We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed apartment and great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well appointed apartment and great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here for 5 nights in a 2brm, 2 bathroom apartment with our 3 and 5 yo. We had a good view and the location was perfect walking distance to Southbank. Room was clean and well appointed and we had booked a carbay for our car hire. We had apartment 1700 and it was nice and quiet on this floor from Tues-Thur, but come fri night it changed and unfort we had thumping music from 11pm - 3am - not fun when you are up at 5am with kids. There was some delay in checking in as you need to wait for a MSSA staff member to meet you at the apartment as they are not on site. So it took 2 phone calls for someone to arrive, but upon arrival she was very helpful and even helped me with all the baggage while my husband had to move the car off the street before we were fined. Just some small changes could make the stay even better - like more kitchen supplies such as dishwasher powder and washing liquid. We requested some more twice but they never arrived. Essential when you have small children and are using the cooking facilities. Putting on proper doña covers instead of a sheet and not having a circuit board inside the bedroom door - which had a constant buzz coming from it. Not a large issue until it is all quiet at night time. On the last day when leaving to go to the airport our son accidentally dropped the remote and keys to carpark down the lift shaft. After hours security arrived very quickly to assist us to get out thankfully as we had a flight to catch... but unfortunately no sympathy in what was an accident and we've received a very steep charge to replace the keys :( Overall it was a good and I'd recommend it to other families and I'd prob stay again, mostly because of the location and apartment facilities which suits our family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear atravellingparent,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us following your recent stay at our Southbank One property. We really appreciate hearing from you as it helps us continue to improve your guest experience.

I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed the fantastic location of our Southbank One property, and had some great views from the 17th Floor.

I appreciate your feedback and the suggestions you mentioned that would help improve our guests experience even further. I apologise that my staff did not provide you with some more kitchen supplies, this would have surely come in handy whilst you were using the apartment facilities. The circuit board should not make a buzzing sound, so we will investigate this issue further and rectify immediately if required.

In relation to the incident with the keys and car park remote, accidents certainly do happen. We try to absorb as much cost as we can when incidents like these do occur, however due to the expense in replacing keys, the security tag and the car park remote, some of these costs do get passed onto our guests.

Once again we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to host you on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
17
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location was a couple of minute walk from Crown Casino. There was a grocery store at the bottom so we could shop for food etc.

Our apartment was amazing. The views were fantastic. Our apartment was clean, spacious and a wonderful place to unwind after a long day wandering around the city.

Thanks for a wonderful stay. I would recommend you to anyone that wants a home away from home..... with breathtaking views!!!

Room Tip: We were in a three bedroom apartment ..... 2902. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Tania H,

Wow! Thank you for providing a glowing five star review of your stay with us this month, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to SouthbankONE. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback; it helps us continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so thrilled to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you found your apartment provided a home-away-from-home for you and that you enjoyed our great location.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights when we returned from Philip Island. Compared to the other apartment which we stayed in when we first touched down, this was much better!

Location - again it's easy to locate given we self drove and had GPS to assist us. Check in office was just across the road so very convenient. Just below the apartment, there's a supermarket which is super convenient if you need to purchase any groceries. A very short walk to Crown casino, great location for those who want a go at the machines!

Apartment - got a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit. Great space, everything was in good working condition. Clean and quite new as well. Well equipped with toiletries and lots of towels for our family of 5. The heater in the unit was sufficient to keep the apartment warmly comfortable. 2 sets of keys were given so very convenient for our family who had different itineraries during our stay. Hubby even visited the well equipped gym!

Minus - no free wifi :(

In general, we enjoyed our stay. Unless you are going to the casino, staying nearer to Chinatown side might be more interesting though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Deborahyuen,

Thanks for writing a review following your stay with us at SouthbankONE this June. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your apartment provided all the space you needed for your family of 5.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed in many apartments in Melbourne, this one is within our expectation. It's at a good location, very near to Coles supermarket and a 10mins walk to Crown Casino. The apartment is clean and has whatever we need. Service at the reception was good and they agreed to our request of early check in and late check out.
The only 2 things we wished were better: The lift and the carpark. One of the lifts is always under maintenance and the wait during peak hours can be really frustrating. The carpark is really tight and again during peak hours, it will take us a while to get to our lot.
Overall, still a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear CuteFroggy,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us at SouthbankONE. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed 5nights at SouthbankOne in a 2 bdr apartment. This was a free upgrade from a 1bdr apartment. While not luxuriously furnished it was extremely comfortable especially the bed. Having washing machine and dryer in the apartment was great. Our view was straight down City Rd with the Eureka Skydeck in direct line of sight. There was also a side view to the Yarra. Even though there was a construction site next door the noise did not disturb us at all. It was an easy 10-15 min walk to Flinders St and Federation Square. It was also an easy 20min stroll to the Convention Centre and DFO. Being 5 mins from the Southbank restaurants was fabulous. Car parking was not a problem and the staff at Melbourne Shortstay were fantastic. Would thoroughly recommend staying at SouthbankOne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Robyn J,

Thank you for providing your five star review following your stay with us this month, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to SouthbankONE! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.

