We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines on Bourke Melbourne to your Saves list
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan in Advance and Save!
Ranked #28 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A perfect location. The front desk staff were all wonderful at all times - they couldn't have been more helpful!! We stayed in a well equipped 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment (the shower in the ensuite was over the bath which didn't worry us, however it might prove hard for some!) Both bedrooms had superbly comfortable beds! Everything was just great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear RobynR,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne. It is great to read that you enjoyed a comfortable night sleep and appreciated the space our two-bedroom apartment provided you. We will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to the Guest Services Team; they will be pleased to know they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

From all the team at Citadines, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    417
    95
    27
    14
See reviews for
180
341
57
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Why any designer would choose lime green for a feature colour surprises me on every visit to this hotel but I never hate it as much as I think I will at first.

While often at the top end in terms of price for an apartment hotel in Melbourne, you get what you pay for and this hotel has great spacious rooms that are a pleasure to stay in.

My only gripe is that I have on a few occasions found the check in staff to be surly but the encounter is brief and the hotel quality makes up for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear ohmyhat,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! It is wonderful to read you had a pleasant visit with us, and enjoyed the modern and vibrant furnishings of our apartments. We are disappointed to read however, that our Guest Services Team didn’t make a positive impression on you. We strive to provide our guests with both a helpful and friendly service and would like to apologise that you didn’t experience this during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, if you are ever in Melbourne again we hope you choose Citadines. We look forward to seeing you then.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Being a serviced apartment, the rooms are well equipped with a very comfortable bed and modern amenities, including an iPod dock and LCD TV. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need except for the food and condiments of course, but was enough for cooking.

Internet is not free though, and is very expensive - it's cheaper to buy a dongle and a package from Telstra to get 4G connections. Optus barely works inside parts of the hotel.

In addition, while the hotel has laundry facilities, this is also a central service and is charged per use, which is expensive. Each room does not have a laundry machine, making it difficult to clean your clothes at a reasonable price.

The swimming pool and fitness facilities are of good quality though - the pool is a 2 laned indoor 25 meter pool, making swimming very practical.

Overall, if you're looking for a place to stay, a very good choice despite the shortcomings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the city - the other option will face the wall of a building allowing almost n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear mis0soup,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your stay with us last year at Citadines. It is wonderful to read that you had an enjoyable stay and were impressed with our convenient range of guest facilities, including our swimming pool and fully-equipped gymnasium.

We always try to listen to what our guests are saying, and you may be pleased to know Citadines on Bourke Melbourne now offers complimentary wireless broadband internet to our guests. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon, and personally enjoy these improvements we have made.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here on the weekend with a friend. The room was booked on Wotif and there was supposed to be a free upgrade of the room. I'm not sure that actually happened as the room was quite small and had a pretty poor outlook. We were only there to sleep, so didn't matter much, and the beds were lovely and comfortable. The bathroom could do with a good clean. On the surface it looks ok, but has soap scum and orange slime in the shower.

apart from the reception staff were very helpful, and location was great, although it could be a bit difficult to find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear fairywings2507,

Thank you for you recent stay and for your review.

I am delighted that our central location and friendly helpful staff made your stay so enjoyable. However, I am sorry to hear of the unsatisfactory housekeeping which you received. I would be most grateful if you would contact me (bryan.loh@the-ascott.com) with your booking details so that I may investigate this matter and take the necessary action. This is not characteristic of our usual standards, and your feedback is much appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Bryan Loh
Assistant Residence Manager
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne Apart'Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights over the White Nights weekend. We found the studio apartment to be very clean and quiet -- there was very little street noise even though we were on a low floor. No noise from neighbours either. The kitchenette had everything we could have needed for our short stay stay, but admittedly, we didn't make full use of it as there are so many places to eat nearby. The free wi-fi worked well.

The service was excellent. Check-in/out was painless and the front desk always greeted us with a cheery hello whenever we entered the hotel. This was really appreciated. Yes, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear divebunny1,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your time with us during the White Nights Festival. We agree it is indeed handy having a kitchenette available to you when travelling, but why stay in and cook when there are so many delicious restaurants right on your doorstep to go out and try!

It will be a pleasure to pass on your positive feedback to our Housekeeping and Guest Services Teams; they will be very happy to know they contributed to your memorable stay.

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We have stayed in other Citadines apartment hotels in the UK and Europe, so opted for this Melbourne property based on good past experience.
We stayed in an executive studio on the 22nd floor and found the apartment to be excellent - spotlessly clean, quite large and with a very comfortable bed.
Reception staff were very good - welcoming and efficient, dealing with multiple check-ins with minimal waiting time.
The apartment location is great - close to Spring Street where the circle tram departs and also to the Bourke Street mall shopping precinct.
There are many apartment hotels in Melbourne but based on our experience would definitely recommend Citadines.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear suzmay,

Thank you for sharing feedback of your recent stay with us at Citadines. We feel very privileged to read that our Melbourne Apart‘hotel has made such a positive impression on you. We are indeed centrally located, and hope you were able to get out and about to explore this beautiful city.

It will be a delight to share your comments with our Housekeeping and Guests Services Teams, they will be proud to know they assisted in the enjoyment of your stay.

If you are every in Melbourne again, we do hope to welcome you back to Citadines.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night to go to the football. Studio room on 22nd floor. Nice room, very comfy bed, good facilities, good sleep quality. You can still get a little traffic noise but main noises were room doors closing in morning.
Very enjoyable stay and hassle free although when checking in, there were guests with problems - people already in room, key not working, king bed needed instead of twin beds.
Our stay was fine as was my previous stay a few years ago. Recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon R, Marketing Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear greatscott24,

Welcome back to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne! It is wonderful to read you had a pleasant second visit and enjoyed a comfortable night’s sleep in our Studio apartment. We hope you had a great time at the football and your team won!

From all the team at Citadines, we hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,

Shannon R
Marketing Executive
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines on Bourke Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines on Bourke Melbourne

Address: 131-135 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#32 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Citadines on Bourke Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, in the heart of the city's CBD, offers access to major business and financial offices as well as many world-renowned restaurants, entertainment areas, shopping districts and theatres. Designed for international and domestic travellers on business or leisure, each vibrant apartment has modern amenities along with access to the business corner and fitness corner for efficiency and convenience. Explore Melbourne and relax in the privacy and comfort of your Apart'hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines on Bourke Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines On Bourke Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.