We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 169 Drummond Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
169 Drummond Street
Save
You added 169 Drummond Street to your Saves list
169 Drummond Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 32 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A gorgeous gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying for 4 nights in October of this year and found Ian to be the perfect host. A great balance of giving you privacy whilst also being absolutely willing and helpful with tips and advice for places to eat and go.

I travelled solo without my family and it was a wonderful peaceful break.

How lovely to have Lygon St and the Museum within short walking distance. This was the first time I have stayed in Melbourne without hiring a car and I absolutely didn't need one.

Great options for breakfast, nice breads and proper coffee.

Daisy is a delight and a bonus if you are missing your dogs at home.

I was exhausted from my kids when I got to 169 Drummond but was relaxed and on top of the world by the time I went home.

Would I stay again? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

* owner(s) include Daisy, Ian's adorable (elderly) puppy!
My husband and I spent two night here and couldn't have been more welcomed or pleased with our selection. There are MANY choices for Melbourne but only ONE home like this! What makes it special? Ian...as he's very kind, helpful, witty and gracious and there aren't a lot of people like that anymore. At least, not where we are from! All that to be said, this is a very clean, old home with lots of character that's located in a wonderful part of town near tons of great cafes! We followed Ian's suggestions for food as we were on a budget and he knows all the places. We also took his suggestion and went on the city bus that is very reasonable and gives a great overview of the city. So, stop looking for a place in Melbourne and see if you can stay with Ian. Ask for the king room upstairs with the balcony and you will have a great place to sit and view the neighborhood. Another plus: Ian's fresh fruit on the table and the ability to have a little snack whenever you are hungry along with a help yourself breakfast that's accessible at any time!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 4 nights and a had a very enjoyable time at this fine B&B in a great location in Melbourne (in little Italy and near the University). Ian and Daisy were excellent hosts. Would stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: They are all good in a quiet neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've stayed with Ian & Daisy several times over the years, and loved each stay. Returning is a no-brainer! Ian is a delightful host - helpful and charming. Breakfast is "serve yourself", and is always available, so no worries sleeping in if you're in the mood to do so. Carlton is one of Melbourne's gems - you will love the location, and it's easy to get downtown as well. We have always loved a walk in the park in the evening - our daughter especially loves feeding the possums! So: treat yourself next time you're in Melbourne, and stay at 169 Drummond.

Room Tip: Our favourite room has always been the ground floor Garden room - on a hot summer day, sitting outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

169 Drummond Street in Melbourne is a very comfortable private residence/B&B right in the heart of the city with hop on hop off bus not too far away. Lovely restaurants in the area. Host Ian (and Daisy) make you feel right at home and are full of suggestions as to things you might want to do while in Melbourne. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at 169 Drummond Street and would recommend it to anyone looking for a pleasant, comfortable place to stay in the heart of Melbourne. Thank you Ian and Daisy for being such wonderful hosts!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Three blocks from the tram (through the park), two blocks to the Melbourne Museum, and one block to restaurant row on Lygon. Two blocks to the City Visitor Shuttle, which is no longer free, and an easy stroll to the City Circle Tram. Ian is a great host, he'll check with you once a day or so and then leave you alone to come and go. Breakfast is at your leisure; I had it one day at 6 and one day at 10. All the rooms are ensuite and have plenty of space. Huge value for an expensive place like Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you looking for a clean, convenient, budget friendly place, look no further. We are pretty good at getting around cities, but we had no clue just how well we had placed ourselves at this accommodation. Ian was very kind and helpful in sharing some good local restaurants with us. He also explained the free shuttle to us. Definitely ask him about that. We love to eat, so you can imagine how excited we were to learn about the history of Lygon street and go strolling along it looking for a new place to eat every day. The breakfast is a help yourself kind of a deal, which is great for a lot of people on the go. If you need a quiet and clean home-base to sleep, and spend your days out and about getting to know the city, this is a great place to be. Thanks, Ian, for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 169 Drummond Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 169 Drummond Street

Address: 169 Drummond Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 169 Drummond Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.