We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and spacious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra St Kilda Road

Save Saved
You added Mantra St Kilda Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra St Kilda Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   568 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cool and spacious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

To arrive at this apartment hotel after a long and extremely hot day was a delight. We had a two-bedroomed, two bathroom apartment and it was well appointed, spacious, well lit and very easy to live in - and at a great price. We had a good view of the surrounding district, plus the pleasure of effective air conditioning. We paid extra for car parking and did not regret it. On the day we checked out we were welcome to leave our car until the end of the day, which we appreciated. We did not use the room service menu, but it looked pretty reasonable. We did visit the bar next door, having battled in ridiculous heat and with extensive tram delays, and were pleased we did. As Mint is a bit out of the central city it is perhaps not as convenient as a more central place, but that would not deer me from staying here again. Helpful staff too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    198
    50
    16
    19
See reviews for
74
164
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I can't believe how much I got charged for bond $200? and get it back within 7 days? I always stay at an apartment and i usually get just get bonded $50-$100. The staff were lifeless, we had to pre-book parking so we were stuck using meters. had to wake up at 8am to move the car and put in 1hr for meter then wake up again 1 hour later! Just so inconvenient! and sometimes convenience is preferred instead of a comfortable nice place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year; we were in Melbourne for a wedding. Where do I start? I wouldn't normally take the time to write a review, however our experience at this hotel was so bad that I felt I should warn others. My wife and I had to speak with reception approx. 3-4 times during our stay, each time the staff were rude, i.e., short, indifferent and dismissive and our requests were not out of the ordinary either, e.g., what time does breakfast finish, where is the hotel parking, the TV is not working. Both my wife and I are in the service industry and believe me, we were quite polite and well-mannered in our requests. Beware the ironing board, it collapses without warning and will do a toe or finger great damage if you're not quick. My wife's Mother and Father who were also staying at the hotel also had a near miss with their ironing board, so be sure to make sure it's locked in place once you've erected it - some finger gymnastice is required to do this. Lastly, the room we had; the basin was low, as if built for a child, the hot water in the shower would often go cold for no apparent reason - this required constant fiddling with the tap to get the hot water back and the toilet, well this just smelt like a public toilet and continued to even after it was cleaned again by housekeeping... oh, and our floor lamp didn't work, not even after replacing the bulb with another, couldn't be bothered to call reception about this. This hotel/serviced apartment is not worth the money, seems they put more effort into flashy modern decor than they do service or clean toilets (also: carpet in lifts were always in need of a good vacuum too). We don't recomment Mint Melbourne - you're better paying a little more and staying in a nice established hotel, i.e., one that has experience in looking after guests and ensuring facilities are up to scratch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Worst accommodation we have ever booked. "apartment" was tiny no seating apart from a tiny chaise lounge with a windowless bedroom and no sun at all. After returning straight to reception to ask for another room we were told the other apartments "were even worse"
This was so disappointing after traveling all day ex nz and staff didn't care less. Mould growing down the side of the shower and stains on tiles. We checked out as quickly as we could with 24 hours notice and weren't even asked why. Still waiting on refund of the security deposit. Avoid like the plague we moves to medina grand which was fab but this place really put a damper on the start of our holiday

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here for two nights over New Years. We're very happy with what we saw.
Room was beautiful (I did comment that the ceiling was weird but it didn't bother me). Bed was comfy; kitchen well equipped with a full size fridge, dishwasher, microwave and half stove; bathroom complete with great pressure shower and hairdryer; and iron.
We did have the do nt disturb sign on the only full day we were there and were left with a letter string that as we had the DND sign on for several days that housekeeping needed to access the room once a week, which was a bit odd to me considering that we were only there for 2 nights.

Did notice an odour in the corridor when the housekeepers were cleaning rooms.

Location was good but as others have said not much in the immediate vicinity. A short walk (15/20mins) to Greville/Chapel St's changes this!

Would defs stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley Beach, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Room we stayed in was nice. The concrete ceiling was not an issue. Size was good and the table chairs and TV all up to scratch and the bed was comfy.

What i am annoyed about is not that the request a $200 bond / charge on your credit card but the refusal to release it after your check out even upon request. The staff just blatantly tell you an untruth that its dependent on your bank which is CRAP. Hilton, Intercontinental, Rydges all put the money straight back on when you request or at the leas 24 hours later. But Mint throw their hands in the air and say nothing we can do (because they don't care). The other thing is was their was no room service available and the cafe next door was closed so nothing to charge to the room except a $4.50 bottle of water.

The Hotel is Nice and the Gym is adequate unfortunately the service lets Mint Down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here as we were going out with friends. Cheap find. $120 for the night.

Location wise - Short cab ride from Prahran/Chapel St. Based near major company buildings. Easy access to the city.

Service - $200 'authorisation' that takes 4-5 days to come back into the account. My issue with this is 1 - Normally its $100 (don't see what makes this place special to make it $200 - wasnt even a minibar!!!) 2. 4-5 days?? Usually its instant. Extremely poor as its the first time i've experienced this. Being Christmas now, I wont see the money for over a week. Front desk, is typical . No smiles, no going above and beyond (this is why I prefer to travel overseas rather than within Australia)

Rooms - The entire corridor stunk of body odour , we found that it got stronger towards our room and surely enough it was the housekeeper. Obviously basic hygiene isnt something implemented within company policy. The room initially smelt like cigarettes , though after a bit of air this was cleared.

We were given 1 face towel and 1 shower tell even though we said 2 people were going to stay into the room. This was easily fixed, still an oversight from the hotel.

The vanity plug was stuck, again, we had to call reception to bring someone up to fix it.

Don't get me wrong, the room is ok, small.

Bathroom - Quite good, single shower, good water pressure (stayed in 317)

No minibar but hot plates, fridge, kettle, sink.

Bed - Very comfortable soft - mid mattress.

When I asked the hotel on checkout why it takes so long to get the money back, she said ' depends on your bank' . Didn't bother going on as I knew she didnt have a clue what she was talking about .

Would I stay again? Probably not unless I needed to be in that area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra St Kilda Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra St Kilda Road

Address: 568 St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly Mint Melbourne St Kilda Rd)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#49 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra St Kilda Road 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're planning to visit Melbourne for business or pleasure - you won't find anywhere more comfortable and welcoming than the stunning Mantra St Kilda Road. For business visitors our multi-purpose meeting room ticks all of the boxes, and the onsite restaurant and bar, Bistro Bakini, offers fine wining, dining and nightcaps until late. Sink into the Exclusive Pillowtop Signature Bedding or relax in the stylish living area with large screen LCD TV with Foxtel. Mantra St. Kilda Road features WiFi and broadband internet, security card key access, private balcony with all round views across Albert Park, business services and of course fully self-contained facilities including a kitchen with full size refrigerator. No matter what is on in Melbourne you are just a tram ride away from The Arts Centre, the MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Luna Park and St Kilda Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra St Kilda Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mint Rhapsody Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra St Kilda Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.