We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne laneways at their best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portello Rosso

Portello Rosso
15 Warburton Lane, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03 9602 2273
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 3,839 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $55
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Melbourne laneways at their best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just off Little Bourke Street, between Elizabeth and Queen, Portello Rosso is found down a particularly nondescript laneway. It's destination dining - the laneway is no thoroughfare, but this double storey warehouse conversion is a great spot - as is its 'sister' bar Murmur next door. The best tables are upstairs but if there's just two of you, ask for the seats at the end of the bar. You get to watch the kitchen work, you spy every dish that goes out (and perhaps order it if it looks good!) and you can have a chat with the staff if you like. The croquettes are sublime, the jamon delectable but first prize goes to the lamb chops. So plump, so tender, so delicious. A great spot all hours of the day and night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    46
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Read reviews on Trip Advisor and thought would give it a go. We opted for the 7 course chef sellection menu as it was a great way to try most of the food. Each course was fantastic, and so rich in flavours. The service and staff are amazing and very helpful. After the fifth course I couldn't eat another mouthful, so filling and more than what I had expected. The jamon was fantastic and my favorite was the clams and pork belly. My partner who wont eat brussel sprouts tried the dish and loved it, so hats off to the chef. Would recommend this place for the food, service and amazing staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great evening with a group of 22”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a great corporate event with 22 quests at Portello Rosso. The food was good, arrived ar regular intervals and was served by very friendly staff. They catered well for people with dietary requirements.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Two visits but probably best to have left it to one.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A fantastic find of a restaurant down one of Melbourne's laneways. I initially decided to prebook this based on tripadvisor reviews before arriving in Melbourne. We went for the chef's selection and was totally satisfied with the whole experience (head chef was on duty at time). The wonderful (initially from NZ waitress) was wonderful and informative. However returned on last night of stay due to the wonderful memory of first experience and was disappointed perhaps we shouldn't have gone yet again with the chefs selection as it was nearly identical however were not as many choices and when reviewing it was not even worth the money from the menu. In stating this I would recommend this little gem to anyone wanting a spanish dining experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“De Todo Un Poco !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is my second time at Portello Rosso in MEL. No, again, it's not an Italian inspired cuisine. It's Spanish. Better still, it does Tapas. I love Tapas. First time, last year (pretty much one year ago), it was awesome. It was the sort of food, that I haven't been able to get my teeth into for about 20 years. Well, obviously, this time it's not a 20 year gap, but rather a little 12 months stint. Food : still amazing, very authentic, as far as I can tell. And I have been to Spain quite a few times. Yes, pricey, but then again, it is exclusive and in MEL. PER, SYD and BRI are equal. By just picking on Tapas, I must have touched the heart of the Head Chef. I scored two small Tapas dishes with the compliments of the Chef! Inside, above the entranc/exit, it says :" De todo un poco" "A little bit of everything". Well, in means in one word : Tapas! No, I didn't have a reservation, No, I didn't wear a suit. I looked rather scruffy in my new workboots and jumper. Sunday at 6pm, when they opened, all tables were reserved, so next time, I book weeks ahead, just to be sure. But they put me on the 'common table', right, where I can see everybody entering. And I did see plenty of Spanish Decent faces. This will continue to be a permanent item on my itinerary, although I only get to see MEL once a year...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portello Rosso also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Portello Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portello Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.