We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home @ the Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Home @ the Mansion to your Saves list
Home @ the Mansion
66 - 90 Vivtoria Parade, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ill be honest, when I first walked into my room I considered going back to reception,cancelling my reservation and trying some place else. I am SO glad I didn't,, this hostel is clean (I actually saw someone cleaning the baseboards on their HANDS and KNEES). Staff is super friendly and it's in an AWESOME location. One of my best hostel experiences.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    15
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hostel is very beautiful, the bathrooms and rooms where clean all the time. The staff was very friendly; they even gave us some candies, because it was halloween. Good spacious kitchen, ping pong tables, internet acces, and also activities (free cheese and wine on friday). It is also very close to public transport and you can walk to the city. Very close to the Melbourne museum and fitz roy, where you can have a drink. It was not loud at all, so you could go to sleep early without people bothering you. Best hostel I've been!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed 4th - 6th November 2012, frieindly staff on arrival who help with our bags. Rooms are clean and linen and towel provided. Easy access to kitchen and food storage readly available. Bathrooms were clean and plenty of, hostel has information board, internet cafe and staff have a great knowledge of the area.. Easy access to trams including the free tram, would stay again...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, North Devon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights.
Easy to find (free city circle tram to Vic Parade) and a warm friendly welcome when we got there.
Room was basic but very clean. Was noisy at rush hour times due to the room overlooking the road but we had earplugs so not a problem. Hostel was quiet with no loud parties (quiet policy after 23:00)
Plenty of shower rooms and toilets which were always clean.
Kitchen a bit small and got busy but otherwise a great stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room was clean, fresh linen is on the bed (1 fitted sheet, 1 pillowcase + pillow and 1 doona cover + doona) for you to make up your bed. Whilst the mattress was comfy, the pillow was very flimsy. There are heaters in the room for the colder nights. Rooms are adequately sized, there is a sink in the corner and a small locker at the foot of the bunk beds (BYO lock). Showers and toilets (separate) are located at the end of the corridors and are clean (but the bath mats get a bit squelchy and gross after many people have used the shower). Towels are available to rent for $4 (probably a bit exxy for only a few nights)

My only issues were with the noise from the traffic. It's in a great location, right next to the free tram and trams that go to Brunswick and Chapel St, but staying on the bottom floor you can hear everything. I bought a pair of earplugs from the local chemist after the first night of little sleep.

Kitchens are good, little fridge space, bean bag rooms, people are friendly, wi-fi isn't free sadly ($3/hr) but it was an otherwise great choice for our long weekend away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and i went travelling in Jan for 6 weeks (Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, LA) and this was by far the most friendly, cleanest place we stayed in. When we arrived, the staff were great, very friendly! Our room wasnt ready so we were told to go to the Kitchen area and make ourselves feel at home (free tea!!) while the man at reception made our beds. We were staying in the room next to reception so was concerned about noise... No problems at all!. Our 6 bed mixed dorm had a sink/tv which was really handy and the toilets/showers were in private cubicles which was nice to have some privacy (something you wont get if you stay at Hotel Discovery). Never had to wait for a shower either.

They made a real effort to get everyone together with wine and cheese nights and were very helpful when asking questions about transport, local shops, events etc. They gave us a map on arrival too. Stayed here 5 nights as enjoyed it alot! Staff and other lodgers were lovely! Everyone had respect for each other which avoided the dramas of sex in dorm rooms, people drying there hair at 3am in your room (something we didnt realise we were yet to experience at other hostels!)

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept' 12. I paid $26/night for 6 bed room. The rooms were kind of cramped when everyone was in them and had luggage beside the beds, but it was manageable. The bathrooms on the top floor are huge, stay there if you can. The location is great, right on the edge of the CBD and Fitzroy. Staff was helpful. I would definitelty recommend this place.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are next to big bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Home @ the Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home @ the Mansion

Address: 66 - 90 Vivtoria Parade, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a spectacular heritage listed building in Melbourne CBD, Home at The mansion is a backpackers dream! The building may look big but this is a small and friendly hostel with great facilities and a location second to none! We have 4, 5, 6, 7 and 12 bed dorms as well as double rooms. Our facilities include wifi (only $3 per hour, fully equipped kitchen, dvd area, playstation area, large sunny garden, bbq area, free theme nights and tour information and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Home @ the Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home @ the Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.