We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and affordable for three adults and two infants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location and affordable for three adults and two infants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good value for money and I found staff to be most helpful! We stayed in a new tower ( only four months old), so everything was new and clean! Great views
Because of its newness, some teething problems - plates too big for the dish washing drawer

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Greg S,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property. It's great to hear from our guests because it helps us to ensure that we keep delivering an outstanding guest experience.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review! We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. I'm very happy to see that you found our staff to be very helpful and you enjoyed the lovely views.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our beautiful city. Thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with Melbourne Short Stay Apartments.

Warm regards,

Stuart Skeggs,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
17
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently stayed in the Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in South Bank on a business trip. The location is great, only a ten minute walk to Flinders Street Station and a step away from South Bank bars and cafes. The room was simple and clean with most amenities you would need for a "short stay". The bed was fine and the shower was average with medium pressure. The curtains in the bedroom did not close properly as they were too small for the windows thus the light would stream through in the morning. All of my colleagues staying in the building had the same issue. The freeway can be heard in the morning quiet loudly. The main issue I found with the apartments is that staff for Short Stay are only available around business hours. After they leave (at 8pm i believe) it seems the building corporation is responsible for check in and all Short Stay enquires. The concierge staff seem to have little to no interaction with the Short Stay company. I had several issues trying to get a parking bay I booked and a key to get in and out of the car park. House keeping also removed some bed clothes I had left in my bed when they changed the sheets. All of the staff I spoke to were vague and gave conflicting answers all throughout my time at Short Stay. The accommodation is fine but the staffing is really something to be worked on.

Room Tip: If you request a room on the opposite side of the building to the highway (facing the river) it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Grace N,

Thanks for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us at our Southbank One property in August, 2014 We honestly value the feedback as it helps us make improvements to our customer service policies and procedures to ensure your experience with us is the best it can be.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you did not receive the high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on. I appreciate your feedback about the difficulty with our limited reception hours. The building concierge although not employed directly by us does and should provide our guests with assistance where possible. We will also use your comments in upcoming training with our staff to ensure that we are always providing a consistent and high level of service.

I am pleased to read that you found the location of our apartments to be perfect for your needs.
Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on recomendation of another family who told us the location was great. It was. The unit we stayed in had a balcony view over a carpark but that didnt matter as the room was very quiet and clean. We booked a one bed appartment as it was just hubby and I, but we were given a spacious 2 bed 1 bathroom - which was nice. The best thing about the location was a supermarket right next door that sold a great selection of wines too. it was a short walk to the Crown - and also the Promanade along the river for so many restaurant choices. The check in and check out was quick, they meet you and the door to the locked appartments to do the check in as the office is seperatley down the road and they ask that you phone ahead 10 mins before arrival so they are waiting for you. On check out we hiked our cases across the road to leave them there for the day, the staff were all so nice and when we were ready to go they ordered us a taxi to the airport and even came out and help load the cases in the cab. We would stay here again as it seemed so quiet compared to unit in Docklands that we stayed in last year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A family of 5 of us recently stayed in the Melbourne Short Stay at Southbank One for a week in the Soho 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. The location is very good. A block away from the Crown Casino and the Yarra River, it is easy to access the CBD and Flinders Station. Although the restaurants right around the hotel did not seem enticing, we found it easy to walk to CBD, Docklands. In the mornings, however, a few very good places for breakfast were notable. Also, 2 different tram lines were within two blocks, and very easy to access.
The small grocery store at the base of the building was well stocked, open late hours, and incredibly close (just next door).
The room was clean, and well appointed, but that's it. Although it wasn't luxurious, it certainly served our needs of having a clean safe place to stay where we were able to sleep and rest well.
Very good for families with kids, it's not in the hustle and bustle of the CBD, yet it is very easy to access the CBD and the trams.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Baek K,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the location of our property and its easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart Skeggs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Apartment was generally spacious and well equipped.
Carpark was linked directly to the apartment, which was a big plus. Convenience store located in the building, so it was easy to buy breakfast, coffee, juice etc.

What i didn't like :
- Check in process. Followed instructions and called before reaching. I went to the office (opp of the road) and was told the staff is waiting at the lobby. Headed over to the lobby and the staff was not there. Had to ring and wait... which wasn't very efficient.

