We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Australian Wildlife, Great Food, and some Vino - What's not to like?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours

Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours
Federation Square, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03-9699 8148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 283 Activities in Melbourne
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Vinetrekker offers daily winery tours of the Yarra Valley and Mornington Peninsula wine regions surrounding Melbourne. A Vinetrekker journey is a well rounded exploration of the region we visit, providing fine food and wine at a leisurely pace. We offer public and private tours, full day and overnight, so a tailored itinerary can be provided just for you. Other regions include the Macedon Ranges, Grampians, Pyrenees, Rutherglen and King Valley.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Australian Wildlife, Great Food, and some Vino - What's not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just 23 hours after landing in Melbourne, still recovering from the 16 hour plane ride from the U.S., we chose Vinetrekker to take us on an outing. It was a good choice. We were afraid a day of wine tasting would be too much for our jet lagged bodies to handle. Instead we visited a wildlife sanctuary, had a wonderful lunch paired with a great glass of wine, and then tasted some wines - all nicely arranged by Vinetrekker. It was a good mix if you are not up to tasting wines all day.

We visited Healesville Sanctuary with our own personal and knowledgable guide, had lunch at Yering Station, tasted wines there after lunch, and finished the day at De Bortoli Winery where we tasted numerous wines with a fine selection of cheeses. We arranged it all through Paul, but it was Stephen that "made" the trip. His friendliness, knowledge, and personality put us all at ease and kept us entertained. He set the tone, and it spread to the group and we ending the day as parting friends - not strangers.

Thanks to Paul and Stephen and Vinetrekker for a great day!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated Dave and I'm delighted to hear you had such a great day at the Healesville Sanctuary, Yering Station and De Bortoli. It's a world class region and you'd be hard presssed not to be impressed with what you see there. Stephen is a terrific asset and the skills he brings to the day are first class. Thanks again for the business and continued good travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    17
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I have just moved to Melbourne and had the pleasure of entertaining my parents for 2 weeks in a region we hardly knew. After searching the internet and scanning trip advisor I booked the Vinetrekkers tour over the phone with Paul the day before our tour date. The booking and payment was taken over the phone and pickup was arranged at my parents serviced appartment in Fitzroy for the following morning (which was great as many other tours just pick up at set locations in the CBD) Details were confirmed in a quick email from Paul which included a receipt and also gave our guides name and contact number.
The following morning we were picked up on time (9:25am) in a nice air conditioned mini bus. Our guide Stephen was great, he spoke confidently and clearly on both wine, Yarra history and even the Melbourne suburbs that we drove through on the way to the Yarra Valley. Our bus has 2 other couples on it, one American and one Melburnian as well as my parents (in their 50s) and my wife and I. The American couple were dropped off 1st at the animal sanctuary and the rest of us had a wine tasting morning before all meeting for lunch and finishing with wine and cheese in the afternoon.
The choice of wineries was perfect, we started at a medium sized vineyard, then a small one (our favourite) just next door then a short drive to the larger Chandon operation. Each tasting had an introduction and conversation about the wine with someone from the vineyard as well as Stephens knowledgable input. The cheese and bread snacks at Chandon were very welcome and lunch was delicious and in a beautiful setting. There was plenty of time for tastings and to explore the wineries as well as buy wines without feeling rushed or lingering too long in one place.
This tour definately exceeded our expectations and it was great to have Stephen as a guide. He displayed a passion for wine as well as excellent local knowledge. The tour group was small (8 people) which suited us and it was nice to see Stephen divide his time between everyone in the group. We were lucky in that the other couples in the group also had a passion for wine and similar interests which meant for flowing conversation over lunch.
Some constructive feedback if i may;-
-When we were picked up Stephen got out of the minivan to introduce himself which was great but we weren not introduced to the other guests on the tour which would have been a nice touch and would have broken the ice quickly with our tour companions.
-It may have been nice to know a little about the wine tasting background of everyone on the tour. Some of us may have been relatively inexperienced and others may have been avid wine buyers or secret Masters of Wine! It was apparent that everyone on our tour had done tastings before but this meant that some of the basics and underlying principles of wine tasting were not necessarily covered although i'm sure this would have been expertly explained had we had the need.
Overall we found Vinetrekkers to be an excellent tour with an interesting and knowledgable guide and brilliant winerie choices. I would definately do the tour again with visitors to Melbourne and the ease of booking and flexability of pickup was a massive thumbs up.Thank you to Paul and especially Stephen for a wondeful day out.
Stuart and Susie Davison

