We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family get together” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hellenic Republic Brunswick

Hellenic Republic Brunswick
434 Lygon St, Brunswick East, Melbourne, Victoria 3057, Australia
03 9381 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 4,195 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Hellenic Republic is a traditional Greek taverna with a contemporary twist - perfect for modern Melburnians!Our food philosophy is simple – fantastic, fresh produce to prepare traditional recipes in a clean, contemporary style. At Hellenic, kefalograviera saganaki is served with sweet peppered figs; local wines are served by the half litre and succulent meats are cooked over char coal.We recommend our Trapezi menu as the best way to dine at Hellenic Republic, where our chefs prepare a selection of our finest dishes for guests to share. The restaurant seats 120 guests, or alternatively can accommodate up to 220 standing guests for a stand up cocktail function.
Paris
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great for a family get together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015 NEW

Celebrating a birthday while visiting from Perth I booked online in advance. Unfortunately when I came to revising the booking the 'computer said no'. Well that's the only problem we had. I rang the restaurant and everything was fixed up. We arrived and it was like a big Greek taverna (we assume because we haven't been to Greece... yet) Very friendly and efficient service...but not over familiar. The place was rocking! Giving up on trying to decide what eight people wanted to eat we went for the Trapezi banquet. A fantastic way to feed a group and fabulous food too. Noisy but in a nice way. We had a great night.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    120
    36
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Must do Greek experience@Hellenic Republic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

This is the destination for great Greek food in Melbourne. We had a great dinner & such friendly & helpful service. Fun & relaxed atmosphere. I will return & take my friends & family.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food, amazing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

We arrived early for our 845pm sitting, and were promptly shown to the bar and served drinks.
When the rest of our party arrived, and the table cleared we were shown to our seats.
The recommendation was to have a banquet, and we chose the $69pp one.
The service throughout the night was exceptional, there was no waiting for food and our drinks were promptly topped up.
There were many highlights for our party, which included a dairy intolerant eater and a gluten free eater - where no-one was left hungry. The only course we didn't finish was dessert, the rice pudding had too much salted caramel which was sickly.
We were seated up the back, against the window of the main sitting area, and it was a bit noisy over the main part of the meal.
While still enjoying the lasts of our meal, other tables were being cleared, and then cleaned with ammonia - this shortened our stay and we promptly left.
I would return and take other family and friends.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015 NEW

If you enjoy greek food then this is the place to go.
We enjoyed a delightul lnch and theservice was excellent
Will definitely beback again.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Absolutely fantastic from start to finish! We went for the set menu which was a huge amount of food.
The taramasalata is amazing....
Service was incredible too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellenic Republic Brunswick also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hellenic Republic Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellenic Republic Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.