We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good way to orientate yourself to Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Real Melbourne Bike Tours

Real Melbourne Bike Tours
Near the Riverland Bar, on the riverbank level at Federation Square, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 417 339 203
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With Real Melbourne Bike Tours you'll see more in a few hours than most see in days. Get your bearings as you explore Melbourne’s grooviest streets, parks, shops, cafes, hidden laneways and multicultural neighbourhoods. Described by NZ magazine Lucire as "The jewel in the crown" of Melbourne's best tours. Melbourne-owned since 2002 by Melbourne journalist and photographer Murray Johnson. Tour includes lunch and coffee and cakes in Little Italy.
Perth
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good way to orientate yourself to Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We are cyclists and what better tour to take than one on a bike? To start with it was slow with too many stops and not all that much information but once we got going it got better. The tour was only about 15km which in 3 hours is hardly difficult and a good hour of that was eating or drinking. I have to say that the free beer tasting helped soften us all up. The pastries and coffee were very indulgent and the pizza washed down with good red wine made socialising far easier! Learning about the cycle rules applying specifically to Melbourne (no riding in parks and dealing with the trams) was very useful, as was finding the Adidas outlet shop. The tour ended in Degraves Lane which sorted us for food for the rest of our week but walking bikes through packed lanes was far from ideal. I think the tour would have benefited from going in the reverse direction. Compared to Sydney walking tours, this tour has very little to offer in terms of facts but it was useful and while it wasn't cheap I did go away happy.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

A wonderful tour, certainly a great introduction to Melbourne; lots of snippets of information and some good recommendations for eateries.This tour caters for all ages; we are mature travellers and it was well within our capabilities. Thoroughly recommended. Thanks Murray for a great tour!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BEST way to see the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

FANTASTIC. This was a truly great tour, not only did we see some of the great sights in Melbourne, Murray took us to places that I would never have found on my own. His suggestions and reccomdations of places to visit, eat and drink saw us set up for the rest of our time in the city. Can't recommend this tour enough!!! Thank you Murray.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Essential Melbourne experience - absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a great introduction to Melbourne and shows you where to eat, shop etc for the rest of your trip. We especially loved Gertrude St and the Rose St Markets as well as the referral to The Old Vic and the Victoria St Thai restaurants! Murray knows the city so well, it's just such a great day and lunch at the Queen Vic Markets was another highlight - nothing to compare in Sydney I'm afraid.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Best day of my Holiday in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This bike hire is tucked away on the banks of the Yarra River right by Federation Square in Melbourne. You just go down the steps to the river, past some cafes and there you find it. Incredibly we visited the Tourist Office in Federation Square every day but only discovered this by accident when we went for a boat trip on the river. There is a fantastic bike lane running up along the Yarra river bank for about 25 k's before it diverges around Dingus Falls ( I think). Its an easy cycle and the scenery/nature is great and very relaxing ( this was my first time on an extended bike lane). In some parts you go along a boardwalk, really cool, and there is even a small harbor which is entered by a sort of lock gate ( we saw this operate). Towards the upper end of this cycle we found a 'city farm' with a really nice cafe and enjoyed excellent soup and scones with cream. I just felt that this attraction is underrated compared to the other things and much better value for money and yes the guy was very friendly and helpful. If you are in Melbourne and reasonably fit I recommend it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real Melbourne Bike Tours also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Real Melbourne Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Melbourne Bike Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.