We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Mews beaut self contained apart with pool

Garden
Garden
Garden
Courtyard
Solar Heated out door pool
Bedroom
Gas fire
Melbourne
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wil1965
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Everything and more .......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with a friend and her daughter at the end of Jan 2013.(yes, the very obliging owners put a trundle bed in to accommodate the 3rd person).
This apartment is beautifully appointed with everything you need to make your Melbourne stay most enjoyable. (If there is anything you need, ask Jo or Jane and I'm sure they will do their best to assist.......speaking from personal experience).
The weather was warm so the pool was a great way to cool down at the end of a days sightseeing and shopping.
The train station is just a few minutes walk, as is the tram stop.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
pjjglb
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and tranquil but still close to the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

My wife is from Melbourne and we return frequently to see friends and family Whilst we have many offers to stay with people we like our own space on our trips and this property gives you just that
I work still when I am travelling so a good internet connection is important and they provide that (there was no wifi but i always travel with my own AP box as some hotel wifi is not great on access)
We have stayed in many rented properties in and around the CBD and this tops anything we have used before
Whilst the unit is at the back of the owners property DO NOT BE PUT OFF by this Access is down the side and you are in your own gated area at the back of the property with a pool right in front of you
The owners cannot do enough for you but whilst they are always available they give you all the space you need to assume a very private stray
Bedding is changed regularly with fresh towels for bathroom and pool
There is a lovely welcome pack which is topped up on a long stay
we chose to change our own bedding and hoover our room but the owners will normally do this for you The outside seating area is very secluded The studio bedroom has a large desk area perfect for the business traveller My highlight is the walled garden that surrounds the property Almost unique in Melbourne and I suspect quite unique as far as hoiday lets go
The tram into the city is less than a 5 min walk Cabs are readily available Anyone new to Melbourne will find Brunswick Street and Smith Street walking distance with there 'tricky' restaurant and cafes CBD is 10min in a cab 15min by tram local shops and cafe /restaurants are good We will back

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The walled garden - so unusual in Melbourne
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 22, 2012
Thank you sooo much for our kind review. It's really great to know what people appreciate about our property, glad you love the garden as we do.
Cheers Jane Markac
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Glasgow
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
bioprof
Capistrano Beach, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We visited in February for 4 days. A well equipped kitchen, very comfortable living and bed area. Good location, we had a car, located in the north of Melbourne. Nice area for walking, too, interesting shops, parks, churches nearby. We used the BBQ by the main house and did a good amount of our own cooking; a large grocery not a far drive away. Enjoyed our stay so much, highly recommended!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Just a lovely accommodation; didn't need a thing!
Liked least: Wifi was not strong
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments on Flip Key for Clifton Mews
Cheers Jane Markac
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Winton8
Bournemouth, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A little gem: stylish, comfortable and quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 11 nights in October 2011 whilst visiting family.
Clifton Mews is a modern attractive garden apartment. It's well equipped with free broadband, (altho' the wi-fi link was a bit weak, the cable connection was fine).
The accomodation is roomy (with space for one or two children's beds if needed), modern with thoughtful, stylish and attractive decor. The kitchen has a microwave and hob (but no oven). Importantly the bed was good quality and comfortable!
There is a pleasant secluded patio and a fine looking pool, (although sadly the weather was too cold to use it on this occasion).
For us, Clifton Mews was extremely convenient and transport links into the city centre, whether by train (10 mins), or by tram or taxi (20 mins) are excellent. There are good cafes, some reasonable restaurants, a good bookshop, deli etc at nearby Queens Parade.
The owners Joe and Jane Markac are very friendly and helpful but without being intrusive in any way.
I have no hesitation in recommending this excellent rental and we certainly plan to return at a time when it is warm enough to use the pool!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Well equipped, comfy, quiet, convenient for us
Liked least: Weak wi-fi, no oven, pool not fenced for kids
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Wombarra NSW Australia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2011
Thank you so much Julie and Kate it is a lovely review
cheers Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
coffs123
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for quiet stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

walking distance to shops, food and transport. Easy to get around. Lovely set up and quite most of the time. Parking in the street but quiet neighourhood. Apartment at back of house self contained everything inside you could ask for. Nice and cosy we visited in winter.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$138
/ Night
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Jane M
0394897045
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2011
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 15 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing