We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laneways and Arcades of Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Secrets Tours

Hidden Secrets Tours
37 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
0396633358
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$79*
and up
Ranked #17 of 283 Activities in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Melbourne's Original Laneway Walking Tours. Indulge in a vibrant city with our Award winning walking tours through Melbourne's back streets and Laneways. Small groups, with creative local hosts enjoy the urban landscape that many locals miss. Discover intricacies of the past and the modern day in food and wine, fashion design, architecture and so much more. A city of entrepreneurs, both then and now, discover with us their stories and spaces. Just a few hours with us and so much of the city makes more sense. If you think you know Melbourne, then think again!
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Laneways and Arcades of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Did this tour last week and can really recommend it. Only small groups (6 in total for us) and our guide, Sarah, was so knowledgeable and interesting that the three hour tour flew by. If you're in Melbourne and want to get to know some of its history and hidden places I would suggest you book with them - you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Front Office Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Lovely to hear you had a great time on tour with Sarah, she shares Melbourne & her secrets so well!
Hope you enjoyed your stay & maybe we will see you around the laneways next time!

Fiona Southgate
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    18
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sandweiler, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our travel agent had highly recommended this tour. We were a little skeptical, what can you achieve from a walk. Nevertheless the walk was fantastic and gave us an insight into the secret and hidden lanes of Melbourne that I'm sure we would not have found without the help of our guide. The tour also includes a visit at chocolate shop for a cup of hot chocolate. The tour is higly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Front Office Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello Dan,

Thank you for your kind review. Glad we could win you over with our tour & that you had a great morning with Zoe.

Looks like you had an amazing trip in Australia & hopefully we will see you around the laneways next time.

Fiona Southgate
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sharing the Secrets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Luisa, our guide, shared her love and knowledge of this fabulous city with us. She bypasses the well-known, iconic tourist spots and unearths the hidden, quirky, places with character and tells the history with passion. It's fascinating, and an eye-opener. How would we have found out about Bourke St honey, the underground textile factories, the tiniest bar and tiniest cafe in Melbourne without our Luisa? The morning tea and lunch were fabulous. Small group worked well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Front Office Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello Chris,

Thank you for your lovely words & for taking the time to write your first Trip Advisor review - we love this kind of support!
Luisa said she had a great time walking with you & the group. She has a strong passion for history so glad this came across.

Safe travels & hopefully we will see you next time!

Fiona Southgate
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lanes and arcades that might be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I decided to do the Hidden Secrets Tour of Lanes & Arcades after reading good reviews on tripadvisor. The tour was 3 hours with a stop at a chocolate shop for any kind of chocolate drink you could imagine. Our excellent guide was Sean who kept us moving and gave us info on the buildings, alleys, shops, and history of Melbourne. What a great way to get acquainted with a city! We opted for the optional included lunch at the end of the tour, arranged by Hidden Secrets. The food was excellent. The tour included 9 participants which is just about right since you need to be close to the guide to hear with the city traffic. The tour was somewhat expensive, but we decided well worth the money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Front Office Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello Fatima58,
Thank you for your review & for coming along on our Lanes & Arcades tour. Good to hear you enjoyed Sean's company.
While yes we are one of the more expensive walking tours we are glad you could see the value in our tours & enjoyed the small group.

We can see from your other reviews you had a great time in Australia - hopefully we will see you next time you are back in Melbourne!

Safe Travels,
Fiona Southgate
Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our 4 days in Melbourne. My husband was not very keen but he had to admit my genius of choosing this tour. It was a great mix of history, architecture, trivia, art and shops not to be missed. Our guide Louisa, was passionate and knowledgeable. The pace was easy with few steps. Loved the hot chocolate stop at Koko Black - try the Chilli Hot Chocolate. Doing it early in our trip allowed us to re-visit some of the places we were more interested in. Thank you for showing us some of Melbourne's Hidden Secrets.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenSecrets, Front Office Manager at Hidden Secrets Tours, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello WOOZAL27,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - glad we could win over your husband and end up being the highlight of your stay!

Happy to hear you enjoyed Luisa as well, she shares our wonderful city so well.
Hopefully we will see you around the laneways again soon!

Thank you again, Fiona Southgate, Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Secrets Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Secrets Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Secrets Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.