We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Knowledgeable Personal Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours

Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours
Federation Square, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
03-9699 8148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 192 activities in Melbourne
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Vinetrekker offers daily winery tours of the Yarra Valley and Mornington Peninsula wine regions surrounding Melbourne. A Vinetrekker journey is a well rounded exploration of the region we visit, providing fine food and wine at a leisurely pace. We offer public and private tours, full day and overnight, so a tailored itinerary can be provided just for you. Other regions include the Macedon Ranges, Grampians, Pyrenees, Rutherglen and King Valley.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Knowledgeable Personal Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We booked this tour last minute and we were the only ones for this mid week getaway. although we were the only ones the experience was not lacking. Stephen was extremely knowledgeable of the Yarra Valley region along with the surrounding areas for our drive from the city.
The Vineyards that were chosen were of the highest quality and they were very respectful whether you were a beginner or experienced in your knowledge of wine always there to provide guidance and understanding of what wines were on offer.
Great Experience the tour that's a must.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks Josie for reviewing your day to the Yarra Valley and absolutely delighted it was everything (and more) that you expected. Travelling through there mid-week is a much more relaxed experience and staff have a little more time to engage with you. And having someone as passionate and caring as Stephen to look after you, it makes for a wonderfully relaxing day. Thanks for the business and I trust you'll be enjoying more wines from the Yarra Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    14
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
“Great tour, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and mine first time in Australia and decided to go with Vinetrekker to visit Yarra Valley --based on previous reviews on Tripadvisor. Paul picked us up at our hotel promptly and was very friendly and courteous. Paul very attentive to my wife who is not a big red wine fan and went out of his way to customize selections to her tastes. Lunch was fantastic and Is probably the highest quality of any tours out there. If you are ever in Melbourne I would definitely recommend Paul and his crew to take you around!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated and delighted to hear how impressed you both were with the Yarra Valley. It's an outstanding region of wine, food and scenery that can't help but impress visitors. Pleased you enjoyed the lunch at Yering Station, it's a real highlight of the tour and one we're always receiving positive comments about. I trust you're able to track down some Yarra Valley wines and are enjoying them and your memories of a terrific tour. All the best and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a great day out with a very knowledgeable Stephen as our guide. The wineries were well chosen and lunch at Willow Creek was excellent, right in front of the vineyards. We had plenty of opportunity to taste (and purchase), as well as direct access to the cellars and winemakers with the answers. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour to the Mornington Peninsula and I'm delighted it was such a great day. Being that little less commercialised than the Yarra Valley allows you more access to the winemakers and/or owners and this can greatly enhance your day. These are the relationships we work hard at maintaining so that you're the beneficiary of excellent service. We're extremely fortunate to have Stephen working with us and his attention to detail and customer focus is second to none. Thanks again for the business and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Essential for any wine lover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We decided to tour the Mornington Peninsula because we loved the idea of tasting wines, especially Pinot Noir, from the less well known wineries in this region. The whole day was a great experience - from meeting wine-makers who tested our knowledge to having a fabulous lunch overlooking the Willow Creek Estate vines. We even managed to take in 6 venues in all as we had made good time and we weren't bothered with chocolates or cheeses!
Our guide, Stephen, was keen to point out all the other attractions and history of the area so it made for a great introduction to Melbourne on our first day there.
Thoroughly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Delighted you had such a wonderful day on your recent tour to the Mornington Peninsula and thanks for taking the time to review the day. Pleased to hear you got to engage with a couple of the winemakers and no doubt learnt a lot about the wines of the region. It lacks the commercialisation of the Yarra Valley but the wines are no less seriousas you found out at the 6 vineyards you visited. Thanks for the booking and trust you're able to track down some of the wines in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A perfect "taylor-made" tour to Yarra Valley and Healesville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

“It was like a trip with close friends,” said my guest from Japan. These words well summarise a very present day which we spent in Healesville and Yarra Valley with Vinetrekker. The guest and his wife were first time visitors not only to Melbourne but to Australia. I had to show them a little bit of everything within 4 days! And I was right in choosing Vinetrekker to take the couple, who LOVE wines, to wineries and to a photo opportunity with the Australian wildlife.
From the point of booking, something about the operator was very comfortable. Probably it was a friendly but still very polite attitude of Paul who handled the booking procedure and Stephen who was our driver on the day. Although it was a ready-made tour, three of us and a lady from the States had a first class tailor-made experience. Staff members at each destination (Healesville Sanctuary, Yering Station and De Bortoli) also welcomed us with an excellent hospitality.
No rush. We had two hours at the Sanctuary with a very experienced volunteer guide just for us. Enough time to get the idea of Australian wildlife and how they are protected. And then we were taken to Yering Station. It was a perfect timing to get there for lunch as we were pretty hungry after a good walk at Healesville. We enjoyed lovely dishes with a fine glass of wine accompanied by a beautiful agricultural view from the restaurant. It was a relaxing and “delicious” moment!
After tasting some wines we headed for De Bortoli winery. Here, my guests got serious. “Which wines should we take home?” They decided to take two bottles of a sparkling wine with them and send a dozen red wines. I was actually impressed by a staff member’s effort trying to create a more convenient route to send wines abroad for their overseas visitors. As for De Bortoli, I must add that a goat cheese which was supplied for the wine tasting was so good.
By the time we were about to leave De Bortoli, the weather got warm and the blue sky spread in front of us. Actually, the day started with very heavy rain but it cleared up eventually. And the vineyard was shining. What a perfect setting!
I am sure that the couple would happily talk about their fantastic experience in Yarra Valley to their family and friends while enjoy sipping lovely sparkling wines which they carried back to Japan. Chilled dry bubbles should be perfect for the hot and humid summer which is about to come over there.
Thanks Paul and Stephen for a perfect day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul R, Owner at Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks so much Yoko for taking the time to post such a detailed review and I'm delighted that the tour to the Healesville Sanctuary, Yering Station and De Bortoli was such a great success. It's a teriffic combination to show off to international visitors, so no surprises your guests loved the wildlife, scenery, food, wine and hospitality. And having someone as passionate as Stephen to look after you only enhances the day. It's very pleasing to know that your guests will be enjoying ther wine purchases back in Japan with excellent memories. Thanks again for the business and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vinetrekker Private Wine Day Tours to your Saves list