We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate Rooms & Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Tempo

Save Saved
You added City Tempo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 11 more sites!
City Tempo
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   353 Queen Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI - Click Here
Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Immaculate Rooms & Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The rooms are compact but modern with all the facilities one would need for a couple to comfortably stay in Melbourne. The rooms are immaculate and I found the customer service from 'Ajay' in reception exceptional- service with a smile combined with knowledge of the area was outstanding, he's certainly an assett to City Tempo.

City tempo is a 10min walk to the city centre, about a 2 min walk to the vic markets and about 5 mins to Hardware Lane. So all quite centrally located for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    196
    40
    9
    1
See reviews for
40
257
59
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

an exelent location with free loop trolly at the corner ,the market a block away and most attractions you want to visit within walking distance. a car is not needed during your stay. the rooms are well equipped and comfortable .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed in City Tempo for 7 days in February 2013. Great location for the Markets and the free city bus and free tourist city tram stop all just under 5 minutes walk away. The room was always refreshed daily as required. The room is compact but well designed, were glad we went for the 1 bedroom room for the extra space. The only down fall was, as the whole air-conditioner unit is in the room was noisey at night in the bedroom, so just kept the one in the lounge going. The reception ladies were awesome, couldn't do enough for us and were so helpful, excellent customer service. Thank you so much for making our first visit to Melbourne a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very hygenic apartment with washer and kitchen necessities if you wish to cook. apartment is rather tiny. the receptionists were informative and friendly.

we were on the low floors and our balcony opened up to a wall which was very disappointing. however, they made arrangement to shift us few floors higher for our remaining stay. no balcony for that but better than enjoying the balcony with the view of a wall...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were looking for a centrally located business hotel in Melbourne at a good price and offering all of our requirements - City Tempo was the solution! The hotel is one block from Melbourne's famous Queen Victoria Markets - and given we arrived on a Sunday, it was an ideal way to spend an afternoon wandering around the markets. The hotel has a small lobby with very friendly check-in staff. The only thing that worried us on checking in was having to sign a document saying we wouldn't have any loud parties in our room -- I don't know if the hotel has had issues in this respect or is just preventing it happen but I have never had to sign a document like this before. The positives about the hotel are: it's clean and modern rooms, has a small kitchenette (and across the road from a shop to stock up on breakfast basics), good sized shower, comfortable bed, modern furnishings inc iPOD dock, DVD, workstation, lots of power points, has a great location and it was a quiet (although we were on a high floor but it's not in a noisy part of the city anyway). The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but next door (and accessible from the hotel lobby) is a cool little cafe that does great breakfasts and coffee at a reasonable price. We also had good internet and this was provided free as part of our package. The downsides were that the room was very small - it was pretty tight for the two of us but workable. Also, only a glass wall separates the bathroom from the room - at least one's not visible when using the toilet - only the shower! It's sort of a cool feature though and it's probably the best option to keep the room light and open given it's very small size. There was also no internet in the lobby which isn't a huge drama but when you're unable to check in immediately, it's inconvenient not to have this.

We booked using Wotif and used a Business Super Deal which included a free upgrade to a Studio Balcony. I don't think there was any size difference in the standard studio room - just the balcony, but at just 1 metre wide, it doesn't really make much difference as it's not really a useable balcony! Our rate was AU $148 per night for the queen bed room which was amazing value given it included internet, and newspaper too.

After our stay the hotel followed up with us and encouraged us to review the hotel on the City Tempo website. We did this and then received an email from the GM thanking us for the feedback and offering us a $10 discount that can be redeemed on the next stay. I've not had a hotel ever do that, and I was impressed. We were also urged to put a review up on Trip Advisor - which we always do after hotel stays anyway. So the big question, would we stay at City Tempo again? Yes. As long as they maintain the facility, I think it it offers very good value for money and the hotel seems very keen to offer a very good service. Well done guys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found this to be a very fresh and clean apartment room and the location was very well located near the queen Victoria markets, trams taxi and buses are all near by, the bed was very comfy after a long day walking around, the room has everything you need like washing machine/dryer plates cups, kettle and toaster, we bought fresh food from the markets and was able to cook with the items provided in the room, we were very happy with staying at the city tempo and the room rates were very nice as well. The building is secure with card access. The lifts were fast and quite, we will stay here next time we are in Melbourne. We found the staff to be very helpful and made checking in and out a breeze! I love the fact this is a non smoking environment which also added to the cleanliness of our apartment..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Me and my friend booked a room for two nights at the hotel and couldn't have been happier with our room! The room was very clean, had all we needed, was quiet and on top of that we had a lovely view from the 11th floor! The room also had good instructions with wifi etc.

The hotel is located nicely in the heart of Melbourne and there is a free city tram line very close to the hotel! The room rates were also very affordable.

Staff was professional and helpful!

Room Tip: 11th floor worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Tempo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Tempo

Also Known As:
City Tempo Hotel
City Tempo Hotel Melbourne
Address: 353 Queen Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Tempo 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our stylish Studio & One Bedroom Compact Apartments offer all the essentials for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Melbourne's exciting CBD. Furnished with a compact kitchen, the latest audio/visual appliances and WiFi internet. On site is a well equipped gymnasium, sauna, business centre and conference rooms.Ideal for both leisure and corporate guests, enjoy easy access to cafes, convenience stores, Melbourne Central and only metres to Queen Victoria Market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your City Tempo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Tempo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.