We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Very nice welcome and very nicely supriced with the apartment. The location was a little out of the shopping district but that was only 10 minutes walk. We will stay here again when we're in Melbourne!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Sunshine1403,

Thank you for providing your five star review following your stay with us this month, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to SouthbankONE! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback.

I am so pleased to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you loved your warm welcome by our friendly team and that your apartment suited your needs.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and we can't wait to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
15
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

What more could you ask for. Perfect spot for a long weekend in Melbourne. We had a fantastic apartment on Level 31 with great views looking towards Port Phillip Bay. The spacious apartment had everything and more that you could possibly need. On-site secure car parking was ideal at only $16.50 per day with multiple entry/exit permitted. Obviously no restaurant on premises being a residential apartment complex but being directly behind the Crown Complex there is no shortage of places to eat in both Crown, Southgate and South Wharf. Didn't get to try out the onsite pool and gym, but certainly looked appealing. Planning another trip back to Melbourne in July and Southbank One will definitely be our choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear soak01,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us. It's great to hear from our guests because it helps us to ensure that we keep delivering an outstanding guest experience.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review! We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. I'm very happy to see that you found the car parking convenient and that you were able to get out and enjoy the fantastic eateries that Southbank has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your July trip to our beautiful city. Thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with Melbourne Short Stay Apartments.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We just spent 5 days in Melbourne and were very happy with the location and service of the Southbank One Apartments. We were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment upon our arrival. The Apartment was very spacious with all the facilities you could want. I would recommend these apartments to any family wanting to holiday in Melbourne as they are within walking distance to public transport. A grocery store located next door is very convenient. Free wifi would have been a bonus for our teenage daughters. Will definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Janine Y,

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us. It's great to hear from our guests because it helps us to ensure that we keep delivering an outstanding guest experience.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review! We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our beautiful city. Thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with Melbourne Short Stay Apartments.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
432 reviews 432 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have now had a few trips to Melbourne for the tennis. Southbank One was the furthest away (about 30 min walk) but I would also say the best.

Upon arrival check in was easy as we were greeted and showed to our room. We got a free upgrade to a 3 bedroom which was great, even though the extra room did not get used. But once inside we noticed the floor was filthy! A quick call to the office and house cleaning was up in 10 minutes. The apartment was a great size and just about had everything (but no tongs for cooking!). The main bed would have been nice if it was at least a queen or king even better. Im sure it was only a double.

Location is right behind the Crown and only a short walk to most other parts of Melbourne. It is away from the hustle but close enough to everything. Supermarket below was good, but if needed more you could walk sth about 10 minutes and find a woollies and ALDI.

Pool was great and gym although small had enough to make a decent workout.

IT would have been nice to have free parking and wifi. There is lots of construction going on and our 1st night we left our windows open to be woken at about 6am. Once the windows were closed you could hardly hear anything. Only other issue we had at times was the lifts taking a while.

So it was not perfect but overall I think we will book here for next year again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Szkut,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at our Southbank One property in January 2014. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I'm thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and found Southbank One to be the best accommodation you have used for when you come into Melbourne for the tennis. It is a great property and as you mentioned close to all that this lovely city has to offer.

Szkut you are correct in saying there is a lot happening in the surrounding Southbank Area, the landscape is growing and there is construction going on at the moment. The doubled glazed windows are very effective at blocking the noise out though.

I am pleased housekeeping swiftly attended to your apartment to rectify the carpet issue. This should have been presented in a far more suitable manner from the outset.

Our parking and WIFI costs are both very reasonably priced, some other providers charge in excess of $30 per night for parking. We do appreciate this feedback though and will be taken on board and considered.

Again, thank you for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your next trip to our beautiful city.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Area Operations Manager-Southbank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Coast
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The SouthbankONE ShortStays was excellent. The view was great, the apartment was clean, modern, and very peaceful. At the same time close shops, pubs, clubs, the river, and CBD a short stroll over the Yarra River! Has a pool and a gym to work out anytime of the day I would book SouthbankONE ShortStay on my next visit to Melbourne!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear charmaine1960,

Thank you for providing your glowing five star review following your stay with us this month, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to our SouthbankONE property! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback as it helps us ensure we consistently deliver an outstanding guest experience.

I am so pleased to read that you rated your stay with us so highly! It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location and had a chance to use our leisure facilities.

Thank you once again for your glowing review and we can't wait to welcome you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on your return trip.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthFamily5
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our family has recently returned from staying in a fabulous 3 bed SouthbankOne Apartment over the Christmas break. Together with the facilties of this apartment being of a high standard, the apartment was spacious and very comfortable for our family. The view from our 29th story apartment was stunning, giving us an amazing view of the New Years Eve fireworks. Needless to say we wanted to stay longer!! These apartments are in a fabulous location within close walking distance of numerous places to eat and drink, theatres, the city center and sporting venues. Important to note also is the wonderful service that we recieved from the Melbourne Shortstay staff. On arrival we had a little hicup with the room that we were alotted and the supervisor and assisting staff were so professional and dealt with our hicup in a very polite, prompt and helpful manner. We were extremely impressed, as this type of service is rarely seen these days! We have stayed with Melbourne Shortstay Apartments many times before and will continue to in the future.

Room Tip: All of the apartments are of a similar high quality, most with great views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Family5Perth,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us. It's great to hear from our guests because it helps us ensure that we continue to deliver an outstanding guest experience.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review! We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed SouthbankONE and the impressive fireworks display on New Year's Eve. I will pass on your compliments to our team!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our beautiful city. Thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with Melbourne Short Stay Apartments.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcasltle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was a bit concerned that we would be too far out of the city being on the south side of the river but this was not so. We were 5 minutes walk from the Crown Plaza, a Casino/Shopping Mall, and if you cut straight through here you will find yourself on the riverside, there are lots of lovely restaurants here to choose from and a short walk over one of the many bridges and you are in the city centre.
The apartments are residential and the booking staff are not on site but you will find them just across the road, where there is a lot of information on sight seeing and places to visit. The staff were very helpful in all areas and helped us to organise a few sight seeing tours and our taxi back to the airport for the next stage of our journey.
The apartments were clean, comfortable and very modern, we were upgraded from a one bedroom to a 2 bedroom apartment which was nice but not necessary as there was only the two of us. Kitchen well appointed with everything that we needed for our 3 night stay, there is a small supermarket next door which we used for basics. Definitely would recommend, there was gym and swimming facilities available which we did not use.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear dawnalan,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us in November. We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found your apartment to be well appointed and conveniently located. Being so close to the Crown Entertainment Complex and the fantastic restaurants, bars and shops along Southbank is something that our guests really enjoy. It's so wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be friendly and efficient; I will pass your compliments on with pleasure!

Once again, thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back to SouthbankONE on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne

Address: 180 City Road | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 113 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne offers you a range of one, two and three bedroom quality executive style apartments for both the corporate and leisure traveller in a residential tower that gives you a feeling of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.