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your expansive review and I'm thrilled to hear the day was such a great success. You were certainly blessed with wonderful weather and a good mix of other passengers which ensured excellent chemistry throughout the day. Am pleased to hear that you'll be returning to visit the region again, now you know the treasures it holds and all so close to Melbourne.

We pride ourselves on making the whole process from enquiry to travelling as easy as possible and I'm pleased to see that was your experience. We're very fortunate too to have good staff and Stephen's professionalsim and customer service is outstanding.

I appreciate your comments about improving the experience and will look at how they can be incorporated into the tours.

Thanks again for the business and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous One Day Tour of Mornington Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The tour was easy to book and as I was travelling solo I was very lucky to have been able to join another group of three. Our guide Stephen was knowledgeable and up-to-date on the wine region and made the trip enjoyable and stress-free! The wineries we visited were small to medium operations which afforded the chance to really get to know the people behind the wines we tasted. The highlight for me was the visit to Ten Minutes by Tractor winery but only because the cheese farm was closed for the day!!!! Lucky me. The area's pinots were exceptional and there was not a dud in the four wineries we visited. Lunch was very good at the award winning Salix winery restaurant of the Willow Creek winery. The chocolate shop we visited was chock full of temptations.....and not one of us was able to resist. The views from Arthurs Chair were magnificent.....never knew Melbourne was surrounded by so much water and of course the drive through some of the most expensive real estate in Melbourne made me wish I had a bit more money in the bank! A very nice day out in glorious weather.....highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time toreview your tour to the Mornington Peninsula and delighted to hear it was such a wonderful success. Being less commercialised than the Yarra Valley allows you greater access to winemakers and/or owners and at this time of year particularly, they're ever present. Pleased you were able to visit Ten Minutes by Tractor and what good fortune the dairy was closed that day. Stephen is an integral part of the team and brings a lot to the day and has great passion for his work. Hope to see you down in Melbourne again and am sure we'll find another tour to interest you. All the best and thanks again for your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Day in the Yarra!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The tour was absolutely fantastic and it exceeded our expectations – thank you to Stephen for being such a great and knowledgeable tour guide!

We were lucky to have a small group, so it made the experience so much more enjoyable.

We got to taste a lot of beautiful wine – and I certainly have an appreciation for more types of wine now, and what goes into making it.

The saying is very true…life is too short to drink bad wine!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the review Lindsey and delighted to hear your recent tour to the Yarra Valley exceeded expectations. It's not hard when the wine and food is of such high quality and you have someone as passionate as Stephen taking care of you. Continue enjoying good wine and hopefully you'll get back down here again and we can show off another beautiful wine region to you. All the best and thanks again for the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Knowledgeable Personal Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked this tour last minute and we were the only ones for this mid week getaway. although we were the only ones the experience was not lacking. Stephen was extremely knowledgeable of the Yarra Valley region along with the surrounding areas for our drive from the city.
The Vineyards that were chosen were of the highest quality and they were very respectful whether you were a beginner or experienced in your knowledge of wine always there to provide guidance and understanding of what wines were on offer.
Great Experience the tour that's a must.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks Josie for reviewing your day to the Yarra Valley and absolutely delighted it was everything (and more) that you expected. Travelling through there mid-week is a much more relaxed experience and staff have a little more time to engage with you. And having someone as passionate and caring as Stephen to look after you, it makes for a wonderfully relaxing day. Thanks for the business and I trust you'll be enjoying more wines from the Yarra Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.