I am so pleased to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your apartment and the convenient location.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and we can't wait to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Overall the stay was enjoyable, the apartments were generally very clean and well equipped. We got a very good price, so the apartments were quite good value. I stayed in a one bedroom apartment, and my sister, her husband and kids stayed in a two bedroom apartment. As mentioned by others, there is a small grocery store right next door, which is handy. The apartment was very close to Crown casino (within a few minutes), though it was a longer walk to the centre of the city (about 20-25 minutes to Bourke St Mall).

The biggest disappointment was the inflexible check-in process. Our booking confirmation and reminder emails asked us to call 10 minutes before arrival for a personalised check-in service. We hadn’t stayed there before, so we called from the airport. We were told to call again when we were 10 minutes from the accommodation. I find this really poor form – you’ve got tired tourists who possibly may have never been to Melbourne before who can’t recognise when they’re 10 minutes away, and who are trying to keep costs to a minimum and avoid expensive roaming calls on cell phones. It seems a simple request for them to just take note of our earlier than “10 minutes before” call and arrange for someone to meet us at the appropriate time (given they have more of an idea of how long it would take to reach the accommodation from the airport at a given time of day), rather than making us waste our money by calling them again.

So not wanting to waste more money and not being able to recognise when were 10 minutes away, we attempted to use the “call concierge” button at the door when we arrived but nobody answered. Though the apartment building is secure, with people constantly coming and going, we followed some folks in and then attempted to use the phone at reception to call head office – this was successful and after a short wait, an employee came to take us to our rooms and check us in – everything was fine from then. It would really be great if they could improve the check in process so that we don’t have to waste money and stress about calling them exactly 10 minutes before we arrive.

I had seen on previous Trip Advisor reviews for one of the Melbourne Short Stay apartments that a guest mentioned that their bed had been uncomfortable and hard, and a Melbourne Short Stay person replied to say they should’ve requested a softer bed and they would’ve been more than happy to help. So in my booking request, I especially requested a quiet room (fine on that front), with a comfortable bed that wasn’t too hard (this request seemed to be ignored or they only have one kind of bed which is firm), and with great views (I think the views would’ve been better from the other side of the building as we weren’t facing the city). So I don’t think they really pay attention to special requests (though I understand it can be hard if everyone requests the same things).

The other comment I would have is that the apartment does suit people who are quite independent and don’t need a lot of contact with staff. There is a concierge on the ground floor though I’m not sure what their duties are – because we were told to contact the head office (which is quite close – just over the other side of the road) for most enquiries. The head office staff we did have contact with were pleasant, though we only had quite brief contact with them (being checked in, getting our luggage in to storage etc).

The apartment doors were VERY hard to lock and unlock – this was the case for both of our rooms. After unlocking the door, you had to twist the door handle so hard to open the door, that it still seemed like it was locked – so you’d accidentally think it was still locked and then go back and forth locking and unlocking – initially it took a few minutes each time to lock/unlock our doors and sometimes you’d still be worried when you left - whether the door was truly locked or it was just the stiff door handle again. By the end, we started to get a bit more used to it, but it was still hard going.

Despite some of the comments above, overall I do think it was a good apartment – clean and new, good value for the quality, and fine for people who are quite independent and don’t need a lot of service.

Note: On Trip Advisor, the “Amenities” list at the bottom says that WiFi is free – it’s not, but it is available for $9.95 a day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear meandering_Panda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at Southbank One property in June 2014. We really value any feedback we receive as it allows us to create and implement strategies and procedures to ensure you receive the outstanding level of service we strive to deliver.

I am disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations on this occasion and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused to you during your check-in with us. I can appreciate your feedback about the personalised check-in process we offer at Southbank One and that not being familiar with area would be a little confusing to have to determine how far away you are from the property.
This situation will be used in team training sessions to ensure we can improve this experience for our guests.

With regards to the bed, all our apartments have received brand new mattress which we have received an overall great response too, it is a difficult thing as everyone is individual and has differing opinions on what they perceive to be comfortable.

We are happy to read that overall your enjoyed the apartment and that you found it well equipped and value for money.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments in the future.

Warm regards,
Marcus M
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Slight hiccup on arrival. As I arrived after 10pm, I rang 10 mins before arriving at the apartment as requested and was told a security guard would meet me at the apartment. On arrival at the apartment building, there was no one there and after waiting another 15 minutes, I rang again and a few minutes later the security guard arrived. Would have been better if they just asked me to call when I arrived.

The apartment itself was spacious. Although booking a single bedroom apartment the apartment was two bedroom. Good kitchen with fridge, stove, oven, microwave and dishwasher and dual sink. Telephone with local calls charged at 50c. Good air-conditioning. TV and DVD player in lounge area, clock radio in bedroom and CD radio in living area. Bathroom a little tired and has shower over bath but bath has a wide flat base so no problem. There is also a washing machine and dryer. The apartment has access to pool, gym and tennis court. Internet access available at charge of 9.95 per 24 hours, but didn’t use it so can’t comment on the speed.

Shampoo, tea, coffee, hot chocolate provided and 200ml milk in fridge on arrival.

Apartments are well places for Crown Casino, Promenade and Convention Centre and Southbank. Reception office is in building next door so convenient for dropping key off etc. Reception staff pleasant to deal with. In summary a good spacious apartment, will definitely stay again. I had Apt 104, 183 City Road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Red_Kangar00,

Thanks for leaving your review following your recent stay with us at our Southbank Central property. I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your apartment to be well equipped and our team members friendly.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Address: 180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 116 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.