We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hardware Societe

The Hardware Societe
120 Hardware Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
+61 3 9078 5992
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is very popular - we waited 30 minutes for a table after putting our name on the list, but it was completely worth it. Have never had a more delicious ice coffee. Everyone at our table of 6 loved the food they ordered. The service was fast and friendly. i had brioche fried in custard with poached fruit, crumble and lavender brûlée. Wow. The savoury food looked delicious too - I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    129
    24
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love it but go early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Hardware is always a delight - what is less of a delight is hanging around waiting for a table when you don't get there early! Having said that, if you do wait it's worth it with the lovely friendly staff and the fresh, quality rustic meals. Will continue to pop in every now and again on Saturdays when I wake up early enough!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Amazing staff, friendly and very welcoming.
all day breakfast - just spectacular
coffee - what a treat
I strongly recommend that place. not super busy during the week

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

- Coffee was disappointing. My flat white was far too milky & I could hardly taste the coffee.
- Baked eggs with chorizo was nice but nothing out of the ordinary. I was disappointed to find that the accompanying bread was cold.
- Service was good & friendly
- Lovely, vibrant atmosphere with a beautiful painted wall of colorful butterflies on the inside
- Reached early on a Saturday morning so didn't have to wait, thankfully. The crowd came in soon after though. I wouldn't recommend queuing for this place but it's worth a sample if seats are available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good but over-hyped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went here due to the overwhelming number of recommendations that I kept getting from friends for The Hardware Societe - didn't meet my high expectations.

Food was good but not the level of amazing-ness I was lead to expect from the experience of dining here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hardware Societe also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to The Hardware Societe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hardware Societe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.