We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne By Foot

Melbourne By Foot
Federation Square, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
+61 1300 311 081
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$33*
and up
Ranked #6 of 283 Activities in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once described as a 'comprehensive highlight of the city', the Melbourne By Foot walking tour is a must for any visitor to the cultural capital of Australia. At only $40 (including coffee/tea) and with daily departures, Melbourne By Foot is the most convenient and best value way to experience the city. Our fun and informal tours show our enthusiasm for the city's past and present, our friendly guides are all 'big on Melbourne' and we are happy to share with you the unique parts of the city which many visitors miss.We have recently launched a new tour called 'The Beer Lovers Guide to Melbourne'. We have combined our passion for the past and present as well as our enthusiasm for the local craft beer scene to create an interesting and enjoyable night time tour. Come and experience Melbourne with us.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Kudos!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

After reading thru the reviews at Tripadvisor, I decided to take up the Melbourne by Foot walking tour for my wife and myself. Even though this was not my first time to Melbourne, I thought a tour guide with proper explanation would probably do more justice to the city history and culture than me trying to explain to my wife whom is her first time to Australia in fact. Indeed, Dave, the guide did not disappoint us in the least bit.

From the first meeting point to all of us in the group parting ways, he always has a ready smile for all of us in the group. More importantly, his knowledge of the city is very exhaustive and he tries very hard to answer all of our questions in the group. The walking tour is about 3 hours and covered many places of interest and cultural significance. Under the hot sun, Dave was able to explain clearly and without any hint of rush. The 15 min break in-between for drinks was also a good respite.

On the whole, this was a very well-planned walking tour coupled with a great enthusiastic guide in Dave. I would strongly recommend especially the first timers, and in fact, even regular visitors to try out Melbourne by Foot. You simply don’t know what you are missing out in terms of the city’s cultural heritage. Great work Dave!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Justin,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We have many return visitors to Melbourne who attend the tour and are always amazed at how much they learn about the city. It has been an unusually warm month and I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the pace - in spite of the heat.

Hope to see you and Joanna back in Melbourne again in the future.

All the best,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    21
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Melbourne By Foot - Time Well Spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Centre Pace, Neon Natives, Yarn Bombing, Hosier LA, Cherry Bar, Lamington's! Thanks to Dave these are now part of our Melbourne experience. Our recent Diamond Princess cruise visited Melbourne on 6 February, a beautiful summer day. We prefer arranging for tours privately vice thru the ship. Our only disappointment is that we didn't have more time to spend in Melbourne - a modern, vibrant and culturally diverse city. Dave's tour was a perfect mix of history, urban legend, current issues and city-scrapes. Dave is very knowledgeable and is able to engage all ages with his easy manner. We had to leave the tour about 30 minutes early to make our way back to the ship by 4:30 pm - the 109 Tram takes about 20 minutes to go from the William Street stop, on Collins Street, to Port Melbourne. My wife and I both highly recommend this tour. We are both 66 and in reasonably good condition. The distance covered and pace were fine. Dave made every effort to find shady areas where we could all rest while he wove his tale of Melbourne!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Ben,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is a great compliment to say this is one of your most memorable tours. I am happy to hear that you got a chance to re-visit some of the areas we introduced you to - Melbourne is a city of many treasures.

Hope to see you back in Melbourne wearing your Melbourne By Foot badge with pride. ;-)

Regards.
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Melbourne by Foot - An excellent introduction to Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a holiday in Melbourne. We chose this walking tour due to the excellent reviews found online. We booked this tour and were not disappointed. Dave is a very knowledgeable and friendly guide. He is well versed on the history of Melbourne and pointed out landmarks, signs or pictures that you would have passed many times without noticing. It gave us something to read up more on the internet and also a chance to go back to the same spots to explore further at our own time. We even had a little badge given to us after we checked into the FB page. This was one of the more memorable walking tours that we have taken part in from our travels.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not much more to add!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Like the most recent review, I was in Melbourne for just a short cruise stop. My wife and I arranged to take the 1 pm tour with Dave and found ourselves to be the only ones signed up! We had a wonderful walking tour of the city's highlights. I have taken many tours but Dave's interest and knowledge in the city's street art scene was unique. He has a very easy going personality and is very good at what he does. Five stars!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi Larry,

Thanks for coming along on the tour and taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you particularly enjoyed the street art here in the city - it's certainly a highlight for many visitors and a unique part of Melbourne's buzzing culture.

Hopefully we will see you back in Melbourne again in the future.

All the best.

Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a most welcome escape from ship excursions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

our ship, regent voyager, had melbourne as a port of call, but the excursions they offered were of the 40-people-on-the-bus city highlights or let's drive to something that takes over an hour by bus(farms, suburbs, other nearby cities) and not see anything in melbourne type. i found dave (and melbourne by foot) through trip advisor reviews, and we were extremely happy with our decision. he created a private tour for my husband and me at a price way less than half of the more typical tours, and showed us enough to make us feel we had some insight into the lore, history, architecture and sights of the city.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi Liz,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are finding more and more guests who are dis-satisfied by pre-organised day trips from cruises. We have many guests who are interested in seeing 'the real Melbourne' with a local guide and I am thrilled that you enjoyed the tour I put together for you and your husband. It was a pleasure to share the city with you.

All the best,
Regards.
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne By Foot also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne By Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne By Foot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.