- The door lock! was warned by the staff that the door doesn't auto-lock. But it was really a pain having to lock the door with the key from inside the apartment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear CZY,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us at SouthbankONE. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your apartment to be spacious, well-equipped and convenient. Thank you for your comments regarding your personalised check-in, we will ensure we review the procedure with our team.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We made a group booking (2 apartments). Upon checking in we were given our room keys to be informed we were located on two different floors. We queried this as it was on one online booking. We were told by the staff there was nothing they could do and we were lucky we were in the same tower!! We were then told we could have been placed further apart and should be happy we were only 5 floors apart. Being on level 12 and 17 this really affected our long awaited long weekend away with friends. One room was upgraded to a 2 bath/2br room with views and the other had 1bath/2br. It was disappointing to have one half of our travelling group upgraded over the other also. The rooms were sufficient for the stay. The bathrooms were of reasonable size. The kitchen was functional. The laundry cupboard would have been useful if our stay had been longer. Floor 12 had a consistent odour (from people cooking it was assumed) The concierge at our tower was helpful when queried regarding local transport etc. The location was ideal and we were able to get around the city very easy (once we worked out the trams) Probably wouldn't book again but would look for something in the same area when we go again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear AmandaC828,

Thanks for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property.. We honestly value the feedback as it helps us make improvements to our customer service policies and procedures to ensure your experience with us is the best it can be.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you did not receive the high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on. I appreciate your feedback about both your apartments being allocated on different floors. Where possible we try and allocate apartments on the same floors, however sometimes this is not achievable. I understand this could have caused some inconvenience and frustration during your stay with us. Similar to one of your apartments being upgraded, and not the other. Your feedback regarding your concern will be discussed with our Customer Service Office and will be used in our up-coming training sessions and in the on-going development of our customer service team.

We are pleased that you found the location of the property to be ideal for your weekend away and that the apartments generally met your standards.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Warm regards,

Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here for 5 nights in a 2brm, 2 bathroom apartment with our 3 and 5 yo. We had a good view and the location was perfect walking distance to Southbank. Room was clean and well appointed and we had booked a carbay for our car hire. We had apartment 1700 and it was nice and quiet on this floor from Tues-Thur, but come fri night it changed and unfort we had thumping music from 11pm - 3am - not fun when you are up at 5am with kids. There was some delay in checking in as you need to wait for a MSSA staff member to meet you at the apartment as they are not on site. So it took 2 phone calls for someone to arrive, but upon arrival she was very helpful and even helped me with all the baggage while my husband had to move the car off the street before we were fined. Just some small changes could make the stay even better - like more kitchen supplies such as dishwasher powder and washing liquid. We requested some more twice but they never arrived. Essential when you have small children and are using the cooking facilities. Putting on proper doña covers instead of a sheet and not having a circuit board inside the bedroom door - which had a constant buzz coming from it. Not a large issue until it is all quiet at night time. On the last day when leaving to go to the airport our son accidentally dropped the remote and keys to carpark down the lift shaft. After hours security arrived very quickly to assist us to get out thankfully as we had a flight to catch... but unfortunately no sympathy in what was an accident and we've received a very steep charge to replace the keys :( Overall it was a good and I'd recommend it to other families and I'd prob stay again, mostly because of the location and apartment facilities which suits our family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear atravellingparent,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent stay at our Southbank One property. We really appreciate hearing from you as it helps us continue to improve your guest experience.

I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed the fantastic location of our Southbank One property, and had some great views from the 17th Floor.

I appreciate your feedback and the suggestions you mentioned that would help improve our guests experience even further. I apologise that my staff did not provide you with some more kitchen supplies, this would have surely come in handy whilst you were using the apartment facilities. The circuit board should not make a buzzing sound, so we will investigate this issue further and rectify immediately if required.

In relation to the incident with the keys and car park remote, accidents certainly do happen. We try to absorb as much cost as we can when incidents like these do occur, however due to the expense in replacing keys, the security tag and the car park remote, some of these costs do get passed onto our guests.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to host you on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Address: 180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.