We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can always judge a gelato place by its pistachio flavour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Dolce Freddo

Il Dolce Freddo
116 Lygon Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Carlton)
61396393344
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 4,030 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Carlton
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You can always judge a gelato place by its pistachio flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I asked to try their pistachio gelato as I have heard from an expert once that this is the best way to judge a good gelato place. And sure as heck it was amazing!!!!

Also their snickers gelato is divine. If I could have more than 2 scoops in my waffle cone I would so do it :-) the staff are nice and polite.

Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    8
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“More please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience what real ice cream tastes like, then this is the place. Do yourself a Flavour and just try it... As good as the best I've had in Sicily, the home of ice cream!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“going back for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

it was the BEST gelato i had in a long while, they had some new flavors that we tried and were amazing, also the basic flavors were great, very nice seating outside on a quit street .
the gelato was fruity, flavorsome and came with a waffle, the lady serving the Gelato was very nice and patient as we took our time choosing and mixing flavoring, Absolutely going back when we visit Melbourne.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The best icecream this side of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not only do they have nearly every flavour you can think of in gelato - including Durian. It is also the creamist, fruitest and extraordinary gelato you will ever taste! Plus it is pretty cheap as well, offering good prices on scoops, cones and cups.

This is the perfect place to visit in summer in Melbourne, after a long walk through the city, seeing a movie at Nova or after having dinner on Lygon street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Creamiest gelato ever tasted outside of Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Gelato in the Lygon district...the Little Italy of Melbourne.

Sweet attendant was patient with us wanting to taste so many flavors before deciding on salted caramel, coffee, and chocolate for $6.60. Cup came with a waffle cone triangle. Creamy goodness on a spoon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Dolce Freddo also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Dolce Freddo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Dolce Freddo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.