We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Save Saved
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   63 Whiteman Street | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE WIFI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bed, 2 bathroom apartment for 4 nights over Christmas. Friendly staff, clean room and very convenient location. Was everything we needed! Will stay here again and will be recommending to family and friends for future stays too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
14
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great apartment, has everything you need. I was upgraded to an apartment with a great view -staff were more than helpful - they gave me an extended check out and were very helpful. Great location close to the casino and southbank

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on Whiteman St as I was attending a conference at the nearby convention centre. Please note -- these are different than the City Rd apts.
The location couldn't have been better for my purposes -- a five minute walk to the convention centre.
The apartment itself was clean and well-appointed, and represented an excellent value for the location -- I believe I paid A$169/night.
I did notice that the lifts were always full of young student or very young professional types. I'm not sure if there's some arrangement with a local university. I didn't see many other holiday-maker types about.
I would say that even though my apartment was on L21, the street noise was still significant, esp the bells from the trams below. I found this sort of charming, but I couldn't say it was a quiet room.
It did however have lovely views.
The fitness centre was kind of disappointing, but the pool was ok.

Room Tip: Perhaps try a room off of Whiteman St to avoid tram/road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently stayed in 3 bedroom apartment (vue grande ). really spacious, handy to shops, tram stop basically at door. Apartment had every thing we needed. Full kitchen, 2 bathrooms, laundry and considering it was on busy Clarendon St, we were concerned about traffic noise; but had no issues with it. Nice to have accomodation where you can actually open windows and sit on balcony. As we were on a shopping trip the Vue Grande was an excellent choice as close to DFO and city. Will certainly stay here again and recommend to all

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on Whiteman with some work colleagues when we visited Melbourne for a conference. We had a 3-bedroom 2-bathroom apartment on the 18th floor, with spectacular views over Melbourne. The apartment was beautifully maintained, comfortable, roomy and suited our needs perfectly. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the convention centre and Crown Casino, and close to lots of great restaurants along the river. Conveniently, there was also a supermarket downstairs, so we could get a few nibblies. My only criticism was that we could not get the air conditioner to work, but this was probably user-error rather than a fault with the A/C system. There was also a little bit of traffic noise, but you would expect this in the middle of a busy city. I would highly recommend this property and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a city-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Melb short stay appts are well located for conference and business use , also close to casino for night entertainment. Public transport is on the doorstep. Small supermarket is also next door in case you wish to eat in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The short stay apartments were sensational for a number of reasons.
The location was so easy, short walk to shops and close to South Bank and its never ending choice of restaurants. The tram stops right outside the door, so really easy to get to St Kilda, the city, china town. We travelled with 4 families, with 13 kids in total and the apartments were great for us. The kids loved the pool, the rooms were really spacious and very clean and tidy, with everything you need. A supermarket downstairs made self-catering really easy and we all really enjoyed ourselves, brilliant views over Melbourne and such a comfy bed and pillow (and I am pretty fussy with pillows). All around woud def recommend and will stay again.

Room Tip: 2 adults and 3 kids, we were fine in the 2 bed apartment, but youngest is only 3yo, so we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Address: 63 Whiteman Street | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 112 Specialty lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe category AAA-rated 4.5 star apartments are in a 35 level landmark residential tower with a choice of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms configurations, many with spectacular views.Features include floor-to ceiling windows in living areas and most bedrooms, comfortable combined lounge & dining area, fully equipped kitchen with composite stone benchtops, laundry with washing machine and separate dryer, 32" LCD TV (with Foxtel), DVD player, stereo and heating / air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.