantly recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife stayed here for a night ahead of a conference around the corner, so we chose the hotel as looking like the best place within a short distance from where she needed to be. It was quite good, welcoming staff, clean and nice studio room and and very competitive price. We'd consider staying here as a family in a 2-bedroom apartment if our regular digs (Melbourne Short Stay @ Southbank, City Road) are unavailable when next we visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked the Mint after a discount offer at tripadvisor, but we would have stayed there for the full price too after our visit. Very modern and stylish hotel right at the main tram line between St Kilda and the CBD. Within walking distance to Chapel Street. We loved the spacious room and the room service did our dishes :-) Only the gym needs more attention. It is located in the basement and it was constantly out of towels and water. But after all a great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Modern, clean and convenient, with quiet roomsand good mattresses. Near the Alfred Hospital. The room we had was 6th floor king. There was no twin bed option which was a little sad.
Would definitely stay here again- downstairs restaurant Bakinis is a winner as well !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very clean and modern , close to the city but far enough away to miss all the late night noise , Tram line just outside , staff friendly and very helpful . The rooms were spacious and cleaned on a daily basis.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra St Kilda Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra St Kilda Road

Address: 568 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#43 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#50 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra St Kilda Road 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to visit Melbourne for business or pleasure - you won't find anywhere more comfortable and welcoming than the stunning Mantra St Kilda Road. For business visitors our multi-purpose meeting room ticks all of the boxes, and the onsite restaurant and bar, Bistro Bakini, offers fine wining, dining and nightcaps until late. Sink into the Exclusive Pillowtop Signature Bedding or relax in the stylish living area with large screen LCD TV with Foxtel. Mantra St. Kilda Road features WiFi and broadband internet, security card key access, private balcony with all round views across Albert Park, business services and of course fully self-contained facilities including a kitchen with full size refrigerator. No matter what is on in Melbourne you are just a tram ride away from The Arts Centre, the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Luna Park and St Kilda Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra St Kilda Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mint Rhapsody Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra St Kilda Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.