We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to see Melbourne!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne By Bike

Melbourne By Bike
Federation Square | Cnr Swanston and Flinders Sts, Melbourne, Victoria 3182, Australia
+61 419 928 771
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$87*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Your time here is limited, so make the most of it! This tour will not disappoint. Don't just see...also understand what goes on here. Then, we give you a map to revisit or further explore. Melbourne By Bike offers the smallest bike tour group size in Melbourne - 8 max. It's a fun, personalised, informative tour of Melbourne Australia in small groups by a friendly local. We aim to give you the best possible overview of Melbourne as if it was your only day here! Visit & learn about: (YOU can help decide what we see) Federation Square Sports Precinct Hidden bars Shrine of Remembrance Cafes with a vibe St Kilda Beach (dependent on start location) Heritage arcades & cool laneways Queen Victoria Market Parliament House The graffiti art culture Out of city suburbs - Carlton, St Kilda or Fitzroy (dependent on start location) Melbourne Museum Royal Exhibition Buildings and much more...... Tours: 10.00 to 2.30pm daily (start time can be flexible). Small groups. Advance Bookings to avoid disappointment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The best way to see Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We would definitely recommend Melbourne by Bike. We had the best experience with Michelle who takes the tours with enthusiasm and love and prioritised our safety and comfort with riding in the city. As Melbournians, we experienced the city like a tourist. We learnt things we never knew about the city, its history, culture and current attractions including some on Melbourne best hidden secrets and treasures. We would highly recommend this tour for tourists and even for people who live here in Melbourne. You should do it at the beginning of your stay in Melbourne so that you can then enjoy its amazing attractions.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmich3, Owner at Melbourne By Bike, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for leaving your first ever review. Very much appreciated. Hopefully you are more proud of your city after doing the tour. Loved showing you around, Michelle :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Melbourne By Bike is a fabulous way to get to know this amazing city, especially as told by its passionate tour leader, Michelle. Her love for the city is palpable, as evidenced by the lengths she goes to for a true grasp of its inner workings . . . you can tell she does her homework, and shares that certain type of "insider" information that even the best travel guidebook wouldn't know or tell you. Her enthusiasm is infectious, her anecdotes are fascinating, and the whole experience was the perfect introduction to the world's top-ranked most livable city - 3rd year in a row. We can certainly see why! When the tour is over, you feel like you've made a new friend. Thank you Michelle, for an amazing experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmich3, Owner at Melbourne By Bike, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for leaving your first ever TA review. Very much appreciated and sorry I am responding to it with a delay. It was such a pleasure to meet you and show you around this wonderful city. Best wishes always, Michelle :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“EXCELLENT! Best $100 you could spend in Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Michelle gave us an incredible tour of the city, highlights main landmarks but ALSO cool, unheard of shops, cafés, bars, etc. She was very enthusiastic and obviously passionate about the tour! Best $100 we spent in Melbourne!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmich3, Owner at Melbourne By Bike, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hi. Thank you for your first ever review on TA. I am a bit tardy replying to this but your review sentiments are greatly appreciated and I have to agree that the tour would help anyone get a good perspective of Melbourne upon arrival and then you would know what to go and explore. Thank you, Michelle :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family and I had a great time. Michelle was awesome. She really took good care of us. I learned more about Melbourne than any place we visited. Michelle provides a great tour.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmich3, Owner at Melbourne By Bike, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Wow! Your first ever TA review - thank you. I am a bit of a 'mother' and I do like to take care of you. Safety, education and fun are my priorities. All to be expected from an ex-teacher, mum and traveller! Glad you enjoyed. Best wishes, Michelle :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Experience By Bike In Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a fantastic way to not only experience the many aspects that make Melbourne a brilliant place to visit as a tourist but also to have fun indulging in the hidden side of the city.
Michelle, the guide, has the ability to tailor her tours to satisfy the individual needs of her audience and her impressive knowledge and enthusiasm makes it a truly memorable event.
Although the tour is slightly more expensive than alternative providers the extra cost is totally justified and fantastic value for money. For example our 4 hour trip lasted over 6 hours and gave us an insight into so many things we spent the rest of our 10 day stay revisiting many of the sights that Michelle had introduced us to, as well as many other things that she had advised us to see that we did not have time to see on the tour.
In summary "Melbourne By Bike" is highly recommended and having done other tours in other places, I can honestly say this was the best I have experienced. Excellent value for money and truly memorable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmich3, Owner at Melbourne By Bike, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review and for taking the time to make your first review with TA. I loved showing you around and meeting you both. Glad the information I shared was so helpful for your visit. That is my plan! All the best for 2014 and always, Michelle :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne By Bike also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne By Bike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne By Bike, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.