We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sized apartments in a great location with a top view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great sized apartments in a great location with a top view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We booked three apartments to stay as a large group and were very impressed. The apartments are a great size and fresh and clean. Great amenities and the view was fanastic. We also got a great rate. Checking in was convenient and easy. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north and eastern side will have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear sweens85

Wow! Thank you for providing a glowing five star review of your stay with us in August, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to Southbank One! We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, it helps us continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so thrilled to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you found the apartments to be spacious with great amenities and views!

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart Skeggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    59
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
26
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Good value for money and I found staff to be most helpful! We stayed in a new tower ( only four months old), so everything was new and clean! Great views
Because of its newness, some teething problems - plates too big for the dish washing drawer

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Greg S,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property. It's great to hear from our guests because it helps us to ensure that we keep delivering an outstanding guest experience.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review! We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. I'm very happy to see that you found our staff to be very helpful and you enjoyed the lovely views.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our beautiful city. Thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with Melbourne Short Stay Apartments.

Warm regards,

Stuart Skeggs,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I recently stayed in the Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in South Bank on a business trip. The location is great, only a ten minute walk to Flinders Street Station and a step away from South Bank bars and cafes. The room was simple and clean with most amenities you would need for a "short stay". The bed was fine and the shower was average with medium pressure. The curtains in the bedroom did not close properly as they were too small for the windows thus the light would stream through in the morning. All of my colleagues staying in the building had the same issue. The freeway can be heard in the morning quiet loudly. The main issue I found with the apartments is that staff for Short Stay are only available around business hours. After they leave (at 8pm i believe) it seems the building corporation is responsible for check in and all Short Stay enquires. The concierge staff seem to have little to no interaction with the Short Stay company. I had several issues trying to get a parking bay I booked and a key to get in and out of the car park. House keeping also removed some bed clothes I had left in my bed when they changed the sheets. All of the staff I spoke to were vague and gave conflicting answers all throughout my time at Short Stay. The accommodation is fine but the staffing is really something to be worked on.

Room Tip: If you request a room on the opposite side of the building to the highway (facing the river) it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Grace N,

Thanks for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us at our Southbank One property in August, 2014 We honestly value the feedback as it helps us make improvements to our customer service policies and procedures to ensure your experience with us is the best it can be.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you did not receive the high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on. I appreciate your feedback about the difficulty with our limited reception hours. The building concierge although not employed directly by us does and should provide our guests with assistance where possible. We will also use your comments in upcoming training with our staff to ensure that we are always providing a consistent and high level of service.

I am pleased to read that you found the location of our apartments to be perfect for your needs.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed here on recomendation of another family who told us the location was great. It was. The unit we stayed in had a balcony view over a carpark but that didnt matter as the room was very quiet and clean. We booked a one bed appartment as it was just hubby and I, but we were given a spacious 2 bed 1 bathroom - which was nice. The best thing about the location was a supermarket right next door that sold a great selection of wines too. it was a short walk to the Crown - and also the Promanade along the river for so many restaurant choices. The check in and check out was quick, they meet you and the door to the locked appartments to do the check in as the office is seperatley down the road and they ask that you phone ahead 10 mins before arrival so they are waiting for you. On check out we hiked our cases across the road to leave them there for the day, the staff were all so nice and when we were ready to go they ordered us a taxi to the airport and even came out and help load the cases in the cab. We would stay here again as it seemed so quiet compared to unit in Docklands that we stayed in last year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

A family of 5 of us recently stayed in the Melbourne Short Stay at Southbank One for a week in the Soho 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. The location is very good. A block away from the Crown Casino and the Yarra River, it is easy to access the CBD and Flinders Station. Although the restaurants right around the hotel did not seem enticing, we found it easy to walk to CBD, Docklands. In the mornings, however, a few very good places for breakfast were notable. Also, 2 different tram lines were within two blocks, and very easy to access.
The small grocery store at the base of the building was well stocked, open late hours, and incredibly close (just next door).
The room was clean, and well appointed, but that's it. Although it wasn't luxurious, it certainly served our needs of having a clean safe place to stay where we were able to sleep and rest well.
Very good for families with kids, it's not in the hustle and bustle of the CBD, yet it is very easy to access the CBD and the trams.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Baek K,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the location of our property and its easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart Skeggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Apartment was generally spacious and well equipped.
Carpark was linked directly to the apartment, which was a big plus. Convenience store located in the building, so it was easy to buy breakfast, coffee, juice etc.

What i didn't like :
- Check in process. Followed instructions and called before reaching. I went to the office (opp of the road) and was told the staff is waiting at the lobby. Headed over to the lobby and the staff was not there. Had to ring and wait... which wasn't very efficient.

- The door lock! was warned by the staff that the door doesn't auto-lock. But it was really a pain having to lock the door with the key from inside the apartment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear CZY,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us at SouthbankONE. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your apartment to be spacious, well-equipped and convenient. Thank you for your comments regarding your personalised check-in, we will ensure we review the procedure with our team.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We made a group booking (2 apartments). Upon checking in we were given our room keys to be informed we were located on two different floors. We queried this as it was on one online booking. We were told by the staff there was nothing they could do and we were lucky we were in the same tower!! We were then told we could have been placed further apart and should be happy we were only 5 floors apart. Being on level 12 and 17 this really affected our long awaited long weekend away with friends. One room was upgraded to a 2 bath/2br room with views and the other had 1bath/2br. It was disappointing to have one half of our travelling group upgraded over the other also. The rooms were sufficient for the stay. The bathrooms were of reasonable size. The kitchen was functional. The laundry cupboard would have been useful if our stay had been longer. Floor 12 had a consistent odour (from people cooking it was assumed) The concierge at our tower was helpful when queried regarding local transport etc. The location was ideal and we were able to get around the city very easy (once we worked out the trams) Probably wouldn't book again but would look for something in the same area when we go again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear AmandaC828,

Thanks for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property.. We honestly value the feedback as it helps us make improvements to our customer service policies and procedures to ensure your experience with us is the best it can be.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you did not receive the high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on. I appreciate your feedback about both your apartments being allocated on different floors. Where possible we try and allocate apartments on the same floors, however sometimes this is not achievable. I understand this could have caused some inconvenience and frustration during your stay with us. Similar to one of your apartments being upgraded, and not the other. Your feedback regarding your concern will be discussed with our Customer Service Office and will be used in our up-coming training sessions and in the on-going development of our customer service team.

We are pleased that you found the location of the property to be ideal for your weekend away and that the apartments generally met your standards.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Warm regards,

Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Address: 180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.