We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self catering apartment only 10 mins from the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra St Kilda Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra St Kilda Road to your Saves list
Mantra St Kilda Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   568 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering apartment only 10 mins from the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Rooms were comfortable, well furnished and clean. Despite being on St Kilda Road the room was really quiet too. Great access to the tram system so only 10 mins from the city and the beach at St Kilda and I couldn't fault the service I received from the staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    236
    68
    21
    22
See reviews for
86
194
37
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for a week and the room was great, had all the mod cons, self contained kitchen, really comfy bed and pillows which is pretty rare in hotels. I found it really easy to get around from here as being on busy st Kilda rd the trams go basically in every direction. A short few mins on the tram takes you to the st Kilda restaurant strip and to the beach or Luna park.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The room looks much better on the website, however the room that we were in needs maintenance since he ceiling we were staring consisted of bare concrete for the ceiling. This doesn't put you in a romantic mood. I was disappointed that the price of the room which did not include wifi, so if you book a room at Mint make sure that you book directly with them for free wifi. Otherwise it will cost you $20 a day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The block is about 18 months old. The top half is sold, the bottom 6 floors are serviced apartments with a car park, gym and guest laundry.

The apartments are very comfortable. Ours had the best bed & mattress we've ever slept on! A small lounge has a sofa, dining table, desk and TV, and there's another TV in the bedroom. The little kitchen area has 2 hot plates and a microwave, kettle & toaster with a set of crockery for 2 - it's everything you need.

Where this property scores is on its convenient location. With frequent trams running up and down the road outside, you can be up in central Melbourne or down in St Kilda within about 10 minutes.

We stayed as guests of CityBase Apartments but this review is entirely voluntary. I'd go there again at my own cost, if I was returning to Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamander Bay, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here 1 night before catching the ferry to Tassie. Prebooked, not being used to the Melbourne traffic (being from NSW) we found it a nightmare to get to in the first place, even with a GPS unit, and that was a Sunday!! Very small rooms, needed a room swipe even to go up or down in the lift. King bed was ok, but room was cramped. View of neighbouring units not very pleasant. We were on the 4th floor room 425. Ensuite was small, tiny wash bowl but huge tap!!! Had crockery & cutlery, pans etc. microwave, 2 burner cooktop, fridge, & dishwasher, but tiny table had only 1 chair. Bottle of water inside the fridge marked $5.50 ??? Car park was cramped & cost $20 a day. I would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant overnight stay. Studio room has very well appointed kitchenette. Average size rooms. Quiet. Modern, clean and well appointed. Overall, a top find this close to the CBD. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mint Melbourne is on St Kilda rd, but st kilda rd where they are situated on this very long road is not in the suburb of st kilda. The wording of the hotel can make it tricky!
The rooms are clean and modern with nice bathrooms..... don't expect a view of anything flash!

If you get a breakfast coupon included in your booking fr next doors cafe, be prepared for a long wait for your breakfast! We had to extend our checkout time because it took forty minutes for someone to make our coffees. And breakfast took even longer. We tried to inform the hotel staff that the cafe is poorly ran (as they are businesses working together) and they did not seem concerned or even grateful for our feedback which we thought could help a lot of other guests in the future.

If you want somewhere fun for dinner, walk up the road to Prahran to "Misty's Diner" for an incredible american dining experience and heart attack worthy food, only thing good about mint was stumbling across this place.

Room Tip: High up= less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mantra St Kilda Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra St Kilda Road

Address: 568 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra St Kilda Road 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to visit Melbourne for business or pleasure - you won't find anywhere more comfortable and welcoming than the stunning Mantra St Kilda Road. For business visitors our multi-purpose meeting room ticks all of the boxes, and the onsite restaurant and bar, Bistro Bakini, offers fine wining, dining and nightcaps until late. Sink into the Exclusive Pillowtop Signature Bedding or relax in the stylish living area with large screen LCD TV with Foxtel. Mantra St. Kilda Road features WiFi and broadband internet, security card key access, private balcony with all round views across Albert Park, business services and of course fully self-contained facilities including a kitchen with full size refrigerator. No matter what is on in Melbourne you are just a tram ride away from The Arts Centre, the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Luna Park and St Kilda Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra St Kilda Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mint Rhapsody Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra St Kilda Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.