We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional room in Mebourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No 35

No 35
35/25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
+61 3 9653 7744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 3,914 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: No35 is an elegant dining destination designed with rich timbers, vibrant tones, contemporary artworks and breathtaking views of Melbourne. The restaurant serves modern cuisine using fresh local ingredients matched with attentive service and an outstanding wine selection. No35 is located on Level 35 of Sofitel Melbourne On Collins, 25 Collins Street, Melbourne.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exceptional room in Mebourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fantastic views and beautiful buffet breakfasts.
The space is unique in Melbourne and simply breathtaking.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    74
    31
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Beautiful meals, although pricey but you get what you pay for in the flavours and quality of cooking.
Had dinner and breakfast here- would go back just for the view!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for a Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We hadn't heard much about this one and thought it was worth a try. The quality of the food was great and the pricing was okay compared with other good restaurants around town. The decor is a bit dated and more could be done to capitalize on the views. The service was good although not the most attentive. This place could be so much more but is still very good for a hotel restaurant. Not Melbourne's best but worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Chief Overreaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The dinner menue was overly complex and the chief couldn't pull it off. Overpriced for the quallity.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Fine dining with a Great View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had a nice dining experience with friends at No 35 lately with good experience. This restaurant is located at level 35 of the Sofitel Hotel on Collins Street at the heart of the Melbourne city.

Great view which overlooks most part of Melbourne. The place that we are seated is overlooking the Vodafone arena where the Australian Open is happening. I'm previlege to enjoy both day and night views from the restaurant given we started the dinner earlier before sun down.

We had a three course meal with 2 entrees, 1 main and 1 dessert. Ended with a nice cup of tea/coffee. The entrees are great - one of them being kingfish prepared freshly and the other with egg and avocado which tastes good together.

The main is an alternate between salmon and pork hock. I got the pork hock which I like! The meat is prepared well with crunchy skin and tender well-cooked meat in the centre. Comes with sides of salad and wedges. The only thing I don't like about the main (pork hock) is the Thai salad on top which does not go well with the taste of the pork. Bear in mind I don't like Thai salad.

The dessert is not as good as the main or entrees. The ice-cream or sorbet melted quickly and the (alternate) dessert that I got have been left half plate full only which does not make any sense to me. Given no explaination by the waiters/waitresses that is all to the dish. Some of us are waiting thinking that there may be something more.

Overall good experience from the friendly staff which remembers your order of drinks and the atmosphere is nice with everyone together with a private closed off area for our group.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 35 also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to No 35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No 35, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.