We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment for Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   63 Whiteman Street | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Apartment for Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Our 3 BR, 2 bath apartment was ideal for our family of 4 adults & 2 children. Modern conveniences, quick wi-fi (extra cost), wonderful Southbank location near the Yarra River, Crown Casino and 15 minute walk to Federation Square. Terrific, friendly customer service, including almost immediate attention to a routine maintenance item. Nice workout room & indoor pool. If back in Melbourne with family, would definitely stay here again. Pricey, but WORTH IT for 6 people.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Randy K,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us this month. We are so happy to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay, in particular our fantastic Southbank location, right opposite Crown. It's wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be so friendly and efficient! It really was our pleasure to host you.

Once again, thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
22
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We chose the property as we had a family wedding in South Melbourne, but didn't want to be too far from the City. It was a short walk from the restaurants and bars of South Bank without having to be in the middle of it (it was a busy time with Christmas and the cricket).

Well priced, and they have everything that you need in an apartment, although the lower quality of some of the original fittings (and the blinds in particular) is beginning to show. While I didn't have specific concerns about security, the only lock was a "Key in the door knob" one, which does not inspire confidence. Other than these points I would it an "excellent" .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us continue to deliver an outstanding experience.

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your apartment suited your needs. We hope that you were able to enjoy some of the great food that Southbank's restaurants present!

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here in Dec for few nights over the weekend. Great location! They also allowed my girlfriend to check in on my behalf with my permission (as i was coming in from a later flight). She had said that the reception she dealt with was brilliant. They also prepped our car park pass etc early to allow us to park without hassels. Location was great with walking distance to the Crown Casino! We had a 3 bedroom apartment that was just right on the 27th floor. Great view of the city! Room wise, a little bit warn but still in great condition, was clean and had every basic needs covered. IGA is also around the corner for those that want a late snack or whatever. Went for a swim in the small pool but got kicked out at 10pm.. We also got free Wifi although it was a little slow... However, abit of a situation on checkout as they had charged me for the internet but no one knew what was going on or if that deal was part of our package even though we were assured it was from check in. In the end got a refund so wasn't a big issue. Overall, brilliant stay! Wasn't disappointed at all, definitely worth staying again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Edwin S,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us in December. We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, in particular our convenient location. It's so wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be so friendly and efficient!

Once again, thank you for your review and for rating us so highly in all categories. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 3 nights and thought it was exactly what we were looking for - nice, spacious and convenient.

The hotel is located just out of the city grid but is close to Crown Casino and DFO!

All 3 of our rooms had a lovely view of the city and crown casino and the apartment was extremely clean and modern.

We also had a dishwasher and laundry facilities in our room which was very convenient. Parking can be bought for an extra $16.50 per day which is a bargain. Taxis are not too hard to find either.

I would definitely recommend for families or even couples traveling together.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Paulbec123,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay with us. It's great to hear from our guests because it helps us ensure that we continue to deliver an outstanding experience.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review! We work hard to present our apartments to a standard where you can walk in the door and make yourself right at home. I'm very happy to see that you found your apartment suited your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to our beautiful city. Thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with Melbourne Short Stay Apartments.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is a great accommodation that doesn't burst the budget and yet comfortably accommodate a family easily. Just like any serviced apartment, there are more than enough utensil and cutlery along with the white electrical appliances to keep the housewife happy.

Location-wise, it may not be that much of a walking-distance from e.g. Bourke Street, there is a tram stop right outside the apartment where you can utilise to get yourself into town. It is located right across the Crown Casinos btw. So that is a major advantage of staying there: 24/7 access to food and entertainment.

We had two rented cars and thankfully they were able to accommodate our cars in the secured parking within the building. The apartment doors and lift accesses are all secured, resulting in the need to "tap" the sensor for the lift lobby door and the lift buttons. Security is never enough, is it?

One minor gripe though: the apartment door is manually locked with a key. No issue with that except for the fact that it has to be manually locked within the apartment too. That means, locking the apartment door would require the resident to take the extra step to manually lock the door knob rather than secure with e.g. a traditional dead-bolt.

Another gripe was that the air-con system is pretty complicated to deal with. When we checked-in, we had issues trying to get the air-con working in the bedrooms. I understood from the recep and desk instructions that the air-con in the bedrooms and living room must have the same settings before it can work. I find that very bizarre and ineffective. In the end, the problem was due to the air-con being switched off at the fuse box. Thus it was swiftly reserved on my end with a flick of the switch, literally-speaking.

Other than that, it is still a great place to stay and I will not mind returning here again if I ever visited Melbourne again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear MarkoRamius23,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us this month. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding experience.

I'm very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the convenient location. I'm very pleased to hear that your apartment provided everything you needed for a comfortable stay with your family. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused with the operation of your air conditioner, we are currently reviewing our operation instructions.

Again, thanks for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments when you’re next in town.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed for five nights and were extremely happy with our stay. Nothibg bad to say really. Good sized apartment in a great location close to the train station and the river walk. The staff was very helpful and helped us with both a late check in and to borrow an apartment to shower after check out so we could clean up before our late flight out.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, General Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Daniel R,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us at Whiteman Street this November. We love to hear from our guests as it helps us to continue to deliver an outstanding experience.

I am thrilled to hear that you experienced the high standard of customer service that we pride ourselves on. I will pass your compliments on to the team with great pleasure!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Melbourne Short Stay Apartments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Warm regards,

Stuart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

very happy with our choice of accommodation , from the time I booked this from Adelaide , and made some alterations to our booking to the actual time we got there, by phone or email staff were very accommodating , I requested the highest floor possible and on our revival , were advised we had an apartment on the 29th floor out of 35 , with amazing views , the apartment had everything 6 people needed , it was clean and the beds were very comfortable , and the younger adults in our group thought the place was great too . we had our own balcony ,albeit dizzying to look from and windows that opened safely enough to get some fresh air in . We were a 5-10 min walk to Southbank and the Flinders st station , so we caught public transport everywhere . We had to pay extra for 2 car parks per day but we were advised of this beforehand. Would stay again , but if you don't like the noise of building sites or traffic unless you keep the doors and windows closed , you may not like it here .

Room Tip: highest floor possible to minimize noise and appreciate the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne04, Manager at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear suzannie1,

Thanks for writing such a lovely review following your stay with us this month. We are so happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that the 6 of you found your apartment provided all you needed. It's so wonderful to hear that you found our team members to be so friendly and efficient!

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Melbourne.

Warm regards,

Marcus Maillet
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Address: 63 Whiteman Street | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe category AAA-rated 4.5 star apartments are in a 35 level landmark residential tower with a choice of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms configurations, many with spectacular views.Features include floor-to ceiling windows in living areas and most bedrooms, comfortable combined lounge & dining area, fully equipped kitchen with composite stone benchtops, laundry with washing machine and separate dryer, 32" LCD TV (with Foxtel), DVD player, stereo and heating / air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.