We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Intimate than the bars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movida Aqui

Movida Aqui
500 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Description: There are already two branches listed on TA, but this is the third restaurant opened in November 2009.
Yallingup, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“More Intimate than the bars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I was on a holiday with my husband and we had booked Movida Aqui well in advance to make sure I got to try this place whilst in town. I really enjoyed everything about the evening. The tapas were tasty, varied and very authentic. The wine was very good. I'm always interested in trying imported wines at top restaurants like this because we are not lacking in a huge choice of top quality wines in Australia so I didn't doubt the Spanish wine to choose from would compare favourably, and the one we chose lived up to expectations. We were there on a Monday night so it was a bit quiet and lacked the hum of a busier night.

The only negative feedback I have is about trying to book this restaurant for a party of 7 people. The rules are just too restrictive and turned me off going ahead with a group booking. Instead, just the two of us went and had a very enjoyable evening.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    94
    28
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We went out with friends two weeks ago and were looking forward to eating dinner authentic Spanish food, but sadly we were so disappointed.

Food was sorry to say, extremely small, overpriced and unsatisfying. Here's why:

A can of sardines cost us $11 a tin, the tapas average price $8 for a mouth full and the mains was served on an entree plate.

Almost $600 for 7 of us later, we still went looking for food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fab Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I was taken here for a birthday dinner and loved it. Everything we ordered was melt in your mouth amazing!

Sangria was good too:)

Definitely recommend!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun friday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great welcome to Melbourne. 3 friends for a weekend trip in Melbourne. Loved the venue and the entertainment of the open kitchen. Good value a carafe of Sangria plus tapas for 3 + plate of olives $130. Can be a bit loud but full of life. food very tasty.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Excellent tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I went for the tapas, which were fantastic, added a flight of 3 sherries and was very satisfied with everything.

Notice that tapas are not exceedingly expensive, but you usually try 3-4 of them so it adds up.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Aqui also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Aqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movida Aqui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.