We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Movida Aqui

Movida Aqui
500 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 4,076 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Melbourne CBD
Description: There are already two branches listed on TA, but this is the third restaurant opened in November 2009.
Mt. Eliza Victoria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had been wanting to try this restaurant for a while and so glad we got there. Tasting plates of the most interesting food and everything SO tasty. It is a real treat.It is expensive but as it was a birthday treat we didn't mind. I could highly recommend every single dish we tried that night!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    94
    28
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked Movida Aqua well in advance following all of the hype and the fact that I love Spanish food and tapas. Some of the dishes we ate were very tasty, the calamari sandwich for instance and the alaskan crab soup (both small tapas style dishes). The Paella was good but didnt impress and the rest of the food scraped past average into the realm of good. It is not a bad restaurant by any means, but the service battled through our order and a few mix ups later (which includes allergy mix ups - never a good sign) with both the meals and the bill left a bit of a sour taste. The cocktails were fairly uneventful, the bill was reasonable and the night was enjoyable - I just thought it was all a bit lacklustre and cannot understand the huge raps it gets... or its hat in the good food guide.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Won't be going back anytime soon!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had really been looking forward to the Movida Aqui dining experience but I was so disappointed. I certainly won't be going back. The service was appalling we waited 40 mins to be asked if we wanted a drink! The drinks service was appalling all night. It was very busy but if you have the seats you need the staff to service the tables.
The food was average , mostly very average and took forever to arrive.
It was all round such a disappointing dining experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to MoVida Aqui for the first time with my Spanish wife. The food and service were exceptional. We'll definitely go back next time we are visiting Melbourne.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for groups if you love good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the Movida to go to with a group. Firstly, you can make bookings. Secondly, it's the big version of Movida. Thirdly, it has the best set menu I have EVER HAD! We were sooo full, sooo satisfied and so relaxed, I could have stayed from lunch to dinner. The best beef cheek on this planet... I still talk about it. Great value for what you get.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Movida Aqui also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Movida Aqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movida Aqui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.