We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean and friendly hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home @ the Mansion

Save Saved
You added Home @ the Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Home @ the Mansion
66 - 90 Vivtoria Parade, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 112 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Barnstaple, North Devon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good clean and friendly hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights.
Easy to find (free city circle tram to Vic Parade) and a warm friendly welcome when we got there.
Room was basic but very clean. Was noisy at rush hour times due to the room overlooking the road but we had earplugs so not a problem. Hostel was quiet with no loud parties (quiet policy after 23:00)
Plenty of shower rooms and toilets which were always clean.
Kitchen a bit small and got busy but otherwise a great stay. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Room was clean, fresh linen is on the bed (1 fitted sheet, 1 pillowcase + pillow and 1 doona cover + doona) for you to make up your bed. Whilst the mattress was comfy, the pillow was very flimsy. There are heaters in the room for the colder nights. Rooms are adequately sized, there is a sink in the corner and a small locker at the foot of the bunk beds (BYO lock). Showers and toilets (separate) are located at the end of the corridors and are clean (but the bath mats get a bit squelchy and gross after many people have used the shower). Towels are available to rent for $4 (probably a bit exxy for only a few nights)

My only issues were with the noise from the traffic. It's in a great location, right next to the free tram and trams that go to Brunswick and Chapel St, but staying on the bottom floor you can hear everything. I bought a pair of earplugs from the local chemist after the first night of little sleep.

Kitchens are good, little fridge space, bean bag rooms, people are friendly, wi-fi isn't free sadly ($3/hr) but it was an otherwise great choice for our long weekend away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and i went travelling in Jan for 6 weeks (Australia, New Zealand, Fiji, LA) and this was by far the most friendly, cleanest place we stayed in. When we arrived, the staff were great, very friendly! Our room wasnt ready so we were told to go to the Kitchen area and make ourselves feel at home (free tea!!) while the man at reception made our beds. We were staying in the room next to reception so was concerned about noise... No problems at all!. Our 6 bed mixed dorm had a sink/tv which was really handy and the toilets/showers were in private cubicles which was nice to have some privacy (something you wont get if you stay at Hotel Discovery). Never had to wait for a shower either.

They made a real effort to get everyone together with wine and cheese nights and were very helpful when asking questions about transport, local shops, events etc. They gave us a map on arrival too. Stayed here 5 nights as enjoyed it alot! Staff and other lodgers were lovely! Everyone had respect for each other which avoided the dramas of sex in dorm rooms, people drying there hair at 3am in your room (something we didnt realise we were yet to experience at other hostels!)

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in Sept' 12. I paid $26/night for 6 bed room. The rooms were kind of cramped when everyone was in them and had luggage beside the beds, but it was manageable. The bathrooms on the top floor are huge, stay there if you can. The location is great, right on the edge of the CBD and Fitzroy. Staff was helpful. I would definitelty recommend this place.

Room Tip: top floor rooms are next to big bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the dorm room.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

The kitchen was reasonable but fridges and shelves were full to bursting and the place wasn't even fully booked! Not much room to sit and eat in the kitchen/dining area.

The social areas were rather sparse - very small and not particularly inviting.

The longterm residents were not very friendly at all, and this wasn't conducive to making friends/being social as you would expect at a backpackers hostel - some were so unfriendly as to not respond when we said 'hi'. This was unfortunate and we disappointed to be woken every morning when a longterm resident's alarm went off multiple times between 5.30 - 6.30am despite her not getting out of bed until after 9 (and being asked to turn it off several times). I understand that this is not the fault of the hostel though perhaps long term residents could be grouped into one room. Bring earplugs!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeMansion, Owner at Home @ the Mansion, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback on our staff and the cleanliness of the hostel.
We clean out our fridges and shelves regularly so there should be no reason why there was not enough space for your food bags.

We are a small hostel with just 96 guests at full capacity, so our communal areas may seem smaller than the average hostel, however we still have two TV areas and a large outdoor area, which we are updating continuously. Just this week we have made large improvements to one of our TV areas.

I'm really disappointed that you found some guests to be not so welcoming. On the whole we have really friendly guests and get a lot of comments and how pleasant the environment is. I can see how an alarm going off continuously might be very annoying however this might be the fault of any short or long term guest.

We wish you all the best on your travels :-)

Kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Place was in an okay location, though getting there from airport was a bit trickey since it is hard to navigate trams without a metro card, and airport shuttle discussed on this web site that goes door to door did not exist at least at intl terminal. My biggest issue was there is no real common area except by stairwells making it not very cozy and easy to meet others. Also staff was nice but really didn't have very good knowledge of local area information. Timers in shower area go out to fast. Lastly, beware bunk beds squeak and shake. 4 of 6 days I stayed here a water bottle fell on me in middle of night from above. Also, the 11 pm quiet hour is not enforced of respected. Very noisy with walls asking well after midnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomeMansion, Owner at Home @ the Mansion, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated.
Our website advises guests to contact the VHA shuttle company in advance as they do not run a service in the early hours. We then offer an alternate route via the tram where it is possible to pay on the coin operated machine onboard.
We are a small hostel so our communal areas may seem small compared to some bigger hostels, however we still have four communal areas, with probably one of the biggest outdoor areas of any hostel in Melbourne.
Our staff regularly check the frames on our bunks to ensure they remain sturdy as possible, but maybe your bunk was accidentally missed last time, sorry 

We do operate a 24 hour reception to keep the noise under control however on some weekends this might be a little more difficult with everyone in high spirits ;-)

We wish you all the best on your travels!!!

Kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

While I was in Melbourne I sayed here, nomads and the nunnery and home @ the mansion was by far the cheapest and the best! Amazing value for money for Australia felt cosy and comfortable just like home! Staff were amazing they were so kind and helpful really made a difference to Our stay! Perfect location walking distance to the city and the cool area of fitzroy! Couldn't ask fOr anythIng better!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home @ the Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home @ the Mansion

Address: 66 - 90 Vivtoria Parade, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 112 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a spectacular heritage listed building in Melbourne CBD, Home at The mansion is a backpackers dream! The building may look big but this is a small and friendly hostel with great facilities and a location second to none! We have 4, 5, 6, 7 and 12 bed dorms as well as double rooms. Our facilities include wifi (only $3 per hour, fully equipped kitchen, dvd area, playstation area, large sunny garden, bbq area, free theme nights and tour information and bookings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Home @ the Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home @ the Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.