We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tank Fish and Chippery

Tank Fish and Chippery
149 Lygon Street, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Carlton)
Improve this listing
Ranked #251 of 4,092 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Seafood
Neighborhood: Carlton
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Carlton
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good selection of fish cooked well. Not really a sit down sort of place, but good outdoor eating available.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“We loved this spot...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a wonderful summer lunch outdoors eating sublime fish and chips and fish tacos.
All the fish looked so fresh. A great clean, genuine feeling about this fish and chippery.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were staying nearby and got one of the family packs which came with a great assortment of different items. Some of the food was greasy, but the fish was really tasty, as were the chips. Service was friendly as well. Not the best fish and chips I have had, but still tasty.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“OK fish and chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in Carlton over Christmas and Tank was close by. We had the special fish and chips $9.90, which came with lemon and a tartare sauce(which I think was off). The fish was nothing special just battered fish but the chips were nice. Served really quickly and staff were friendly. I thought it was reasonably priced for what you get. Definitely not best fish and chips to be had but was ok.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This fish and chip shop has the most perfect fish and chips I've ever had, from the basic Old School pack for just under $10 - fish and chips with home-made tartare sauce and lemon, to more gourmet selections with calamari and other sea food and fresh salad. You can also choose the sort of fish you prefer.
The chips are fantastic - a bit crispy with a lemony flavoured salt. And the fish has a light nicely-cooked batter and not oily at all, or you can get it grilled.

I love this place and have returned many times so I highly recommend it. It's located just on the edge of the city in Lyon street Carlton.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tank Fish and Chippery also viewed

 

Been to Tank Fish and Chippery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tank Fish and Chippery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.