We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Surprised!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Enlightened Cuisine

Enlightened Cuisine
113 Queensbridge Street | South Bank, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Southbank)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,279 of 3,915 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Super Surprised!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have a business associate that is a vegitarian, he suggested this restaurant. i reviewed the web-site and noticed it talked about "MOCK" meat. I went along to see what it was like. Three others came unknowing what to expect. We ordered duck, pork, lamb and fish dishes. (by the way the "Mock Roasted Duck" is fantastic. At the end of the evening I told everyone that there was no MEAT in any of the dishes. Everyone was surprised and said they would come back and bring their family. No one could believe the meat"LESS" dishes could be that good

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

The food and service is always consistent when I've been and I'll keep returning. I tried something different on the menu this time that wasn't a hit for me - satay tofu - but all in all the dishes were very good.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Had my wedding there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

It's been there for awhile now. Great for Vegetarians. Try their butter prawns (yes it's vegetarian)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You'd never know it was vegetarian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Scrumptious unassuming place near Crown Casino, easy to overlook but I suggest you find it because vegetarians and non vegetarians will love it! I'm not vegetarian but I make an effort to go to this place for dinner at least once every visit to Melbourne, so, often! The food is well presented, in good portions and the service is fast and friendly. It's a little pricey but not over the top, approximately $18 per dish, even if it's just broccoli! Better to go when there's a few of you so you try a lot of variety. The fake duck and prawns are fabulous, I'm making my way around the rest of the tofu products on the menu and loving it all.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok food pricey for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I had the lamb curry. MSG wasnt optional since the lamb contains it. Grease pooled on the plate.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enlightened Cuisine also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
 

Been to Enlightened Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enlightened Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.