We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can always judge a gelato place by its pistachio flavour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Dolce Freddo

Il Dolce Freddo
116 Lygon Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
61396393344
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Ice Cream in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You can always judge a gelato place by its pistachio flavour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I asked to try their pistachio gelato as I have heard from an expert once that this is the best way to judge a good gelato place. And sure as heck it was amazing!!!!

Also their snickers gelato is divine. If I could have more than 2 scoops in my waffle cone I would so do it :-) the staff are nice and polite.

Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    20
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“More please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want to experience what real ice cream tastes like, then this is the place. Do yourself a Flavour and just try it... As good as the best I've had in Sicily, the home of ice cream!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“going back for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

it was the BEST gelato i had in a long while, they had some new flavors that we tried and were amazing, also the basic flavors were great, very nice seating outside on a quit street .
the gelato was fruity, flavorsome and came with a waffle, the lady serving the Gelato was very nice and patient as we took our time choosing and mixing flavoring, Absolutely going back when we visit Melbourne.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The best icecream this side of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Not only do they have nearly every flavour you can think of in gelato - including Durian. It is also the creamist, fruitest and extraordinary gelato you will ever taste! Plus it is pretty cheap as well, offering good prices on scoops, cones and cups.

This is the perfect place to visit in summer in Melbourne, after a long walk through the city, seeing a movie at Nova or after having dinner on Lygon street.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Creamiest gelato ever tasted outside of Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Gelato in the Lygon district...the Little Italy of Melbourne.

Sweet attendant was patient with us wanting to taste so many flavors before deciding on salted caramel, coffee, and chocolate for $6.60. Cup came with a waffle cone triangle. Creamy goodness on a spoon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Dolce Freddo also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Il Dolce Freddo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Dolce Freddo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.