We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant and Wheelbarrow

Elephant and Wheelbarrow
94-96 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #863 of 3,914 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If looking for a very good meal and a nice place, then visit this place, you will not be disappointed. Staff were pleasant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    73
    31
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

excellent pub good food good beer plenty to choose from and the service was very good no long lines at the bar however there is to get in on a saturday unless like us you are in a group with vip entry.great entertainment a bit loud when the band is in full swing and very hot upstairs when crowded even with the aircon flat outall you can ask for in a city centre pub

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service and fantastic beef ragout.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I came here on a Friday night and had the pasta with beef ragout. The staff were lovely and the service was quick. The food was well priced for the size of the meals. The ragout was fantastic and I would highly recommend trying it if you dine here. The portion was quite large and I had trouble getting through half of it. A quaint little pub that I would definitely visit again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joancollins69
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“microwaved munchies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The pub itself is fine attracting mostly tourists and a few office workers but alot more venues are around with character and better meals. The staff are lovely and quick to deliver meals; i think the speed is reliant on microwaved zapped meals. as a veggo it was slim pickings and opted for soup of the day (pick of the bunch) and wedges which were foul at best. my fellow companions endured so so meals none of us will return and the venue was chosen as it had a high chair. the meals werent cheap neither so i recomend you dine esle where.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our local away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Can't put my finger on it but this British pub ticks all the boxes. They have some great beers on tap and the traditional English fayre hits the spot. We always try and have lunch here when in Melbourne.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant and Wheelbarrow also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Elephant and Wheelbarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant and Wheelbarrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.