We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellenic Republic Brunswick

Hellenic Republic Brunswick
434 Lygon St, Brunswick East, Melbourne, Victoria 3057, Australia
03 9381 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hellenic Republic is a traditional Greek taverna with a contemporary twist - perfect for modern Melburnians!Our food philosophy is simple – fantastic, fresh produce to prepare traditional recipes in a clean, contemporary style. At Hellenic, kefalograviera saganaki is served with sweet peppered figs; local wines are served by the half litre and succulent meats are cooked over char coal.We recommend our Trapezi menu as the best way to dine at Hellenic Republic, where our chefs prepare a selection of our finest dishes for guests to share. The restaurant seats 120 guests, or alternatively can accommodate up to 220 standing guests for a stand up cocktail function.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having watched Australian Masterchef in the UK, I was excited to be able to eat at a restaurant owned by judge George Calombaris. The food was truly fantastic, offering a contemporary take on traditional Greek food. We opted for the Trapezi sharing menu and every dish was pure joy. The staff were cheerful and knowledgeable, which really added to the evening. A great night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    123
    37
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic night. Celebrated my sisters 40th birthday, service was amazing and food outstanding. Could not have hoped for better. Highly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Time for Greek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

So we went here on a Sunday night and just managed to pinch the last two seats available at the bar as we didn't make a booking. The waitress was lovely, helped us pick what to have off the menu as we were a little clueless. We ordered a small lamb (moist tasty and Im not even a lamb person usually) a haloumi cheese... very yummy, but salty - you need something else with it to break it up a little. And my favourite the prawns in some greek pastry with honey drizzled over... so good! It didn't end up being a big meal but we were both satisfied. The Greek Beer FIX was also worth recommending and I had a traditional greek liqueur after tea which was ten bucks but unusual and therefore worth it I thought. Will go back next time I am in Melbourne for sure!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hellenic republic has great food and great service! We ordered the share style menu and were overwelmed by the quality of the food. Everything was delivered well food was explained but not over the top and the drinks were delivered well in time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely go here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the moment we walked in we were treated like the most important people in the room. The waiter was helpful when we didn't know what we wanted. We ordered the lamb and chicken. The food came out really quickly. The food itself was great: moist, tender, cooked perfectly. Have been there twice and will keep going.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellenic Republic Brunswick also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hellenic Republic Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellenic Republic Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.