We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but lovely.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hellenic Republic Brunswick

Hellenic Republic Brunswick
434 Lygon St, Brunswick East, Melbourne, Victoria 3057, Australia
03 9381 1222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 3,912 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hellenic Republic is a traditional Greek taverna with a contemporary twist - perfect for modern Melburnians!Our food philosophy is simple – fantastic, fresh produce to prepare traditional recipes in a clean, contemporary style. At Hellenic, kefalograviera saganaki is served with sweet peppered figs; local wines are served by the half litre and succulent meats are cooked over char coal.We recommend our Trapezi menu as the best way to dine at Hellenic Republic, where our chefs prepare a selection of our finest dishes for guests to share. The restaurant seats 120 guests, or alternatively can accommodate up to 220 standing guests for a stand up cocktail function.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Expensive but lovely.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Went in for $12 take away lunch and decided to have some food there instead.
As a saturday lunch for two, $100 was fairly steep. So you wouldn't do it regularly.
But the food was fantastic (the amazing saganaki, grain salad, spinach filo pie, and potatoes) and the service was friendly and helpful. I really do miss their breakfasts though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Hellenic Republic Brunswick, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Saturday lunch dining experience at Hellenic Republic, especially the saganaki, grain salad, spinach filo pie, and potatoes.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    123
    37
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Classy Taverna - Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our son and fiancé suggested this restaurant and we enjoyed the visit. The food was excellent and the simple modern decor has enough of a nod to the classic Greek tavernas from past holidays. The restaurant was busy and noisy in party/happy way.
Great staff and attentive to detail. One of our party required gluten free options and this was handled quickly and confidently. We took one of the "banquet" options and could not fault the food quality - only the quantity beat us! Next time I think we will try other single dishes on the menu which looked great on surrounding tables. My only other issue was that the wines were all Hellenic and we are not great fans of these but.............
We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Hellenic Republic Brunswick, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at Hellenic Republic, especially the banquet options.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Loved dining at Hellenic Republic.. Service was friendly and nothing was a bother at all!! Food was amazing and good value for money Great Greek food as we were all Greek that dined there. Only downer was Loukoumades(Honey Puffs) which were doughy and just not cooked right.. We let staff know and head chef Vassili came out and spoke to us about it.. Complaint managed perfectly.. Would absolutely return to this restaurant and recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Hellenic Republic Brunswick, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at Hellenic Republic.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a nice selection from the menu, including the lamb (outstanding) and the signature moussaka dish which was also fantastic. Overall all food and service was of very high standard. Thanks George!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Hellenic Republic Brunswick, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for your review.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience at Hellenic, especially the lamb and moussaka.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creswick, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a dump !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Bet David would have said it better but relay overpriced average at best food crowded to the point I want to go home and incredibly noisy. There are several things that should be considered if you ask for the banquet don't ask for extra bread you will pay per slice, don't expect other than overpriced run of the mill wines certainly no decent Greek wine.
It is an experience of the I don't want to have again kind. Due to my Greek family connections I have been unwilling dinner on 4 occasions most recently as Feb this year and its always the same.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAdE_Est, Owner at Hellenic Republic Brunswick, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hi Graham,

Thanks for your feedback. Receiving positive or negative reviews is the best way for us to improve.

We’re sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience whilst dining at Hellenic Republic. We pride ourselves on providing our customers with a memorable and high quality experience, so we are just as disappointed to hear that your experience didn't meet your expectations.

We have sent you a private message with the manager’s name and number and we encourage you to give him a call to discuss it further.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hellenic Republic Brunswick also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Hellenic Republic Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellenic Republic Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.