We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Introduction to Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne By Foot

Melbourne By Foot
Federation Square, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
+61 1300 311 081
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$33*
and up
Ranked #6 of 281 Activities in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once described as a 'comprehensive highlight of the city', the Melbourne By Foot walking tour is a must for any visitor to the cultural capital of Australia. At only $40 (including coffee/tea) and with daily departures, Melbourne By Foot is the most convenient and best value way to experience the city. Our fun and informal tours show our enthusiasm for the city's past and present, our friendly guides are all 'big on Melbourne' and we are happy to share with you the unique parts of the city which many visitors miss.We have recently launched a new tour called 'The Beer Lovers Guide to Melbourne'. We have combined our passion for the past and present as well as our enthusiasm for the local craft beer scene to create an interesting and enjoyable night time tour. Come and experience Melbourne with us.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Introduction to Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We recently had a short trip to Melbourne and decided to take this trip to pack in as much as we could in a short time. Dave was a great guide, very informative and friendly. We saw places we never knew existed and it has made us want to go back to Melbourne again to explore some more. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Melbourne for the first time.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Hi ,

Thanks for taking some time to write a review. When conceiving the tour, we wanted to put together the best pieces of Melbourne into one tour. For those on a short trip, we aim to give you the best experience of the city. We hope to welcome you back to the city again for more exploring!

Regards,
Dave Carswell
Melbourne By Foot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    21
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“holiday in melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were visiting Melbourne in cup week. If you choose to do a walking tour this is definitely the one to do. Dave is a great host, very knowledgable and passionate about his city, and took us to places we would not have known otherwise. We hope to visit Melbourne again next year and would love to do the pub tour which Dave does in the evening. Thanks Dave

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Helen,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. You picked a very festive time to visit the city during the Melbourne Cup. As enthusiastic locals, we are happy that we are able to share our passion and knowledge of the city with you. Melbourne is a city of treasures, both hidden and in plain view. We are proud to show you an alternative view of the city. Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“informative and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Dave our guide was great. Took us to tucked away hidden street art as well as a gorgeous church-like bank....gave really good cultural and historical background along the way.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi David,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you were able to join us on a tour, particularly given your short time in the city. We are glad you enjoyed all the highlights that the tour has to offer - we hope you enjoyed Kent's Kayak Melbourne tour too.

Hope to see you back in the city.

Cheers,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Choose Melbourne by Foot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Having led walking tours in Berlin for years I was always going to be a tough crowd, but Dave's tour of Melbourne was truly impressive. Covering Melbournes history, culture, social and economic background and current affairs I discovered much of the city I wouldn't have been able to alone. Dave's very personable nature made the tour 3 of the most enjoyable hours in the vibrant and exciting city centre. Definitely worth every cent - for the guaranteed expert knowledge of the guide alone. He's clearly passionate about his work and very attentive to all guests on the tour. Dave if you're ever in Berlin, I'd be delighted to repay the favour!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C, Owner at Melbourne By Foot, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Ashleigh,

Thanks for taking the time out to write a review. As an experienced walking tour guide (from Berlin, no less), it was refreshing to have you come along on the tour (and include such positive comments here too!). I am glad you enjoyed the personable nature of the tour - I am blessed to be able to share my city with enthusiastic visitors like yourself.

I might just take you up on your offer of a cross cultural experience!

Hopefully you and Marcus venture back to Australia soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So much to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

After a long trip I'm back in Melbourne.
During the weekend we took a trip to the City to celebrate the world famous Melbourne Cup.
The back street lanes, coffees, restaurants, parks, square, SouthBank, Casino; all bustling in a celebration of good food and fantastic fashion. An air of expectation permeates this official Victorian holiday. A cosmopolitan, liveable city second to none waiting for you.

Mercedes

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne By Foot also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne By Foot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne By Foot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.