We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute store, average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pie Face

Pie Face
148 Exhibition Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,602 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Telephone + 61 3 9654 5592
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute store, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

$12 for a pie and piece of cheesecake, the pie was OK: chunky steak, the cheesecake tastes like its been sitting there for 2 days. For that price I expected a lot more

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“:) cute concepts & great Pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

It's a nice cafe to go concept with great pastries and good value!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Even when you've had a lot to drink, Pie Face still doesn't taste nice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This place is cheap (but not very cheerful) and it's open until the wee small hours of the morning. Fantastic if you're looking for a post pub snack, shame it doesn't taste very nice. I had opted for the steak and potato pie - there was a distinct lack of either of the main ingredients. It consisted of rock solid pastry and gravy! My partner had steak and black pepper pie, again there was a lack of meat!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Pie Face”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I were in Melbourne for a few weeks and spent time in downtown Melbourne. We really liked the little Pie Face restaurants. It is fastfood, or as they call it "take away" food. It is a nice way to get some lunch in a hurry. They have both savory (meat and vegetarian) and sweet dessert pies. Pies seem to be every where in Austalia, very common. Pie Face is a great way to get a quick lunch on the go. It was very tasty and fun! I am from the United States, and it is enough different for me to make it special!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,161 reviews 1,161 reviews
446 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 313 cities Reviews in 313 cities
2,736 helpful votes 2,736 helpful votes
“Expensive compared with a suburban Vietnamese bakery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

This small cafe serves a purpose as it is open 24 hours.

It's pleasantly set out in its restricted confines.

Pies and sausage rolls are more expensive than at a typical inner city Vietnamese bakery. Blame the high rents and how some of its business might be to nightclubbers.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pie Face also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Pie Face? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pie Face, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.