We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huxtable

Huxtable
131 Smith Street | Fitzroy, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 3,967 restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The restaurant is new, perhaps six months ago and we went because of a tip off from a friend. Melbourne isn't the cheapest place on the planet to eat out but this was 5star food and 3star prices with great service.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Huxtable has been on our list for a while, finally we had a late long lunch there today and it was amazing! The jalapeno & cheddar croquette, tempura eggplant prawn fritter and the crisp filo log of lamb puttanesca with lemon yoghurt were perfect starters could have dined on a repeat of them alone. The ocean trout tartare, harissa, baby beetroot, avocado was a great refresher but the Snapper (which we were both looking forward to was very salty, the salad needed more thai sweetness to complement this dish. The BBQ pork ribs were good and the duck was amazing. Trifle was a great finish and good coffee topped of by good staff and great Pinot Noir selection (NZ Central Otego) definitely made it a much loved dining experience. Can't wait to return with friends

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    28
    12
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Little gem in Fitzroy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Although there are lots of dining options in Fitzroy, Huxtable is my favourite. The food is fresh, modern and seasonal and all dishes are designed to be shared. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, and if you can get a seat at the kitchen bar counter you have the entertainment factor too because you can watch the magic happen. Not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cosy, great food with service to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Dropped in for a couple of drinks and sampled some of the fabulous dishes. Ribs, school prawns and lamb cigar are highlights. Flavoursome, generous meals without pretension, complemented by friendly, attentive service. We'll be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“MENU READS WELL”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

The menu read very well as did the wine list . All very tasty but minor niggles remain . Wine by the glass not poured at the table so could have been anything . I prefer my salmon a bit less cooked through . Portions on the small side but reasonably priced . Background music {?} way too intrusive-- may be fine for kitchen staff to bop along but NOT the patrons. Not a place for a long slow evening's dinner . All this seems harsh, but I am very fussy !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

It was our second visit after more than a year. The menu is similar to that of our last visit but this time round it appears that they have done away with the more labour intensive dishes - for example they no longer serve the steamed rice noodle rolls with crab meat & XO sauce - which was my reason for returning!!!
We ordered the cheese croquettes - not cheap and the potato mixture was far too gooey for my liking - prefer a more floury texture. The eggplant and prawn fritter was nice - tasty and not too greasy.
The coconut and prawn salad was refreshing and appetising. But the quail dish was disappointing - nothing memorable - the salt and pepper quail in an average Chinese restaurant is far tastier and cheaper than the Huxtable version. The Korean pork ribs were still good although a tad too fatty - not cheap again. Overall the food here is not bad but like all the mod restaurants of recent years - they don't represent value for money at all. So without the steamed rice noodle rolls with crab meat, I won't bother returning again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huxtable also viewed

Collingwood, Yarra
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Huxtable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huxtable, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.