We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street to your Saves list
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   63 Whiteman Street | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia (Southbank)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 5 Save 10%
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Bus driver dropped us right at door step due to the amount of luggage we had. Normal pick up and drop off is across the road in driveway of another hotel.
Easy to find, our first stay here. Around the back of Crowne Casino. Apartment was not ready when we arrived and we where aware of this as early plane from Sydney. Apartment was ready right on 2pm as advertised.

Apartment good sized rooms and cleverly decorated. All rooms where spotlessly clean. Apartment are not serviced daily unless you pay a separate fee. Fill sized fridge, under bench oven, microwave, full dishwasher, washer and dryer. Glasses and crockery clean. Pots and pans needed a good scrub. Building manager onsite was very chatty and helpful. Bedroom had great storage and bed was to die for sooo comfortable. Ducted heating in our apartment so did not have to use dryer.
Did not get to use pool or gym over the 5 day stay as each time went down to this area lots of students using both facilities.
Location was great just far enough out of city to get away from hussle and bussell but only 10 mins walk into city centre for shopping and theatres . Southbank eateries 5 mins walk and availability of any type of food you could want. Crown Casino across the road for casino, shows, picture theatre. Supermarkets for self catering 10 mins walk down the road. Free city tour bus 3 mins walk away visit main city sights hop on of bus , full circuit takes 1 1/2 hrs.

What more could you want??

SUGGESTION - please leave some pot scores and paper towelling in kitchen. Ironing board that works would be good and clothes horse would be handy. ALL minor things.

Overall apartment and location was extremely convenient and comfortable.

Room Tip: As only few tourist rental apartments available in building ask for one with balcony and high. floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    47
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
25
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our stay was magnificent, (after overcoming having to drive thanks to Tiger airlines) We were very comfortable and everthing we needed was available. Even the car park was centrally located. The checkin staff were very helpful. The room was large and being able to cook a meal was definately an advantage.

Room Tip: The main bedroom had an ensuite and was very spacious. Plenty of room for clothes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Wow, we were really surprised to find these wonderful apartments at a fantastic rate in an excellent location in Southbank, adjacent to the Crown Casino. We had a 2-br modern, fully appointed apartment on the 30th floor and loved every minute of our stay. The unit has a diswasher, washing machine, dryer and excellent kitchen facilities. It also had Austar (Satellite TV), a DVD player and stereo. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the apartment for Grand Prix weekend. Usually, we stay at one of the Crowne Casino properties, however we invited more people to the trip, which meant an apartment was more economical. Having stayed mostly at 4-5 star hotels, I was worried about the standard.

It was surprising how good this place was. Clean and simple decor with plenty of space in both the 2 bedrooms. We had a baby cot in the master bedroom and still had room to move. Enormous lounge area. I really liked the kitchen!

The building was secure with a concierge until 8pm (I think from memory). Short stroll to the Crowne with all the restaurants / entertainment you need.

The only bad thing I can say about this place was the individual apartment door access. I've never stayed in a hotel / apartment where there was no dead lock. Everytime you get into your apartment, you have to put your key in the door knob and basically lock yourself in.

Overall, a great experience. During the Grand Prix weekend, expect to hear all the noise from Albert Park (we didn't mind).

PS/ Avoid the convenience store downstairs, as it is overpriced, more so compared to other convenience stores in Sydney.

Room Tip: Book early in peak periods
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Both myself and my two girlfriends agree that we haven't stayed in a nicer place. The view was to die for, apartment was spotless and very inviting. Bedding was EXTREMELY comfortable, service was outstanding! - Was able to organise airport transfers through shortstay which was an added bonus.!

I have already started to spread the word and will be back. We are very pleased we got the chance to experience such a fantastic location and a lovely apartment.! - Stay in Southbank Deluxe apartments, you wont regret it!

Thanks Shortstay!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We went to Melbourne for NYE/NY, and stayed here. Great location, super close to all amenities, there's an IGA conviniently located on groundfloor. Crown casino is across the road, plus the tram service is right outside the door.
We stayed in a 2x2 spacious apartment, we couldn't fault this place...We will be back again on our next trip.

Joy, Tony & Keith
Perth, WA

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We booked 4 nights in a Studio Apartment at Melbourne Short Stay Apartments on Whiteman St (Vue Grande) via Wotif while seeing the sights of Melbourne. The apartment complex is fantastically located in Southbank just steps from the Crown Casino and Yarra River. A tram stop is found across the road and the free City Tram and Shuttle is just 10 minutes walk.

The apartment complex is modern, secure and clean and has a concierge. Parking is available at $15 per night but make sure to inform reception on booking to save disappointment. The reception is located next door at number 65 with very helpful and friendly staff and has a range of tourist information booklets. The studio is a good size with a well-equipped kitchen with modern appliances. The décor is very modern and tasteful with great views overlooking the crown casino or city. The bathroom is clean and has laundry facilities and the bed is comfortable. The only down fall is the air-conditioning unit as it is in the lounge room and air doesn’t reach the bedroom and with the sun beaming down on the windows every morning it warmed up the room very quickly especially the days we were is Melbourne with a max temp of 31 degrees.

Dining options are everywhere, walking distance or just a tram ride away. There is the Clarendon St prescient with cafés and Max Brenner Chocolate Bar, the Casino restaurants and places throughout the CBD. There is also an IGA express (quite big for a corner store) and Liquor express is found in the same building as the apartment on the ground floor if you chose the cook you own meal. Also the Tram Restaurant stop is opposite the apartment complex. I recommend checking out Degraves Lane and Centre place (laneways) off Flinders St you will find fabulous little cafes and make sure to visit the cupcake store. Lygon St is a must with yummy gelatos and Burnetti’s with delicious cakes. Acland St is a great place to chill in St Kilda as well as the marina at Williamstown. There is so much to see and do in Melbourne especially those who love to shop; you can get bargains at Harbour Town, DFO and Bridge Rd in Richmond. Another suggestion is the Werribee Open Range Zoo similar to an African safari style tour.

I would stay here again at Vue Grande it is so convenient and I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street

Address: 63 Whiteman Street | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These deluxe category AAA-rated 4.5 star apartments are in a 35 level landmark residential tower with a choice of 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms configurations, many with spectacular views.Features include floor-to ceiling windows in living areas and most bedrooms, comfortable combined lounge & dining area, fully equipped kitchen with composite stone benchtops, laundry with washing machine and separate dryer, 32" LCD TV (with Foxtel), DVD player, stereo and heating / air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.