We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #32 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great location for a Melbourne shopping trip. Bourke Street Mall just a short 5 minute walk away and public transport right on your doorstep.
Apartments are clean, functional with a kitchenette (fridge, microwave, hotplate, dishwasher, cutlery etc) and free, reliable wifi.
Shower stall tends to get a musty smell if you leave the door close once you have showered, so when you leave the apartment leave the door open for a clean smell on returning.
Housekeeping do a quick tidy up, empty bins, make beds and replace towels - rather than a clean. Used supplies are not replaced and the carpet is not vacuumed. Not a big deal if staying for a couple of days; however, would be an issue if staying longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Coffeeaddict17,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It's great to read you enjoyed our spacious apartments, complimentary Wi-Fi and found our central location perfect for your shopping holiday.

We are sorry to read however that your bathroom amenities had not been refreshed, we will be sure to follow this up with our Housekeeping department and apologise for any inconvenience caused. If you choose to stay with us at Citadines again, please do let our friendly Guest Service Team know if there is anything we can assist with whilst you are staying with us, as we are only too happy to help.

Thank you Coffeeaddict17, we hope to see you again soon at Citadines.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    481
    112
    29
    15
See reviews for
203
409
64
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked for me by my company, I was very impressed with the apartment style accommodation. Excellent as I was here for a week of business. Great layout and amenities. No restaurant but plenty in surrounding areas.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Janice D,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is very pleasing to read that you had comfortable stay and enjoyed the layout and amenities provided in our apartments whilst travelling on business. We are sorry to read however you missed out on dining at Heirloom Restaurant and Bar located on the ground floor of our Apart’hotel, hopefully next time you are in town on business you may get the time to try their modern take on Japanese cuisine!

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is centrally located, very clean and spacious with a good view of the city. The two small reading lights on the headboard are good. The two twin beds are a bit smallish but comfy and bedding is stark white crispy clean.

It is right in the heart of Melbourne's CBD, close to Parliament House, and is an easy access to major shopping like all the famous brands you can think of. Walk 7-8 minutes and you reach big department stores like Target; David Jones ; Myer and their newest mall --- The Emporium that opened on 16th April. H & M just newly opened and there's forever a long long queue snaking outside the store, even on a pouring day. China Town is just 3 minutes walk away. Trams,bus stops and train stations are all there. Taxis are forever there right in front of the hotel. Free tourist tram rides are like those hop on hop off buses, and are forever very crowded, but when they are free you don't complain.

Our room is on 22/F and comes with a fully equipped kitchenette including a flameless cooker hob and hood, convection microwave oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, glassware, crockery, cutlery and utensils. Also provided are 2 big bathroom towels, 1 medium sized and 1 small sized towel, which I think they should provide 2 of each when they know there're two staying in the room. They have limited toiletries and bottles are small. Ironing board + iron and a safe provided. Broadband internet access is very efficient and WiFi is free. The home entertainment system includes cable TV, DVD, CD and iPod player. There is a coin-fed launderette right across our room.

Everyone at the front desk is efficient; nice and friendly. Tanya especially stands out to be very pleasant; sweet ; helpful and affable who provides clear and succinct info to help us navigate around the city with minimal fuss. She also suggested a full day Yarra Valley wine tasting cum Puffing Billy excursion which was good, relaxing and interesting.

The shower cubible ( no tub ) however has much room for improvement. Water pressure from shower is not the strongest and the hand basin drainage is slow if you want to drain a full basin. Only one very small shower caddy so we had to put bigger bottles / stuff on the floor. They could do with a few more hooks in th shower area for your clothes. No bathrobes. They should have a bin and a hand basin next to the toilet,instead of having people take the rubbish out to throw and wash the hands outside in the open area. Definitely NOT hygenic enough. The shower door also didn't close properly on the 1st night and water leaked out so the entire stone floor was all wet. Told Tanya the next day and the handyman Chris attempted to fix it but only a little better thereafter.

Since we didn't use the kitchenette apart from the kettle, we will probably opt for another hotel next time in order to put the money to better use. Only provided bags of black tea, no other tea choices like Earl Grey or Green Tea that are so common in hotel rooms these days. They didn't replace our used glasses / tea cups after cleaning our room.

This hotel is very clean and close to everything a tourist needs. Everything provided is very basic / functional and that's about it. I would say it is generally good but don't expect something more than 4 star.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

First couple of times my partner and i stayed in Melbourne we have booked citadines on bourke. Great clean rooms. Check in a breeze and location is great. Close to main malls and Chinatown. Room sizes are nice and spacious and the amenities are clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear faiiint,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, thank you for choosing to stay with again!
It is wonderful to read that you and your partner enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from our speedy check-in process to our spacious and clean apartments.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel very recently with my wife and some friends. Hotel was very clean and spacious. The location was central to everything and the perfect location for a weekend away in Melbourne. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the small kitchenette and washing facilities meant a longer stay would be possible and cost effective.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Matt S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is lovely to read that you and your wife enjoyed your weekend away and found our central location perfect for your plans in the city. Our Guest Service Team will be very happy to know you found their service both friendly and helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to Citadines again soon!

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was our first trip to Melbourne as a family and our choice of accommodation was definately a true winner on so many levels. The apartment we booked was a 1 bedroom apartment and from the moment we checked we were so impressed. The concierge and reception staff couldn't do enough for us. The room was outstanding, spacious and super clean. The room design allowed us to feel at home and not on top of one another (like when you stay in a hotel room) especially when there is a 4 year old to consider. The location was excellent with a tram stop right out the very front of the hotel which made accessing the City and surrounding areas an absolute breeze. We would definately stay at the Citadines on Bourke again, it was the best family holiday ever!

Room Tip: Nothing really to add other than try for a room from level 5 upwards, at least that way you get a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Kristen K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community. It is great to read that you and your family experienced a wonderful trip to Melbourne. We are pleased our one-bedroom apartment provided a comfortable and spacious setting for you all to enjoy.

Our Guest Service Team will be delighted to know you felt at home during your stay; and that they assisted in making your first family holiday a memorable one.

Thank you Kristen K, from all the team at Citadines we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent four nights in a very comfortable 1 bedroom apartment which had plenty of room for three of us. The room was very clean and the kitchen was equipped with all the basics. The beds were comfortable - even the rollaway- and it was also extremely quiet. The only draw back to the room was that there wasn't much natural light as we were at the side of the building so you needed the lights on when you were there. All the staff we dealt with were very pleasant and accommodating and they seemed to genuinely want to help. Great central location and easy access to trams, also within walking distance of many of Melbourne's great attractions. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Booper97,

Thank you for sharing your Citadines experience with our Trip Advisor community. We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay in our spacious one-bedroom apartment and found our central location perfect for getting around the city. Our Guest Service Team will be very happy you were pleased with their friendly and helpful service.

Next time you are visiting you may like to try one of our Executive apartments; which are located on a higher level and offer unobstructed views of the city.

Thank you Booper97, from all the team at Citadines we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.