We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best on Lygon Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Dolce Freddo

Il Dolce Freddo
116 Lygon Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
61396393344
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 4,231 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Best on Lygon Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I went to the University of Melbourne, so I frequented Lygon St a lot as an undergraduate. As a result, I have tried every gelateria along the strip several times, and this is my absolute favourite.
Lots of flavours available for you to mix and match, from delicious creamy options to the lighter, fruity choices.
The servings are generous, and the staff are happy to let you try a few flavours as you perfect the perfect flavour combo.
Buy yourself a cup (or cone), then wander into the neighbouring park to enjoy it as the hubbub of Lygon St rolls past. It's the perfect way to end an evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Soul food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a must have for anyone who visits Lygon street. Ice cream so smooth and creamy with many choices. There is even durian flavor if you dare try. All in all a delightful gastronomical experience. I just love it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It is a big call but being no spring chicken and having tried lots of ice cream, I have today this is the best I have tried. Luckily I don't live nearby, it is too addictive

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“GREAT ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I always have this ice cream whenever Im in Melbourne! The most disappointing thing about il dolce freddo is that it's not open for winter (from July to end August)! All flavours are very delicious and they offer tasters as well, so dont be afraid to ask for some. Portions are rather generous as well. Parking in the area is a little tough especially at night!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Pistachio, tiramaisu, pandan coconut, cookie, lime, lychee, chocolate, salted caramel and many more!
If you've never had gelato, you MUST try it, more soft and creamy than ice-cream, I think it's made from milk and not cream- anyway, $5 for a double scoop/two-flavour cup was quite good I thought. Open from 12:30 til late (10:30 or something) on a weekday. Now I just want to go back! :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Dolce Freddo also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Dolce Freddo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Dolce Freddo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.