We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Glorious Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellenic Republic Brunswick

Hellenic Republic Brunswick
434 Lygon St, Brunswick East, Melbourne, Victoria 3057, Australia
03 9381 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Hellenic Republic is a traditional Greek taverna with a contemporary twist - perfect for modern Melburnians!Our food philosophy is simple – fantastic, fresh produce to prepare traditional recipes in a clean, contemporary style. At Hellenic, kefalograviera saganaki is served with sweet peppered figs; local wines are served by the half litre and succulent meats are cooked over char coal.We recommend our Trapezi menu as the best way to dine at Hellenic Republic, where our chefs prepare a selection of our finest dishes for guests to share. The restaurant seats 120 guests, or alternatively can accommodate up to 220 standing guests for a stand up cocktail function.
Pilbara Country
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food Glorious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Don't try and walk from the CBD its to far, the service at the table was great drinks always topped up and meals delivered in good time. The variety in the Banquet was wonderful I loved it all.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    109
    33
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Yummy greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We decided to try our luck and easily got a table without a reservation at 8pm. The guy who served us was from Jordan, he was very helpful and seemed to love his job. We enjoyed haloumi for entrée and lamb and chicken from the grill for main. The grain salad was also amazing. Wines from Greece were also very nice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I am always very wary about having high expectations of a restaurant as quite often they don't quite deliver. In this instance I was very pleasantly surprised as on all counts it exceeded my expectations. The staff were extremely welcoming and very helpful and friendly. There was no pressure on us to order the set menu but instead the waitress suggested we have small portions of whatever we fancied and if we needed more it would be no problem. The tzatziki was delicious served with warm pita bread. We had the best spanakopita that we have ever eaten both in australia and in Greece. The spit roast chicken, lamb shoulder were both moist, tender and very tasty and the chilled salted caramel rice pudding a taste sensation. I had a chat with the pastry chef who explained how to make it. What a delight. The restaurant itself with the open kitchen was buzzing and full of energy. I can't wait to come back next time we come to Melbourne. Thank you to all the staff for a fantastic evening with "real food".

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Simply amazing! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Bustling atmosphere and open kitchen to watch the chefs. The best pumpkin dip I've ever eaten. Great cocktail jugs perfect for sharing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This best Greek food we have ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This restaurant in Brunswick is far better than any you would find in most parts of Greece. An extensive menu showcases wonderfully prepared breads and dips, spit roasted lamb and chicken to die for and many other traditional dishes or banquet options. Everything we had was exceptional from beginning to end. Follow that up with an excellent wine list, some of the most attentive and professional service you could hope for and all at a reasonable price and you have some very compelling reasons to try Hellenic Republic.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellenic Republic Brunswick also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hellenic Republic Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellenic Republic Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.