We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartment but check-in could be improved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious apartment but check-in could be improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Apartment was generally spacious and well equipped.
Carpark was linked directly to the apartment, which was a big plus. Convenience store located in the building, so it was easy to buy breakfast, coffee, juice etc.

What i didn't like :
- Check in process. Followed instructions and called before reaching. I went to the office (opp of the road) and was told the staff is waiting at the lobby. Headed over to the lobby and the staff was not there. Had to ring and wait... which wasn't very efficient.

- The door lock! was warned by the staff that the door doesn't auto-lock. But it was really a pain having to lock the door with the key from inside the apartment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear CZY,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us at SouthbankONE. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your apartment to be spacious, well-equipped and convenient. Thank you for your comments regarding your personalised check-in, we will ensure we review the procedure with our team.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
17
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We made a group booking (2 apartments). Upon checking in we were given our room keys to be informed we were located on two different floors. We queried this as it was on one online booking. We were told by the staff there was nothing they could do and we were lucky we were in the same tower!! We were then told we could have been placed further apart and should be happy we were only 5 floors apart. Being on level 12 and 17 this really affected our long awaited long weekend away with friends. One room was upgraded to a 2 bath/2br room with views and the other had 1bath/2br. It was disappointing to have one half of our travelling group upgraded over the other also. The rooms were sufficient for the stay. The bathrooms were of reasonable size. The kitchen was functional. The laundry cupboard would have been useful if our stay had been longer. Floor 12 had a consistent odour (from people cooking it was assumed) The concierge at our tower was helpful when queried regarding local transport etc. The location was ideal and we were able to get around the city very easy (once we worked out the trams) Probably wouldn't book again but would look for something in the same area when we go again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear AmandaC828,

Thanks for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us in our Southbank One property.. We honestly value the feedback as it helps us make improvements to our customer service policies and procedures to ensure your experience with us is the best it can be.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise that you did not receive the high level of customer service that we pride ourselves on. I appreciate your feedback about both your apartments being allocated on different floors. Where possible we try and allocate apartments on the same floors, however sometimes this is not achievable. I understand this could have caused some inconvenience and frustration during your stay with us. Similar to one of your apartments being upgraded, and not the other. Your feedback regarding your concern will be discussed with our Customer Service Office and will be used in our up-coming training sessions and in the on-going development of our customer service team.

We are pleased that you found the location of the property to be ideal for your weekend away and that the apartments generally met your standards.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Warm regards,

Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here for 5 nights in a 2brm, 2 bathroom apartment with our 3 and 5 yo. We had a good view and the location was perfect walking distance to Southbank. Room was clean and well appointed and we had booked a carbay for our car hire. We had apartment 1700 and it was nice and quiet on this floor from Tues-Thur, but come fri night it changed and unfort we had thumping music from 11pm - 3am - not fun when you are up at 5am with kids. There was some delay in checking in as you need to wait for a MSSA staff member to meet you at the apartment as they are not on site. So it took 2 phone calls for someone to arrive, but upon arrival she was very helpful and even helped me with all the baggage while my husband had to move the car off the street before we were fined. Just some small changes could make the stay even better - like more kitchen supplies such as dishwasher powder and washing liquid. We requested some more twice but they never arrived. Essential when you have small children and are using the cooking facilities. Putting on proper doña covers instead of a sheet and not having a circuit board inside the bedroom door - which had a constant buzz coming from it. Not a large issue until it is all quiet at night time. On the last day when leaving to go to the airport our son accidentally dropped the remote and keys to carpark down the lift shaft. After hours security arrived very quickly to assist us to get out thankfully as we had a flight to catch... but unfortunately no sympathy in what was an accident and we've received a very steep charge to replace the keys :( Overall it was a good and I'd recommend it to other families and I'd prob stay again, mostly because of the location and apartment facilities which suits our family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear atravellingparent,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent stay at our Southbank One property. We really appreciate hearing from you as it helps us continue to improve your guest experience.

I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed the fantastic location of our Southbank One property, and had some great views from the 17th Floor.

I appreciate your feedback and the suggestions you mentioned that would help improve our guests experience even further. I apologise that my staff did not provide you with some more kitchen supplies, this would have surely come in handy whilst you were using the apartment facilities. The circuit board should not make a buzzing sound, so we will investigate this issue further and rectify immediately if required.

In relation to the incident with the keys and car park remote, accidents certainly do happen. We try to absorb as much cost as we can when incidents like these do occur, however due to the expense in replacing keys, the security tag and the car park remote, some of these costs do get passed onto our guests.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to host you on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location was a couple of minute walk from Crown Casino. There was a grocery store at the bottom so we could shop for food etc.

Our apartment was amazing. The views were fantastic. Our apartment was clean, spacious and a wonderful place to unwind after a long day wandering around the city.

Thanks for a wonderful stay. I would recommend you to anyone that wants a home away from home..... with breathtaking views!!!

Room Tip: We were in a three bedroom apartment ..... 2902. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Tania H,

Wow! Thank you for providing a glowing five star review of your stay with us this month, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to SouthbankONE. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback; it helps us continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so thrilled to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you found your apartment provided a home-away-from-home for you and that you enjoyed our great location.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights when we returned from Philip Island. Compared to the other apartment which we stayed in when we first touched down, this was much better!

Location - again it's easy to locate given we self drove and had GPS to assist us. Check in office was just across the road so very convenient. Just below the apartment, there's a supermarket which is super convenient if you need to purchase any groceries. A very short walk to Crown casino, great location for those who want a go at the machines!

Apartment - got a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit. Great space, everything was in good working condition. Clean and quite new as well. Well equipped with toiletries and lots of towels for our family of 5. The heater in the unit was sufficient to keep the apartment warmly comfortable. 2 sets of keys were given so very convenient for our family who had different itineraries during our stay. Hubby even visited the well equipped gym!

Minus - no free wifi :(

In general, we enjoyed our stay. Unless you are going to the casino, staying nearer to Chinatown side might be more interesting though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Deborahyuen,

Thanks for writing a review following your stay with us at SouthbankONE this June. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your apartment provided all the space you needed for your family of 5.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed in many apartments in Melbourne, this one is within our expectation. It's at a good location, very near to Coles supermarket and a 10mins walk to Crown Casino. The apartment is clean and has whatever we need. Service at the reception was good and they agreed to our request of early check in and late check out.
The only 2 things we wished were better: The lift and the carpark. One of the lifts is always under maintenance and the wait during peak hours can be really frustrating. The carpark is really tight and again during peak hours, it will take us a while to get to our lot.
Overall, still a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear CuteFroggy,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us at SouthbankONE. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed 5nights at SouthbankOne in a 2 bdr apartment. This was a free upgrade from a 1bdr apartment. While not luxuriously furnished it was extremely comfortable especially the bed. Having washing machine and dryer in the apartment was great. Our view was straight down City Rd with the Eureka Skydeck in direct line of sight. There was also a side view to the Yarra. Even though there was a construction site next door the noise did not disturb us at all. It was an easy 10-15 min walk to Flinders St and Federation Square. It was also an easy 20min stroll to the Convention Centre and DFO. Being 5 mins from the Southbank restaurants was fabulous. Car parking was not a problem and the staff at Melbourne Shortstay were fantastic. Would thoroughly recommend staying at SouthbankOne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Robyn J,

Thank you for providing your five star review following your stay with us this month, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to SouthbankONE! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.

I am so pleased to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your apartment and the convenient location.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and we can't wait to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Address: 180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.