We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Space Cafe

Great Space Cafe
Collins Place | 45 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
(03) 9650 3065
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 166 Coffee & Tea in Melbourne
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Place for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Staying near by and had breakfast here 3 times. Good selection. Food well cooked. Service attentive but not OTT. Best in the precinct. Unfortunately the free precinct Wi-Fi does not stretch inside the cafe for some reason. You need to sit outside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very Popular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were staying at the Sofitel on Collins and stopped by this cafe in the Mall a number of times over several days. Each time the service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The decor was clean and fresh. There were plenty of specials on offer as well as the more standard menu. Options included GF which was appreciated. Can be very busy early in the morning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Down in the mall-thing that surrounds the entrance to the Sofitel where I was staying... I did a lap and it was all bakeries and things, and I wanted eggs! This place was very fresh and bright, nice white tiles on the walls with the menu written on them. Fast friendly service, newspapers, and they even did my eggs well done when I asked (not liquid and wobbly as is apparently compulsory these days). Very convenient, very nice, I'd eat there again for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“excellent cafe for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Situated just out of the main entrance to the Sofitel, I had breakfast here a couple of mornings and found the coffee and food very good, try the avocado on toast with tomatoes and cheese, yum!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Nice for a quick breakfast located right under Sofitel Hotel, offered a good selection of breakfast items and fast service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Space Cafe also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Great Space Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Space Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.